Pettex Compressed Bale Meadow Hay: Reviews

Pettex Compressed Bale Meadow Hay

Pettex Compressed Bale Meadow Hay


This bale of farm fresh, compressed Meadow Hay is great for rabbits, guinea pigs ...
From £2.99
< Back to the Pettex Compressed Bale Meadow Hay Please login to write a review
Hay on demand
posted on 09/04/2014 20:48:34 by Malcolm J Reece
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This is a good product for Guinea Pigs and in my view. Pet Planet is a well organised company who delivers efficiently and promptly. Will be using them again.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 28/01/2014 12:47:16 by Jill
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Very good sized bale for the price Good quality and cheaper than my local pet superstore

Overall
Quality
Value

great value hay
posted on 06/09/2013 17:14:31 by judenton64
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have been buying this hay for over a year now Its good quality hay and is used for bedding and eating for my 2 rabbits Like all hays it varies throughout the year but is always good and smells fresh I do occasionally find a piece of thistle in the odd pack but its easy to find and remove All in all BRILL

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent quality value
posted on 03/06/2013 12:47:49 by SallyM
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have been using this hay as bedding in my guinea pigs cage for a couple of months now and am really pleased with it The quality is always excellent the price is good for the amount you get and its even better value when its on offer As with all hay it varies from pack to pack eg sometimes its more golden and strawlike and other times its more green and fluffy but my piggies always love it and so far I havent come across any nasty pricklythorny branches as I have done in the past with other brands Highly recommended

Overall
Quality
Value

lovely hay
posted on 29/05/2013 21:35:48 by lynnmettam
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Lovely hay fresh smelling green strands nice long lengths my guineas love it I love the price Will order again soon

Overall
Quality
Value

Smells amazing
posted on 07/05/2013 11:17:21 by Nataliebowers
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Great value for money really big bale my pigs are yet to it I do wish it was a little softer but for the price you cant complain

Overall
Quality
Value

great for guinea pigs
posted on 31/12/2012 23:41:18 by jane
Product Reviewed: XLarge

my guinea pigs are very happy with this hay because it stays in a tunnel shape when they burrow through itand they enjoy eating it

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 29/12/2012 01:11:55 by barthola
Product Reviewed: Mini

I use this meadow hay alternatively with the Timothy hay to give the rabbits a bit of variation it makes a great bedding as well as a great source of fibre in the night bit of the hutch but i also use it in the rack in the day bit and in the wire ball they always finish it I also put it in the toilet corner if i run out of pellets or wood shavings but it does need to bechanged everyday if there is no cat litter under it because it does not absorb the smell and the urine

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 28/10/2012 21:48:02 by Mrs T
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Great value x28its hugex29 and virtualy dustfree Favourite food of my two bunnies theyre always happy to receive this as their main staple Lasts us about 34 weeks per bale Cant recommend it enough

Overall
Quality
Value

Rabbit loves this hay
posted on 16/10/2012 13:15:23 by steve
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Top quality rabbit loves this hay a good buy at buy 1 get 1 half price

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 08/08/2012 11:13:54 by Calline
Product Reviewed: XLarge

My rabbits love this for feed and bedding & good quality and price.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 02/07/2012 22:15:52 by margaretfnobes
Product Reviewed: Mini

A really great price for what is a great product My rabbits and GPs love it

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent Value
posted on 30/05/2012 13:14:49 by Miderz
Product Reviewed: XLarge

My 2 baby girl buns love this hay for their bed and a few extra bundles for munching. They eagerly wait for you to clear out their old bedding to flop out on new fresh hay and munch while doing so

Overall
Quality
Value

great value scrumptious hay
posted on 05/05/2012 14:39:34 by maureenstringer
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic
posted on 29/02/2012 00:07:33 by Sugar n spice
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This is a realy good value product, my girls - rabbits, love it very much and they sleep happily in it

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 12/02/2012 09:12:42 by michelle13
Product Reviewed: XLarge

my three guinea pigs love this haysmells lovely and freshgreat value and lasts ages

Overall
Quality
Value

Happy customer
posted on 08/11/2011 18:46:10 by kerry
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Whilst working from home and in all day for deliveries I would happily buy again Very good product

Overall
Quality
Value

damp and smelly
posted on 25/10/2011 21:10:01 by CycleMad
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Opened the bag and got a horrible mouldy smell from the hay. When I put my hand in the bag it was damp. It must have been packed like that and I chucked it straight in the bin. I ordered three of these bags of hay but only two of them were good enough to give to my bunnys.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0723 in order for us to resolve the matter. We have contacted the customer in this review direct in order to resolve this matter.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 14/09/2011 14:22:44 by lynhay
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This is good quality and great value hayI cant find it in any shop for anywhere near this priceso all round its a great price and quality product

Overall
Quality
Value

Better before
posted on 20/08/2011 11:58:55 by beckiadcock
Product Reviewed: XLarge

It is a good product and remains one of the few hay brands that my choosy rabbits will eat. However since the package change I have had a couple of packs and it seems that the hay is not so fresh as before (less smell) and the first bag I had was slightl over chopped so it was more like bedding. However all in all it is a good prduct the animals have spoken.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant Product
posted on 13/08/2011 09:59:55 by Joanna
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Lovely sweet hay not chopped into short lengths so not as messy as some and it stays in the hay rack rather than falling through Both my rabbits love this hay good job its a big bale because it wouldnt last long if it was a small one

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 27/07/2011 13:08:31 by JW
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This was great quality and value and lasted really well Our animals loved it and it was dust free unlike most Will definately order again

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Hay
posted on 22/07/2011 23:08:58 by evelyndavies21
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Fantastic large bale Great value for money and really lovely too No dust great smell and our rabbits get really excited when we put it in their hutches

Overall
Quality
Value

HUGE bag!!
posted on 11/03/2011 19:50:12 by Honeys new mum
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Fantastic!! Loads for great price!! This will last our guinea pigs AGES!! Really fast delivery time

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 04/03/2011 08:32:07 by lmg1612
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Lasts for ages, good value for money and the guineas love it!!

Overall
Quality
Value

My pigs love this
posted on 15/02/2011 15:25:17 by jo
Product Reviewed: XLarge

It smells sweet and fresh and lasts a very long time.when i first got my piggies i ordered a bag of this hay and was very impressed but both the size and quality of the bag but since then i have bought bags out of the local pet shop and i noticed a huge difference in the quality of the bag so now i have ordered 3 bags for my piggies and will deff order more when they finish them it is by far the best hay I tried and definatly wouldn't change brands again.

Overall
Quality
Value

great stuff
posted on 10/11/2010 21:56:48 by debbieat14
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Our rabbits and guinea pigs love this, smells fresh and is lovely and soft.

Overall
Quality
Value

my piggies love this
posted on 14/09/2010 21:09:49
Product Reviewed: XLarge

i have 2 very fussy guinea pigs and bought this just to try it will definitely buy it again as the devoured every handful i put in their cage great value as well

Overall
Quality
Value

great product
posted on 01/09/2010 23:36:10 by kdngac
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have a lionhead rabbit (Mango) and this is an excellent product for him, always smells so fresh, I wouldn't use anything else, and it lasts for ages.

Overall
Quality
Value

Smells lovely
posted on 29/08/2010 16:28:40 by Bunnymum to Cinnamon Sandy
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Lovely soft hay. Our bunnies seem to like it. Smells lovely. Very compact in bag. Would buy again.

Overall
Quality
Value

Not impressed
posted on 25/08/2010 20:11:51 by Riomay
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Not impressed with this at all, first time i ordered it, cant fault it was perfect, so ordered 2 bags this time, both came wet and mouldy! not happy at all

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0723 in order for us to resolve the matter. We have contacted the customer in this review direct.

Overall
Quality
Value

Two happy bunnies
posted on 24/08/2010 20:08:57 by Becca
Product Reviewed: XLarge

My two house bunnies love this hay. The smell is delicious and every time I've bought it, it's smelt fresh and they can't wait to tuck in. Very reasonably priced, and very quick delivery.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 16/07/2010 17:02:52 by Rachael
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I found this excellent and my two lop-eared bunnies really love it. It smells lovely and in the extra large pack it will last a long time, which makes it great value for money.

Overall
Quality
Value

when its good its very very good but often it isnt!!
posted on 05/07/2010 16:11:32
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This product is tremendously variable mostly its brown and dusty but the animals seem to like the taste. Occassionally its drop dead gorgeous ...green and fine and soft and smells like a meadow. You never know what it will be. Shame cant be more consistent

Overall
Quality
Value

Love it
posted on 24/06/2010 18:54:23 by sarah
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Great value for money. My bunnies love it.

Overall
Quality
Value

I loved it
posted on 17/06/2010 14:01:53 by sharon hall
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Great value for money, I have just received my second order for this hay and will certainly be ordering more. Decent sized bag, the hay is soft and sweet smelling and my guinea pigs love it. Longer strands of hay than others I have tried so doesn't flatten down too quickly as my guinea's like to make little nests in the hay and snuggle up together.Highly recommend it.

Overall
Quality
Value

EXCELLENT!!
posted on 07/06/2010 19:29:54 by kellymariechick
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Excellent value for money. My rabbits love it! Will be purchasing more!!!

Overall
Quality
Value

Amazing value
posted on 27/05/2010 22:32:06 by lola siDney
Product Reviewed: XLarge

great product and great value Lola and siDney love to munch it and sleep on it. shame it is so often out of stock!!

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent Value
posted on 07/05/2010 20:21:40 by sfletcher83
Product Reviewed: XLarge

We use this for bedding more than anything, great value for money, really cant go wrong. Highly recommend.

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent Value
posted on 21/04/2010 13:59:07 by gwenny
Product Reviewed: XLarge

My two bunnies love it to eat and sleep on.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant Product
posted on 27/02/2010 17:47:56 by torijames71
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Well what can I say, this is my second order for the XL Bale Meadow Hay speaks volumes. Both myself and guineas very happy with this product, for me the product is very good value and the guineas love it and squeak away when I fill their bed compartment with it. Would highly recommend as great value and a very big bag which lasts for ages.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 22/02/2010 10:17:38 by dykesy
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

Buy this and try for yourself!
posted on 04/02/2010 13:54:04 by Jo Newcastle Upon Tyne
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I can definitely recommend this hay. This hay is a really decent size package, fab value for money, compressed but not so tight it hurts to pull out my pet hate with compressed packing of hay or straw! Smells fresh and the guineas love it. I have 6 guineas and this package lasts long enough between orders...no more trekking to the pet shop for weekly sized bags!! Well done Pet Planet!

Overall
Quality
Value

My Guinea Pigs love it.
posted on 25/01/2010 12:54:47 by Piggie Mummy
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I find this hay is less dusty than other hay, other hay I have bought seem very shredded and it is flattened within minutes but this stuff is much better the Guinea Pigs tend to make little nests in the middle of it for snuggling up in.

Overall
Quality
Value

great vaule
posted on 19/01/2010 19:00:34 by amanda pickett
Product Reviewed: XLarge

did not like this time as we found loads of horthorns in it as not good as it could hurt the guinea pigs it was different from last bag we purchess dont think we will be buying this again

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We have contacted the customer in this review with regards to the issues raised and have resolved the matter to their satisfaction. We have also contacted the manufacturer who have advised on the following: "This can sometimes happen, this is a natural unmolested product straight from the field. The hedgerows around these fields are full of all kinds of plants and support all kinds of wildlife, both flora and fauna. In fact, wild rabbits often dig their boltholes under hawthorn bushes because of the natural protection they provide. Occasionally, hawthorns can be dragged out from the hedge by hedge trimmers or a sheep, other animals etc, gets hidden in the long grass and is picked up with the hay later in the year. If they are individual thorns they get cleaned out with the dust extraction, however, if it is a small branch then it will stay in the hay and needs

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent value
posted on 13/01/2010 15:11:35 by df11
Product Reviewed: XLarge

You certainly get plenty of this for your money. My rabbit Benji seems to prefer this to other varieties of hay that we've tried him with as he chews this much more. I'm not sure he is as keen on it for bedding though as it is longer and coarser than the previous ones we used. I'm not sure I'd describe it as sweet smelling either but each to their own!

Overall
Quality
Value

Chincillas Loved It
posted on 30/12/2009 17:53:22 by tomanddotblair
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Very Impressed With Quality and Quantity

Overall
Quality
Value

Great
posted on 15/12/2009 16:45:54 by Sam
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

Wow!
posted on 12/12/2009 20:18:07 by danmack393
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

brilliant - definately reccommended!
posted on 11/12/2009 12:27:14 by EVBell
Product Reviewed: XLarge

the quality of the hay is excellent apart from the face that i t is packed so tightly into the bag that lots of splinters end up in our hands when feeding our guinea pigs. We have seven of them and this bag lasts for about 4 weeks - amazing especially considering their voracious appetite. it is Very good quality hay - very green an amazingly fragrant :D

Overall
Quality
Value

Top Quality Product. Vey Good Price! 5* Service
posted on 29/10/2009 10:23:24 by Bulldogbritish
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Product is top Quality. Hard pushed to beat the price & Delivered within 48hrs.

Overall
Quality
Value

Good value for money
posted on 23/10/2009 16:09:10 by bevworrall
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

Really good value for money
posted on 16/09/2009 20:21:43
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Good size bag for the money, my guineas can't get enough!!!

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 02/09/2009 13:26:56 by catewardle
Product Reviewed: XLarge

These are great,. I ordered two as I have four guinea pigs, I know it says XL bale but was still surprised at the size of the bales. My piggies love to burrow through it as well as eat it.

Overall
Quality
Value

Reall good value of money
posted on 02/09/2009 00:18:21 by cherine
Product Reviewed: XLarge

It is a big big bag and the hay is the best i have yet bought.does not have that usual smell to it as i am also allergic to it so it was ok for a change and my lovely guinea pig is enjoying it a lot as it is also thick and long and clean unlike the others ones u buy from pet shops and they are more expensive. Willbe buying again once this is about to finish.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value !
posted on 27/08/2009 11:22:18 by Boxer owner
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Prompt delivery and convenient not having to go to the shop.

Overall
Quality
Value

Much more for your money.
posted on 21/08/2009 18:16:59 by M Griffiths
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Much bigger bag than I can get from my pet shop and for only a few pence more!

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 18/08/2009 22:22:59 by carolclose
Product Reviewed: XLarge

A huge bag -much better value than anywhere locally.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 18/08/2009 16:36:55 by julies829
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This is the only company that I can buy everyting that I need for my pets, And its in stock, I buy the big bales of hay for my two hungry guinea pigs on line because its door to door, plus its here within a week what more can I ask for.

Overall
Quality
Value

Best ever!
posted on 11/08/2009 09:41:05 by herbievee
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have purchased many types of hay, this has to be the best by far! Different brands have different levels of dust and weeds, not this one! My 6 rabbits, 6 guinea pigs and 2 rats agree!! I don't have to pick through and remove thistles and other undesirables which is great!

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 10/08/2009 13:20:48 by anderson-kym
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I only had to read the other reviews to be convinced to buy this product. I was right, my two piggies love this hay because it is not dusty for their eyes and it's soft and sweet for them to nibble on.

Overall
Quality
Value

Baby rabbit loved it!
posted on 05/08/2009 12:58:29 by JANEJANE2009
Product Reviewed: XLarge

My baby minilop took to this hay immediately and ate with great gusto and enthusiasm. He obviously prefers this, to the 'leading brand' which he's been eating in a bored kind of way. Also,this is fantastic value as the bale is HUGE and the odour from the hay is not overwhelming, so my lounge should no longer smell like its a farmyard!

Overall
Quality
Value

my piggies loved it
posted on 26/07/2009 15:56:45 by jackiegodfreyafc
Product Reviewed: XLarge

fantastic value and it arrived quickly. Smells great and my small furries love it.

Overall
Quality
Value

Rabbits eat this hay very happily
posted on 20/07/2009 17:05:10 by fionamillar
Product Reviewed: Mini

Our rabbits really like this hay- quite fine and softer than our previous hay. Seems to have a good mixture of plants and grasses and the rabbits always show great interest when the fresh hay is added to rack.

Overall
Quality
Value

fantastic value
posted on 20/07/2009 13:49:10 by JW
Product Reviewed: XLarge

You can't beat the price or the product, if you have a small animal then buy it, my three guinea pigs love it.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 16/07/2009 12:11:45 by jennyaburrows
Product Reviewed: XLarge

really packed in so you get a lot for your money

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 09/07/2009 16:08:14
Product Reviewed: XLarge

guinea pigs love this will buy again

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 30/06/2009 07:58:57 by mrswnumber1
Product Reviewed: XLarge

These bales are HUGE. They are made of long lengths too. Great stuff.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 19/06/2009 12:03:02
Product Reviewed: XLarge

lovely sweet smelling hay bunnies love it and its their review that counts dont you think

Overall
Quality
Value

My guineas love this stuff!
posted on 21/04/2009 16:42:24
Product Reviewed: XLarge

It smells sweet and fresh and lasts a long time. It's nice and soft too. By far the best hay I tried and definatly wouldn't change brands again.

Overall
Quality
Value

Quality hay that my guinea pigs love!
posted on 21/04/2009 10:11:20 by sca_art
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This is a great size bale that lasts for ages, my 7 guinea pigs love it and I will definitely be back for more! Great value too I would recommend this hay to anyone with guinea pigs/rabbits.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 04/04/2009 09:04:13
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value for money
posted on 26/03/2009 18:43:48 by catsrme
Product Reviewed: Mini

This is excellent value for money. The texture of the hay is soft and makes great bedding for my Rabbits and Degus.

Overall
Quality
Value

Very happy Guineas and bunnie!
posted on 24/02/2009 08:21:44 by mollyandminnie
Product Reviewed: Mini

I am always happy with pet planet and their service to me, this item is no exception!

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 23/02/2009 21:41:57
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Good quality hay. Good value for size of bag.

Overall
Quality
Value

My lot love this hay
posted on 08/02/2009 21:55:21 by Ryo_the_Rat
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have 3 bunnies and 2 guinea pigs and give them a generous helping of this hay atl east once a day, and it still lasts me a good week and a half. The bags are absolutely packed in so good value for money, but it also smells lovely and fresh. I have 3 bunnies now but until recently had 4. I lost my Stumpy a couple of months ago. He had always been a fussy eater, and even turned his nose up at expensive timothy hay. this though, he would suck up like spaghetti! At least i finally found a hay he loved before he left us. I highly recommend, definately try if you have a fussy eater.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 31/01/2009 00:05:37 by holz1993
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I always make sure the Hay/Straw i buy is compressed. I always buy XL extra large bags of Hay as i have 4 Rabbits which live outdoors sheltered around the conservatory and shed which protects it but, i add a lot of Hay/Straw so they can not just snuggle up to each over they can also keep warm and nibble on the hay to help there diet. I always buy an extra large bag as i get through so much. I put Meadow Hay and Barley's Hay in the hutch so it's a mix and they seem to love it and have a great time pulling the hay out of this holder. It has a suitable hutch shack to keep hutch warmer and prevent different types of weather getting in.

Overall
Quality
Value

love it.
posted on 23/09/2008 11:30:54 by beckigoodland
Product Reviewed: Mini

Lasts well and my guineas love it.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 12/09/2008 18:54:06 by donna
Product Reviewed: XLarge

good quality and very quick delivery, many thanks.

Overall
Quality
Value

this one is brill
posted on 15/08/2008 10:52:05 by claire morris
Product Reviewed: XLarge

i really liked this hay, much better than the cheaper one! smelt nice and my piggies loved it! well worth paying a bit extra!

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant product
posted on 20/07/2008 10:22:12 by shelley-draven
Product Reviewed: XLarge

There's a whole lotta hay for your money! Great value, great quality.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 15/07/2008 20:06:41
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Good value,good quality with fast delivery.

Overall
Quality
Value

Good hay, good value.
posted on 31/05/2008 22:39:40 by LindaS
Product Reviewed: XLarge

Very good quality hay, lasts a long time and is good to the bottom of the bale.

Overall
Quality
Value

Good size!
posted on 10/05/2008 11:15:49 by Bex
Product Reviewed: XLarge

This bag is HUGE. Excellent value for money compared to others!

Overall
Quality
Value

fantastic value
posted on 23/04/2008 12:22:04
Product Reviewed: XLarge

I have very fussy rabbits and it is hard to please them all of the time, in the past i have got hay that is extreamly soft to the touch and they hated it, so i went on the hunt to find one that they were happy with, and at last i have found it, it seems to be the perfect texture for them and they love it thank goodness!

Overall
Quality
Value

Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

Hill's Pet Food