Halti Harness : Reviews

Halti Harness

Halti Harness


This front control harness maximises comfort & control while stopping your dog from pulling kindly. ...
From £8.99
< Back to the Halti Harness Please login to write a review
Not as antipull as I had hoped
posted on 26/08/2014 08:30:05 by SuzieB
Product Reviewed: Small

My one year old cockapoo is very enthusiastic about everything and pulls like crazy on every walk despite copious hours of training I really dont like the antipull harnesses that cover their faces and consider them very much a last resort so thought the Halti was worth a try In truth its not a bad harness but the amount of control it gives you is in terms of reducing the pull is quite limited x28Id probably give it a 4 out of 10x29 Also the actual design could be improved upon as it gets baggier during the course of a walk so that I find myself repeatedly tightening it over every walk And it would be good if they could add some additional fixings to secure the extra length since my cockapoo is quite slim

Overall
Quality
Value

Always Good
posted on 25/06/2014 19:07:08 by awhitley2012
Product Reviewed: Medium

We already have a Halti Harness for our Golden Retriever who is a big dog and it enables us to keep him under control with ease An addition of a Labrador puppy reminded us of the control issues with an ordinary lead Really pleased when this item came through the post Now the walk is back to enjoyable again Great product

Overall
Quality
Value

Does a great job is excellent value
posted on 03/04/2014 21:43:50 by Holliday99
Product Reviewed: Medium

This seems a really well made product and medium size fits our dog perfectly and he is big. It has worked really well in stopping him pulling and he seems very comfortable in it and doesnt try to rip it off as he has with other harnesses weve tried. Is also very easy to get on and off of him as it just goes over his head then one clip under him and a second clip onto his collar

Overall
Quality
Value

haltie harness
posted on 01/04/2014 07:42:04 by Jean Jenkins
Product Reviewed: Medium

I adjusted my dogs haltie by adding a choke chain to the front as trying to use two leads is difficult but by adding the chain and ataching the lead to both ends and the back of the harness this works wonderful

Overall
Quality
Value

Dog comfortable in this
posted on 29/03/2014 13:35:53 by Gardening Grandma
Product Reviewed: Medium

I have a Labrador who is not overweight but built like a bear and the medium harness just fits He paid it little attention first time and now its just part of the walk process for him It must be very comfortable as he runs and investigates and plays fetch as if he wasnt wearing it I cant figure out the training lead though Why all those rings But he is very controllable now

Overall
Quality
Value

Good but far too big for my 6 month puppy
posted on 14/02/2014 09:43:44 by jocheesman67
Product Reviewed: Small

It has made a big improvement in our walks but it is far too big for her. Hopefully as she grows into it it will work even better it makes me feel more in control of her although she still pulls.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant
posted on 09/12/2013 20:20:12 by Gsp owner
Product Reviewed: Medium

Brilliant if you have a dog that walks you My gsp pup is a big boy and from 14 weeks he started to find his strength and took me for walks Got halti harness and I have the control again

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value for money
posted on 05/12/2013 20:54:16 by Gwenn Gibson
Product Reviewed: Small

Dogs took a few days to get used to the new harness but much easier to control now Mine are Bichons with a mind of their own

Overall
Quality
Value

Halti Harness in Medium
posted on 24/10/2013 11:50:51 by Charlotte x29
Product Reviewed: Medium

I brought the halti harness for a 26kg greyhound which I recently adopted Shes very strong and pulls quite a bit It arrived on a friday and I put it on her straight away and Ive never seen such a quick improvement I brought the halti training lead with it like recommended I would defiantly recommend to anyone with a greyhound who is strong and has a tendency to randomly jump forward or backwards I also like the fact that you cab lead the dog from the front and pull them round when on a walk and shes sees something she wants to chase

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic results
posted on 11/09/2013 05:53:03 by sue418
Product Reviewed: Small

I have whippet lurchers two of whom pull like steam engines when walking I used this harness combined with the Halti Training Lead and the result was remarkable Following a few days training with the harnesslead combination and they are walking beautifully to heel

Overall
Quality
Value

It works
posted on 21/06/2013 21:09:58 by rabrookes
Product Reviewed: Large

We now have one of each size Jack Russell Ridgeback puppy and German Shepherd Its true they dont pull They dont complain too much when we put the harnesses on and even when they do when they are on they are fine so they must be comfortable I think they are great

Overall
Quality
Value

Walks much easier
posted on 02/12/2012 18:45:40 by Bobs mum
Product Reviewed: Small

I have been using this with my stubborn pug for a week or so and it has made an immense difference Much less pulling and a happier and easier walk for me Also bought the lead which is strong and soft and appears to be good quality Would recommend

Overall
Quality
Value

Works well
posted on 18/09/2012 11:40:10 by Shazwick
Product Reviewed: Medium

For some bizare reason I was expecting the the lead to come with the harness when I bought it but even without it the harness works well on our Staffie I feel I have more control of him even just clipped onto the back clip Will be getting the lead soon though to maximise the purpose of the Halti Harness

Overall
Quality
Value

Too large for toy poodle
posted on 26/08/2012 18:36:44 by stitchenagain
Product Reviewed: Small

I bought a small at a pet store here in the US and according to the measurements it should have fit but even adjusted to the smallest dimensions it was about an inch too large around for my 7 lb toy poodle whose chest is 13. I was very disappointed to have to return it because this seems to be the best one on the market.

Overall
Quality
Value

Fabulous product highly recommend
posted on 30/07/2012 09:59:45 by abigailrabbit
Product Reviewed: Small

I purchased three small harnesses for my three Chinese crested dogs As they are all small slim dogs I had to adjust it to the smallest it went which luckily was a correct size for them My dogs are rescues and all had pulling habits when they arrived I have never been able to completely correct the pulling until now I was absolutely amazed as they didnt pull at all I used them correctly with a halti lead and attached one end to the back of the harness and one end on the chest I am so so pleased with this product

Overall
Quality
Value

At last a stress free walk
posted on 29/06/2012 16:21:46 by Marnie Munchkin
Product Reviewed: Small

Got the medium size harness for my six month old boxer puppy as I have used the head collar on my other boxers and they hated it. It was simple and easy to fit. I used the Halti double ended lead and away we went. Straight away I had more control of my boisterous girl and it was easy to guide her to where and how I wanted her to walk. The pulling stopped immediately although not altogether what pulling there was was very minimal and very easy to cope with. This harness has been a godsend and my arms now stay in their sockets I did find the fitting instructions vague and looked on YouTube for better help A recommended purchase for any dog owner who likes to walk their dog and not their dog walk them

Overall
Quality
Value

realy great a must have
posted on 25/06/2012 20:34:14 by valsullivan
Product Reviewed: Medium

This is a great harness has stoped all pulling easy to put on an my gsd puppy has not once tried to get it off a must have if you have a large, strong dog ans great value too

Overall
Quality
Value

Works a treat
posted on 31/05/2012 09:48:22 by lauragerrard
Product Reviewed: Small

I love these we have 2 minature schnauzers and the choke themselves in a slip lead pull out of a collar get tangled on an extension lean and most harnesses in the past have been a real pain to put on They seem to like these and they work well as a short lead long lead double lead etc They need a bit of adjusting to suit the dog so as not to rub but we will ge tthere and these seem the best option yet

Overall
Quality
Value

good value
posted on 10/01/2012 10:41:05 by monty
Product Reviewed: Small

bought for small dog who always pulls as soon as he is out the doorhave only used a couple of times but there is an improvement and i am sure with time he will learn that pulling is not getting him anywhere

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent quality and value
posted on 06/01/2012 19:55:02 by doeoswald
Product Reviewed: Large

Excellent product but sadly does not stop my 16 month Bernese Mountain dog from pulling my arms out of their sockets

Overall
Quality
Value

Not a miracle cure but an improvement and kinder
posted on 03/11/2011 13:55:03 by Faye
Product Reviewed: Medium

I have one of these for both my Retriever and my German Shepherd I would never walk them on the collar ever again The harness discourages pulling but its not a cure It does however give you 10x more control when they do pull If you start off teaching them with a halti head harness this is a good progression I wasnt sure about sizing based on previous reviews but I went for a Large which fits both dogs fine They are 35 and 38kg and there is still a bit of expansion left or reduction in size in there The harnesses have lasted for ages too

Overall
Quality
Value

The harness has really made a difference
posted on 20/09/2011 07:17:58 by jnaerebout
Product Reviewed: Large

I have a Dogue de Bordeaux and Bullmastiff Both young and walking was VERY difficult I bought them both Halti harnesses and leads and the change is miraculous I can control them much more and there is no pressure on their throats when they do see something exciting I can now concentrate on teaching them to walk nicely without worrying that they will get out of control Highly recommended for any dog that pulls especially large breeds The price is good and they were delivered quickly I and the dogs are really enjoying our walks now

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant Harness but sizing a bit off
posted on 06/09/2011 12:23:36 by EllsBells
Product Reviewed: Small

My pointer x lab pup had the small harness when she was little and we found it excellent at stopping her pulling when used with the Halti double end lead so when she grew out of it we bought the medium Unfortunately there seems to be no overlap in sizing between the small and medium despite what it says on the packet and it took her 2 months to grow into the medium its huge compared with the small If it fits though it works Great value for money

Overall
Quality
Value

great product
posted on 29/08/2011 10:33:11 by kpurchase326
Product Reviewed: Large

I have a 9mth old Newfoundland that only pulled me when seeing other dogs, he has had me over a couple of times as he was far to strong. Thought I would try this harness with the double ended lead, first time on I could control him. This Harness is worth its weight in gold, really good price, quick delivery. If anybody has a dog that pulls get this Harness you wont regret it. Thanks Pet Planet for a really brill Product. Very Happy Owner Dog.

Overall
Quality
Value

Controllable malamute
posted on 22/08/2011 20:44:58
Product Reviewed: Large

I have a young male Alaskan Malamute and we have been unwillingly using a head collar to walk him due to his strength and enthusiasm. I have started using the halti harness with a halti training lead and it is a much better experience for both of us. He feels less restricted and I feel more able to handle him so its beneficial for both of us. Also very good value. Would recommend it to anyone with a dog that pulls.

Overall
Quality
Value

Too big
posted on 14/06/2011 11:14:01 by Joanne
Product Reviewed: Small

Got the medium for my border collie and the harness is TOO big for her especially the strap that goes underneath the belly I found it hard to put on and take off as theres soo many straps and buckles and clips etc When i did have it on it didnt work and it looks stupid on the dog probably because it was too big I wouldnt recommend it to any one Ive found a better harness now though

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank this Customer for placing a review. Please return the Halti that does not fit and quote your order number to; 10 Lindsay Square Deans Industrial Estate Livingston EH54 8RL. When we receive the item back we will refund your payment card. Thank you

Overall
Quality
Value

did not have it long enough
posted on 13/02/2011 05:49:27 by R.D'ARCY
Product Reviewed: Large

I had it for one day did not fit my dog properly so did not work left it on over night dog managed to chew it my dog is an alaskan malamute 10 month old possible would fit him in another 5 to 6 months

Overall
Quality
Value

Sadly Did Not Work For Us
posted on 01/09/2010 20:51:23 by Tabitha
Product Reviewed: Medium

I had high hopes for this but alas, it didn't work at all. It didn't stop my large Labrador from either pulling OR jumping! The sizing also seemed poor: the medium was too small while the large was too big.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0723 in order for us to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value

Good, but ...
posted on 20/08/2010 17:19:45 by Alison Brown
Product Reviewed: Small

The harness, used in conjunction with the double ended training lead (which is also very useful for retrieving other dogs!), works very well in stopping our very headstrong labradoodle from taking me for a walk. However, after only a month or so of use, the small clip which attaches the harness to the dog's collar has become almost too stiff to move so I don't know how much longer we will be able to use it.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0723 in order for us to resolve the matter. We have contacted the customer in this review direct.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 16/06/2010 16:30:47 by louise
Product Reviewed: Small

Brilliant, my dog loves it and it gives us more control without pulling at this throat with a normal lead.

Overall
Quality
Value

A good allround product.
posted on 26/05/2010 21:05:35 by Thomas
Product Reviewed: Medium

I have a very headstrong 2yr old Shar-Pei and found the medium sized Halti with a little adjustment to the straps, was an excellent fit.I also purchased the training lead and together they formed a really good control on pulling, making it much more pleasant to walk out.I found the quality excellent, as with everything I have purchased from Pet Planet.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great product
posted on 29/04/2010 17:13:31 by katievaughan6
Product Reviewed: Small

This product is lovely I had tried head collars in the past and while they worked my dog hated wearing them and they were abit of a nuisance off leash. This product is much easier to use and more comfortable for him as it is just like wearing a normal harness. It as not stopped his pulling completely but has greatly reduced it and even when he does pull it is not so intense as with other collars etc. The only thing is it does need readjusting regularly as it seems to work itself loose when walking but not so as he could slip out of it just enough to reduce the efficiency a little. would recommend to anyone.

Overall
Quality
Value

It worked !
posted on 06/04/2010 17:10:14 by bandhaircon1
Product Reviewed: Large

We bought the harness for our Dogue de Bordeaux after others had failed to stop him pulling. We are delighted to say we enjoy our walks with Diesel as our arms stay in our sockets !!!! I highly recommend this product.

Overall
Quality
Value

Works
posted on 19/03/2010 17:50:57 by AwesomeAudrey
Product Reviewed: Small

Stopped my dog from pulling. My only complaint is that the harness seems to loosen on its own, and needs to be tightened every other walk.

Overall
Quality
Value

Fine
posted on 21/01/2010 09:44:45
Product Reviewed: Small

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 06/01/2010 20:25:53
Product Reviewed: Large

I have a 7 month old alaskan malamute pup who had started to pull when we went out as she is a large dog i wanted to stop this before she was full grown and i would not be able to hold her as they are a powerfull dog,I purchased the halti harness & double ended lead,put the harness on her and went out it was just amazing how i had control over her she now walks by my side.Would recommend this to any one having problems taking their dog out,

Overall
Quality
Value

works pretty well
posted on 01/10/2009 12:34:39 by doreen
Product Reviewed: Medium

Doesn't quite do what it says on the tin, my 7 month old boxer/staffy cross is very strong and when he really wants to he can and does pull. When this happens the harness does tend to losen up a bit. I also find that the d clip at the front tends to slide to whichever side he pulls from. It is much better than a standard collar lead combination though and I will continue to use it. Also because its light I can leave it on all day and only remove it at night.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 29/08/2009 23:34:44 by Sue
Product Reviewed: Medium

very good arrived quickly

Overall
Quality
Value

Great product
posted on 19/08/2009 10:12:23 by sarah-reeds2003
Product Reviewed: Small

The harness is excellent, it really works. Walking our puppy is a lot more relaxed as we can keep him under control. I would recommend this to anyone struggling to walk their dog because of excessive pulling.

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic product
posted on 18/08/2009 10:58:33
Product Reviewed: Medium

Really please had these harnesses for a long time so i know the product is good. The service i recieved from pet planet was efficient and reassuring. thanks

Overall
Quality
Value

Disappointed
posted on 18/08/2009 06:31:52
Product Reviewed: Small

The harnesses were very good - but unfortunatley are too large for my miniature Dachshunds, therefore I can't use them

PetPlanet Says:
Pet Planet contacted Customer direct.

Overall
Quality
Value

Really helped!
posted on 17/08/2009 12:23:03 by Jenny
Product Reviewed: Large

This harness works really well on my german shepherd who rarely pulls at all now. It is easy to put on over the head instead of up around the legs like a standard harness. A strong dog becomes much easier to control and using this harness also keeps him calmer on his walks as it directs the body rather than putting pressure on the collar all the time. Just one warning, don't leave it on a chewer unattended! This is my second harness as one little rip grows quickly and the whole contraption falls apart.

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic
posted on 14/07/2009 13:58:47 by eldeen
Product Reviewed: Medium

I love it now I can walk my dog

Overall
Quality
Value

works well
posted on 04/06/2009 14:51:55
Product Reviewed: Large

Has helped train my 12 month old german shephard to walk to heel. She is unable to pull as much and it is kinder than many body harnesses that chaffe the dog if they pull. Would recommend to anyone with large dogs they are still training

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 03/06/2009 18:53:38
Product Reviewed: Small

Our 6 month old Cocker Spaniel is a bouncing bundle and on his lead he would pull and jump around like Spaniels do, but as soon as we put on his Halti Harness he calmed down, and after a walk around the house he walked to heel, and outside now with his Halti Harness on he is great. We also bought the Halti Lead which is better than having two leads.

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent item of kit .Dog accepted without a murmor
posted on 03/06/2009 18:30:25
Product Reviewed: Medium

Dog took to new harness without a problem. Harness worked so well Ive ordered a small version for jack russell

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 14/04/2009 11:20:41 by oxo-ele-oxo
Product Reviewed: Small

Great Value for money. i can now walk my dog with ease and not have my arm wrenched out of the socket.

Overall
Quality
Value

Makes walking a pleasure
posted on 22/03/2009 20:30:28 by sarah175
Product Reviewed: Small

Having taken the time to read the instructions and looked at the pictures before trying to fit the harness I had no trouble putting the harness. It simply goes over the head and clips up around the body. Then the harness also clips to the dog's collar. The Halti lead attaches to the harness on the back and in front of the chest. If you have an excited dog then the first time try putting the harness on after a walk when the dog is not waiting to go out. Most of our walking is in woods and fields so when it comes to pavements my youngest dog thinks she can still run around. Although she is only a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel she still pulled very hard and I dreaded pavement walking but as soon as the Halti Harness was on she couldn't pull. Although you can see she is trying she goes no where and more importantly you are not pulled. Over time she has learnt she doesn't get far with the Halti harness and has improved and can walk quite nicely sometimes. Makes walking a pleasure. As she has now grown I'm back to buy the next size up and would recommend it to anyone with a dog that pulls.

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic!
posted on 19/02/2009 00:01:18 by Freddie
Product Reviewed: Medium

I bought one of these for my dog when he was 5 months old and pulling me everywhere. I put it on upside down to begin with as he was too small but growing fast currently 35kg at 8months.... It was a bit fiddly to start - took about 20 minutes for 2 of us to fit it, but I remember now to check it before fitting to tighten it up and we have some excellent times outdoors now. I would highly recommend this product to anyone struggling to control their dog pulling on the lead. I am purchasing another one as I carelessly left it out and he chewed the fastner off, he is a lot better now without the harness, but a marked improvement with - I wouldn't let anyone else walk him without it. Best money I have spent on him so far.

Overall
Quality
Value

Useless
posted on 06/11/2008 12:25:02
Product Reviewed: Medium

This dog harness is almost impossible to put on an excited "going for a walk" young dog. I lost the "will to live" just fitting it yet alone then going for a walk in the rain. In this situation it was very hard to adjust the harness to fit and then it seemed to make no difference to my dog pulling when we at last got out. I may have not fitted it properly but cannot be bothered to try again. Total waste of my money.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here.

Overall
Quality
Value

Amazing!
posted on 13/10/2008 10:43:36 by suziep123
Product Reviewed: Medium

I thought that this might help me slightly when taking my collie/ staffie cross out for walks, as she pulled like a steam train with a harness that I had bought a while ago. With this one though from the moment we stepped out the front door I just couldn't believe it! She was trying to pull but realised that she couldn't! It was so nice to take her for a walk and not be aching by the time I got home! Absolutely fantastic, only time she really managed to pull was when she saw a cat, but that understandable I guess! Would highly recommend for anyone who has a dog that pulls like crazy!

Overall
Quality
Value

Wonderful
posted on 11/10/2008 10:12:09 by tina-bell
Product Reviewed: Small

I love this harness, as teamed with the additional training lead bought seperately you can steer your rather boisterous dog from the middle and the front. It's great for stopping your dog pulling and you have great control. The lead can be detatched from the front of the harness to make 2 different length leads rather than the "reins" effect and the harness allows your dog total freedom of movement to run when off the lead.

Overall
Quality
Value

Super harness
posted on 07/07/2008 12:42:54
Product Reviewed: Medium

This has revolutionised my walks with my Boxer. She can still walk slightly in front but pulling is not an option. It has also made using public transport so much easier as you can direct the dog and they have no choice but to follow. There is also no armpit rubbing so more comfortable for her. The small clip onto the lead can come off if roaming free but this has never happened when lead walking.

Overall
Quality
Value

Sizing inaccurate
posted on 15/06/2008 10:38:21
Product Reviewed: Medium

The size guide on your pages suggested the medium was right for a cocker spaniel - in fact it was too big and the size on the product packaging suggested a small size for a cocker spaniel - as it happens the medium size fitted our collie so we have re-ordered for the spaniel but otherwise we would have had to go to the expense of sending it back.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank you for your comment, Pet Planet will now review the sizing guides and update as necessary.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 13/06/2008 17:13:53 by Wendy S
Product Reviewed: Medium

ordered suitable size halti harness for my springer spaniel, but too big, even with alteration of buckles etc, so will pass onto friend with bigger dogs.Sizes very generous.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We have contacted the customer, investigated the issues raised and are now amending the sizes of this product on the our site.

Overall
Quality
Value

easy to put on and very light weight
posted on 17/05/2008 21:10:02 by scaredy0
Product Reviewed: Medium

I have tried several harnesses on my Kelpi, they were all a bit cumbersome for the dog and stretched when he went in the water. I was looking for a nice lightweight harness...and I found it. Bo loves it and doesn't notice he's wearing it when he's off the lead. It's easier to put on than most harnessess as well.

Overall
Quality
Value

The only one for us
posted on 16/05/2008 13:29:51
Product Reviewed: Medium

The Halti Harness is the only harness that stops our dogs from pulling. We have been using them for 2 years now - and apart from renewing them when my youngest chews from it I can say that I wouldn't be without them for my three dogs.

Overall
Quality
Value

I Love it But.........
posted on 05/08/2007 00:04:52 by anne
Product Reviewed: Small

I bought this for my dog a border collie and agree that it does keep working loose and has to constantly be tightened after every walk, however on the good side it DOES WORK I can now take my dog for a walk and enjoy it.I look after dogs for people on holiday and some are dreadful at pulling but using this harness and lead stops it immediately.

Overall
Quality
Value

A bit fiddly, and kept working loose.
posted on 30/01/2007 10:40:14
Product Reviewed: Small

I bought this product recently but I have already stopped using it. I found it fiddly to put on, and the adjusters needed tightening constantly. I have reverted to using a standard harness on my dog and find it much more user friendly.

Overall
Quality
Value

Absolutely Superb
posted on 29/01/2007 08:25:17 by M Taylor
Product Reviewed: Medium

Without doubt, the best harness on the market...our bullmastiff loves it! having had some shoulder probelms, most harnesses are uncomfortable for her but she loves this one as it controls her by the chest rather than her shoulders, therefore giving her pain free walks while still allowing us to control her. Excellent quality and value which I would recommend to anyone

Overall
Quality
Value

Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

Hill's Pet Food
 
Royal Canin Size Health Giant