Gentle Leader: Reviews

Gentle Leader

Gentle Leader


The award winning Gentle Leader offers a whole new concept in the control, training and management ...
From £7.99
< Back to the Gentle Leader Please login to write a review
Works brilliantly
posted on 22/03/2014 11:16:51 by Moose

I bought this gentle leader because a TV personality recommends them for dogs that pull and my 14 month old labrador was continually pulling. He got used to wearing this straight away and doesnt pull at all its superb. Purchased a small connecting piece to attach to the collar as a fall back just in case he managed to wriggle out of it. Purchased medium size gentle leader for large labrador and it is the correct size.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant product does what it says gentle leader
posted on 29/08/2013 23:37:39 by sthompson

18month old German Shepherd this gentle leader has been brilliant for her if put on correctly does not ride up or twist excellent

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 10/08/2013 15:06:26 by Eileen Parish

Our springer still manages to pull a little but walks so much better than she did We can now walk in areas we previously avoided because of the strain on her and us

Overall
Quality
Value

Great calming power
posted on 26/07/2013 23:38:51 by mochris2

This is a fantastic itemkeeps my Springer much calmeralthought I dont hook up under the chinas soon as I put it on she changes temperament immediatelyrecommend for all hyper dogs

Overall
Quality
Value

A DIFFERENT DOG
posted on 04/12/2012 23:04:01 by CCOBAIN

I HAVE TRIED LOTS OF DIFFERENT LEADS COLLARS HARNESSES ETCTO TRY AND CALM MY LABRADOR DOWN TO ENJOY A WALKNOTHING WORKEDI DO KNOW IT TAKES A FEW YEARS FOR LABS TO MATURE BUT IT WAS NO FUN GOING FOR WALKSTHIS PRODUCT IS ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANTIT IS AS IF I HAVE A DIFFERENT DOGSHE NOW WALKS BY MY SIDE AND IS SO CALMIT ONLY TOOK TWO DAYS FOR HER TO GET USED TO IT BEING OVER HER NOSENOW SHE WONT GO FOR HER WALK UNLESS SHE HAS IT ON

Overall
Quality
Value

Great
posted on 30/11/2012 22:37:30 by joannageer

This is a great lead to use we have a very excitable lab who pulls all the time well not anymore he is now nowhere near as bad

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Item
posted on 06/11/2012 07:03:12 by elainehall10

I have tried several items to stop my tibetan terrier pulling and with little success until i got the gentle leader what a great item he wasnt too keen to start with but after 2 or 3 days he is fine with it now and is great to take out for walks now without getting my arm pulled out socket wish i bought this months ago

Overall
Quality
Value

This has changed me and my dogs walking life
posted on 10/10/2012 20:15:09 by jane bayley

For Me and my 18 month old Labrador Riley walking had become a battle zone With his growing strength and over enthusiasm at EVERYTHING he was getting hard to walk neither of us was enjoying our time outdoors which was the huge reason why we got a puppy in the first place Riley is still reluctant to wear the gentle leader but within minutes of it being on he walks along nicely by my side even when another dog comes along Riley cannot strain ahead to say hello We now enjoy our time outdoors again walking has become our special time again

Overall
Quality
Value

great
posted on 20/09/2012 20:10:29

Overall
Quality
Value

My puppy is easier to control
posted on 11/09/2012 20:53:03 by Rachael

I bought this for my 5 month old retriever puppy who was pulling us everywhere At first she tried to pull it off her nose but she soon got used to it Within a week of using the leader she was much easier to control and walks have become a much more pleasant experience She now walks beside me and stops at the kerbs before we cross the roads much safer than before I bought the halti training lead with this leader and they are perfect together

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 25/07/2012 08:30:58 by 2 chorkies mum

Overall
Quality
Value

Actually works
posted on 26/05/2012 09:48:29 by pcchoppy

After literally being dragged on my knees by my 31kg sheepdog in the woods few months ago I started actively looking for alternatives and this was my 3rd attempt. It took only a few minutes for my doggie to work it out and the bonus I get from it is it also stops her from going barking mad when she spots other dogs because of the restrictive strap around her muzzle. The strap is just perfect because she still gets to open her mouth enough to pant and to sniff happily. Thanks to the other comments about the plastic clasp coming undone I attach a choke collar onto the leash as a backup Just go and buy it

Overall
Quality
Value

best invention ever
posted on 09/04/2012 15:23:25 by louandgothic

we have a 10 month old boxer it was a total nightmare walking him until we bought the gentle leader absolutely fantastic whoever invented this is a genious now its a pleasure to walk our dog as he stays by my side throughout his walk

Overall
Quality
Value

puppy didnt like this
posted on 01/04/2012 22:28:40 by pandoras880

its really fussy to put on the puppy was uncomfortable wearing this went out and bought a harness worked better so never used it in the end I have a 5month staff

Overall
Quality
Value

Disappointed that this item is not really suitable for an English Bull Terrier
posted on 29/12/2011 22:03:28

I was hoping this would solve the problem of my rescue EBT bitch pulling so very hard on her lead and harness as I am concerned about her comfort especially as she is suffering from lymphoma and on chemotherapy currently She has the breeds typical egg shaped head and beautiful sloping Roman nose and despite the leader being an excellent fit looks really comfortable she being in possession of dew claws that resemble opposing thumbs Is able with one quick flick to remove it I have purchased a halti head collar too and this is much harder for her to remove she is learning to leave it be and walk this is going to take a long time no doubt If the gentle leader is fitted to a dog early in life I am sure it is easier to use And perhaps this is just not suitable for EBTs which should be noted on the pack I understood it to be good for all breeds I am not giving up we do everything gently with lots of treats and rewards so ideally I would like to be able to use either the halti or gentle leader to make sure nothing rubs or causes any bruising or discomfort to a poor little lady who is poorly after a terrible life of neglect I love her too much to not give her the very best possible in every way A tip we find best is to put on her harness which is soft and padded attach the trainer lead to the d rings on the back put on the head collar attach the safety link to her fairly loose collar then attach the other end of the training lead to the head collar lead ring this way we stear and guide with both ends of the lead and are able to check pulling but release head pressure immediately so she does not try to remove it reward and praise every time she goes right this way does give an element of extra but gentle control Also it is safer if you have an unpredictable monster Good luck from me and Maisy x

Overall
Quality
Value

good product
posted on 30/11/2011 15:00:18 by kithra

I got this for my daughters very young newfoundland not quite a year old yet but already huge and it does the job Arrived very fast and shes pleased with it

Overall
Quality
Value

Fabulous
posted on 24/11/2011 14:15:08 by Rosy

I bought this after my lab pulled me over and i ended up with a black eye Hes now like a different dog I used to have to cross the road if another dog was approching for pulling so much but now he cant pull at all Highly recommended

Overall
Quality
Value

Would not be without one
posted on 01/11/2011 20:45:17 by Molly

My terrier has worn a Gentle Leader for 6 years and it helps 100 in controlling her pulling on the lead Makes walks very enjoyable for us both

Overall
Quality
Value

Worked within minutes
posted on 30/09/2011 22:19:01 by sarah

I was a bit sceptic even after reading other reviews on this item about the goods results it produced I have 2 collies both of which are very hyper typical Collies one of which we got as an 8 month old who had never seen a lead or interacted with other dogs before As you can imagine walks were very eventful for my little 5ft frame I over heard someone say Thats why I dont take MY dog for a walk I persisted pulling her back and saying Heel and after each walk my back and arms were in agony I searched the Internet and found Petplanet advertising the Gentle Leader Within a couple of minutes of putting Gentle Leader on her she was walking beside me all her pull and weight had disappeared She didnt like it at first but she soon realised that she got to go out a lot more with it on Thank you I was at the point of having to take my dogs out separately which wouldnt have been any fun for me or for them

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic
posted on 05/09/2011 10:34:41 by Joyce

We have an extremely strong Hungarian Vizsla and you were always on edge when walking as if he wanted he could pull the lead from you however with Gentle Leader our dog now walks calmly by my side without out any straining on him or me it has transformed walks totally Highly recommend it

Overall
Quality
Value

Love it
posted on 19/07/2011 08:58:49 by CHRIS

Has made a hugh difference to our walkingwas recommended to us by our trainerLife is so much calmer nowand enjoyable

Overall
Quality
Value

i loved it
posted on 18/05/2011 17:30:23 by atkindenise

the best lead i have ever bought max is a labradour and is only 9 months old and used to pull all the time now he dosnt pull at allHe did try to take the gentle leader off his nose at first but not anymore he his now a joy to take for a walk

Overall
Quality
Value

Impressed so far
posted on 10/05/2011 22:16:24 by bronwen

Be sure to check the sizing and thanks to other reviewers who mentioned this My dog is a Lab cross Chow mix and he definitely needed the large Gradually introducing him to this as he does not like anything on his nose but so far its going well I cannot comment on quality and effectiveness at this stage I can only comment on what Ive experienced so far instructions are great and they even offer web sites with video instructions if you arent sure fantastic The gentle leader seems to be soft enough that it wont hurt the woofits nose and Im sure once hes fully introduced our first walk with this will be great

Overall
Quality
Value

It works
posted on 03/05/2011 10:07:05 by yscott

I already had a Halti but wanted to see if the Gentle Leader was any better It was the fit is better and my Border Collie doesnt try to take it off like the Halti So I am guessing it is more comfortable for her I therefore use the Gentle Leader in preference to the Halti

Overall
Quality
Value

fantastic!!
posted on 07/04/2011 21:16:53 by patricia Gonzalez

the gentle leader turned my indomitable dog into a pleasure to walk. no more being dragged or pulled and she is quite comfortable, she does not hate it as she has hated other products, so it is no struggle to put it on her. totally and utterly recommend it!!!

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 29/03/2011 14:55:13 by Kelly Ferrara

I am updating this as I found that the Gentle Leader would twist up around the face I have since purchased a Genkon Allin1 much better

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 21/03/2011 07:58:57 by naomi

Stopped my golden retriever pulling instantly, but did cause some upset! Clasp could be made of a better material such as metal as it did slip over time

Overall
Quality
Value

I love it
posted on 05/01/2011 18:21:12 by moomin-rainbow

She no longer pulls me along the road, walks to heal. resisted it at first but now does not mind it. Now a pleasure to go for a walk.

Overall
Quality
Value

What a product!!
posted on 03/01/2011 21:00:39 by ed batty

We have a young chocolate labrador who is very excitable (if a bit dim!). Walking for me was hard work out for me and a disaster for my wife who suffered at his incessant pulling. From the moment we put the Gentle Leader on it's like he's a different dog. Walking him has now become a pleasure for us....and a bonus for me as the wife takes him out more leaving me more time to get on with important things like watching the telly!! Cracking!

Overall
Quality
Value

Brillant
posted on 08/10/2010 10:30:21 by joanne-jordan

I have a Bull Mastiff x Staffi (Large breed) he is now 7 months old. He walks well on lead, but only when there are no dogs. When he see's a dog that's when he gets excited and pulls, although he is only 7 months old he is very big and strong. This product is amazing, myself and my partner are very impressed. Can I just say this was shown on the new Ceaser Millan series the other day, it works wonders.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 30/09/2010 18:32:37 by Hanna

I bought 2 gentle leader's,one for my German shepherd and one for my labrador.And now we have a stress free walk.The dog's dont pull me all over the place.I am very pleased with this product.

Overall
Quality
Value

Good product!
posted on 28/09/2010 09:43:27 by kelly

I have found this a very good product. I have previously tryed using a body harness and a standard collar, but my dog was completly uncontrollable (particularly around other dogs)- with this lead i can actually have a pleasant walk without being dragged along or my dog jumping all over the place!! He does sometimes try and paw it off of his nose when he gets excited, but it doesn't come off, and he gives up. My only critisisms are that i dont feel its particularly comfortable for him- it would be better if they made one with a padded nose strap. Also, on the website there is no guide to the size of the leader. Having read the reviews and most people using the product had large dogs, i presumed that i would need a "small" for my 1yr old parson jack russell.. and although it does fit, the nose strap only JUST fits!! (all be it he is a large 15kg jack russell.. but i would have still thought classed as a small dog!). I was accidentally sent a "large" at first.. but customers services were very good and immediatly sent me a replacement. All in all a very good product which actually works- walk times are now a lot more pleasant!!

Overall
Quality
Value

so far so good!
posted on 14/09/2010 21:16:57 by L Foale

I received this today, and my very strong and active basset boy didn't mind this atall, and immediately walked at my side. (he has had a halti before, but this made for an even calmer walking experience). I can't comment on the longevity obviously, but after the initial walk I would be willing to but this again if it only lasted a short while. As per usual I can't fault P.P. and wouldn't get my dog products from anywhere else. Thank you.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Product
posted on 17/08/2010 11:32:06 by jodie-griffin

i can now walk my 8 month old labradoodle without him pulling me over! Hes a very big, strong dog but walked lovely with this on and it didnt seem to bother him at all, hes not pawed at it or tried to remove it. Also great value for money

Overall
Quality
Value

Love this
posted on 30/06/2010 21:41:58 by j.e

Walking our 14 month bernese mtn dog was a nightmare until we got this lead, nearly pulled me onto the road a few times! (We ordered the large size for her, fits perfect). Very fast service from pet planet.

Overall
Quality
Value

I really liked this product
posted on 29/06/2010 12:16:47 by burra-angie

I found the leader easy to fit although Jack didnt like it to begin with he soon got used ot it. Our walks are now more enjoyable, Jack used to take me for a walk and now I take him, good buy.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brill
posted on 20/05/2010 22:12:29 by wetheundersigned1

I have a lurcher cross who loves to pull and take me for a walk. I've tried a halti but she got into the knack of pulling that off. I have now tried the Gentle Leader and although it was a bit of a faff trying to find out what whent where, It has certainly stopped her pulling way so much. She still goes on her back legs and dances when wanting to chase things but my arm isn't pulled out of the socket. Walks are begining to feel good. She does try to get the collar off her nose but gives up on this when its not working. I ordered the medium collar as she is a lurcher/german shepherd cross - nearly 2 yrs. But this is a little on the large side for her so I will buy a smaller one AS WELL - can't see me taking her for a walk without one now. Now all I have to do is buy a stunning lead!

Overall
Quality
Value

I like this harness
posted on 18/04/2010 14:27:31 by pg006b

Although I did not buy the gentle leader from pet planet I use 2 gentle leaders harnesses for my 2 Labradors. I also have tried the halti and had the same problem as others with the dog pulling the loop off the nose as it seems to irritate more. When I tried Canac Gentle Leader on my older Labrador he tried to pull it off, found he couldn't and then caused no more problems. I do agrre that the clip under the chin does work loose but the harness has never come off and I also have never had a failure of the plastic clips. I was also surprised that there is a padded version [I believe it is from America] but this could either be something that I see your buyers are looking into, but, could also be something that Canac could do as an upgraded version.

Overall
Quality
Value

Plastic fastener broke after 6 weeks use
posted on 24/03/2010 11:00:34 by pelagia

Very disappointed after reading all the previous reviews. The collar arrived promptly and I started using it with my 18 month old labrador. She's quite small for a lab but pretty strong. It was fine at first although unlike others stories she still pulled, just not quite as hard! I think it's just making her neck muscles even stronger. I had already tried the halti collar (she can pull that off her nose within seconds, as it slackens as soon as the pressure slackens. i.e. as soon as she starts walking calmly) and the canni collar (likewise) so was pleased that she couldn't get this one off her nose and started to calm down when out walking. It lasted 6 weeks (used every day) until she pulled a little too hard whwn we met another dog and the clip at the back of the collar snapped and she was off. I think it is a good design, and worked the best out of those I have tried, but not nearly sturdy enough. The clip under the chin also kept coming loose so I had to adjust that every day.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comment and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We never like to hear customers are disappointed with a purchase from PetPlanet.co.uk and we have contacted the customer in this review and have resolved the matter. It very much sounds like the product in this review has been faulty, if any customer receives an item that they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact us immediately in order to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value

Had to get a replacement
posted on 08/03/2010 19:22:37 by jml

Purdey, my 18-month old Lab previously had a gentle leader deluxe by Premier, which I got from the US but as I had trouble obtaining it in the UK, I had to settle for the Gentle Leader the deluxe version has soft felt underneath the nose strap, making it more comfortable for the dog. The one which Petplanet supplies is by Canac and not much different from the Premier version apart from the felt lining.However, when I received the Leader, the buckle was virtually impossible to undo and had to be returned.PetPlanet immediately offered a replacement/refund. Replacement now received and seems to be much better. But it would be even better if Petplanet stocked the Gentle Leader Deluxe!! Any chance????

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments, we have passed this information onto our buying team who will look into this.

Overall
Quality
Value

brill
posted on 05/03/2010 07:46:44 by Lynda

I ordered small 1st and had to return it and order a medium. Service was quick, 1st rate thanks.

Overall
Quality
Value

I'm sure it works for other dogs but....
posted on 05/02/2010 15:03:07 by P Whitlaw

...not for mine unfortunately. I have a 6 month old cocker spaniel quite stocky and he took a complete and utter dislike to it. It was also a bit too big even though I got a medium which should have been right. I have since got a harness which works well so far the harness is a large so go figure!. I'm sure if I had persevered maybe it could have worked but I could see he wasn't enjoying it as he found it so alien and very difficult to pick up sticks which he loves to do and was very subdued. Sorry, in my case it didn't work.

Overall
Quality
Value

It works
posted on 03/02/2010 17:42:56 by helen-leigh57

Our 7 month old Labrador was getting too strong for me to take out especially if he saw something. But with the Gentle Leader he just trots along beside me and NO Pulling

Overall
Quality
Value

Buy it!!!
posted on 22/01/2010 15:56:35

After a bit of nose rubbing the first week, my dog got used to the leader and it has truely changed my life. I've gone from my dog taking me for a walk to the other way round. Excellent.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant!
posted on 16/01/2010 13:18:17 by annehilditch

We have a one year old boisterous, full-of-life, happy-go-lucky standard poodle. Life is never dull, but walking her on the lead was becoming a miserable experience for me because I have arthritis in both hips and her constant pulling was causing me pain. The gentle leader changed all that! People now comment on how beautifully she walks, and walking her is a real pleasure.I did wonder how long she would take to get used to it. The answer was one day and then she just accepted it. I would thoroughly recommend the gentle leader!

Overall
Quality
Value

Fabulous buy
posted on 26/12/2009 08:59:51

I am delighted with the gentle leader. I have now purchased a black one to replace our red gentle leader. This item has completely changed having a dog. We have a border collie, who like all border collies is full of energy and used to pull on the lead, so our daughters couldn't walk her. Since using a gentle leader, we could walk her using only one finger!!!! It really is that good - we have people commenting on how well our dog walks on the lead. This will completely change your dog walking - our dog is really happy with it, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent product
posted on 26/11/2009 08:31:07 by stewart-hull

We already use gentle leaders and have done for some time. This purchase was to replace an old product which had lasted 3 years. They are the best way by far to walk and have control of large strong dogs.

Overall
Quality
Value

Really pleased with this item
posted on 05/11/2009 15:24:48

I have a 14mth Staffy who nearly pulls me over when l walk him and this is now helping me and much as him thank you.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant Service
posted on 18/10/2009 15:02:44 by JoJo

Fast service will definatly use again

Overall
Quality
Value

Walking is a pleasure
posted on 16/10/2009 08:16:38 by vince6

We have two male, nine month old Bernese Mountain dogs who are constantly trying to compete against each other. They weigh around 42kg each, and before we started using the new harnesses, my wife could not walk them, and walk times for me were exhausting. There was some initial resistance to wearing the harness, but after a few days they settled down, and now walk on a slack lead, without trying to slip them off. I have never used harnesses on any of my dogs before, but cannot believe how much pleasure I now get from walking Bailey and Oscar. Only one niggle, the clip on the harness is sometimes difficult to release, however this may be because it is new, only time will tell.

Overall
Quality
Value

saved my aching arms!
posted on 07/10/2009 09:46:19 by deirdrepemberton

I have the most adorable GSD on the planet, but she is very strong. The gentle leader has made it possible for us both to enjoy our walks. I have tried other head collars, but this one is easily the most flexible, thanks to the sliding clip under the chin.

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 07/10/2009 08:50:13

gentle leader great buy

Overall
Quality
Value

A product that works!
posted on 24/09/2009 11:08:43 by Yvonne Heminsley

My labrador is so strong and pulls terribly on lead. Gentle leader really works - gives control and slows Max down - bit like reins with a horse. Wouldn't be without it!

Overall
Quality
Value

These are the best
posted on 20/09/2009 11:56:22 by sherleenjones

I have tried everything harnesses, collars, chains and this always wins hands down as I have full control on walks now. However my male labrador has outgrown the medium size.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great value
posted on 05/09/2009 18:33:46 by burr1

I think I may have bought the wrong size as it does seem slightly large, however it does seem to be doing the job !

Overall
Quality
Value

super! works wonders
posted on 31/08/2009 09:35:21 by bubbles mum

works wonders my labx very strong and pulles on a normal lead with gentle leader huge improvement recommend very highly

Overall
Quality
Value

stops pulling!
posted on 19/08/2009 08:11:15 by steele9jl

My springer and cocker spaniels tend to pull on the lead when excited and they are lively. The leaders stop this making walks much more pleasant

Overall
Quality
Value

It works!
posted on 18/08/2009 10:40:04 by helmike2

The gentle leader collar does work, and because it is fully adjustable it fits snuggly. I would like to have had some padding on the section that fits over the nose to make it more comfortable.

Overall
Quality
Value

good value
posted on 07/08/2009 18:26:33 by helenmf

great product as my border collie is bad for pulling.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Value
posted on 29/07/2009 10:21:16

I put the leader on and it worked immediately.It did just as it promised.The booklet with the leader also gave the address of a website where you could watch fitting instructions and get training tips.Really useful because sometimes just raeding instructions doesn't make it totally claer.

Overall
Quality
Value

Amazing
posted on 15/07/2009 18:42:12 by louise

Found the gentle leader to be easy to use, and brilliantly effective. Our dalmation has always pulled on the lead from being a puppy despite training to correct. This product worked instantly and he also seems much calmer. We completely remove it when letting him off the lead as otherwise he tries to take it off himself.

Overall
Quality
Value

I thought nothing would work!
posted on 13/07/2009 11:25:57 by greydj569

We'd tried all sorts to stop our Bullmastiff pulling, so we were a bit doubtful this would work BUT it does, it really does. Our first walk was a pleasure no pulling no stress, she did try a few times to get it off but very quickly stopped and enjoyed the walk. I strongly recommend it.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant.
posted on 09/07/2009 07:12:53 by theboysmum90

Really helps control my skittish young labrador without a lot of effort to me.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 08/07/2009 08:00:28 by karen-higby

The product I ordered was not suitable as too similar to others we have brought. Had it not been like others we had I would have kept it.But the product arrived very quickly and on returning the item the service I received in crediting the card was very good too.

Overall
Quality
Value

loved it
posted on 02/07/2009 15:16:16 by lyndawalrond

i have a 8 month old springer spaniel and he has always pulled with the gentle leader he is now walking by my side which makes our walks a far more pleasent experience

Overall
Quality
Value

it worked
posted on 30/06/2009 08:52:19 by Kelpie

i have a Kelpie and we compete in obedience so she can heel well, however, when just out for a walk she pulls like nothing, i have tried all sorts of stop pulling things incuding a halti none of which worked in fact she would sometimes pull harder, so thought as this had good reviews i would give it a try, thinking that i would be like one of the reviews and still have a puller, i was wrong it worked straight away did not even pull me out the door or into the park and its still working 2 weeks later. i am so happy now it's great. she still trys to get it off sometimes but hardly ever, so i would say give it ago i did and i am glad.

Overall
Quality
Value

Dogwalking heaven
posted on 18/06/2009 17:19:05 by lynnmariehall

Our dog is a 6 yr old staffie/boxer cross - hence his super giddy nature. He was a nightmare to walk, a major puller, really strong for a smallish dog. I was initially thinking of buying the Halti, but after condsidering the reviews, decided to go for the Gentle Leader Medium as some people said the Halti rubbed their dog's noses. I'm so pleased with it, he tried to get it off the first time but ever since he's been fine and he trots along quite nicely now and his tail is still wagging - a good sign!

Overall
Quality
Value

brilliant product
posted on 20/05/2009 09:27:20 by mariasheppard1

Much better than the old Halti, this gentle leader does not rub the dogs nose as the other one used to. Highly recommended

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Product
posted on 06/05/2009 09:17:04 by pomphrey

I had a labrador many years ago that pulled badly on the lead. I tried a Halti harness without success.My next dog was a collie who just plain walked lovelly. Then came Jake my springer spanial cross. He pulled like a freight train. Despite obedience class and hours of training. Finally I got a gentle leader its a bit complex to fit at first but if you bother to read the instructions as my wife did it works fine. A dog who could drag a 200lb man now trots like a little pony.Gentle leader sure worked for me and Jake.

Overall
Quality
Value

The gentle leader
posted on 28/04/2009 20:19:11

The Gentle Leader was what I expected but I am still trying to get my dog used to it.

Overall
Quality
Value

Stopped the tugging on the lead!
posted on 25/03/2009 19:38:37 by rebecca-patience1

We had a GSD 7 months who tugged on the lead non-stop, the gentle leader pulls his face now so he does not tug and if he does he can be controlled very well. It does not hurt him at all like a choke chain would, and it does not break or fall off like a haltie does, the only thing is, he has taken a while to get used to it and for that time he was trying to get it off and cut his nose doing so. But now he is used to it he walks at heel very well with slack in the lead. So I think it is worth buying!

Overall
Quality
Value

I Love This Item!
posted on 24/03/2009 20:07:41 by Lisa

A Great item. This is the second one I've bought from Pet Planet, and this one is a spare or 'just in case' because I couldn't imagine taking my Springer out without one on her!

Overall
Quality
Value

Works!
posted on 17/03/2009 15:11:11 by Boo

I'm trying to teach my pup to walk nicely but sometimes we need to get some exercise rather then have a training session. At these times i use the gentle leader and it completely prevents her from pulling. She is also going through a stage of trying to snaffle up all manner of rubbish off the pavement. The collar helps prevent this behaviour too. She tolerates it fairly well - just has an occasional rub of her nose. I would certainly recommend this product

Overall
Quality
Value

It is Excellent
posted on 10/03/2009 15:15:43 by KirstyH1

I have a rottweiler who is now 4 and a half and weighs nearly 50 kilo's we have used halti's and other things in the past but found that as the nose part cannot be adjusted, they dig into his eyes and he is very uncomfortable. The gentle leader has been great harley isn't uncomfortable and I now enjoy walking with him rather than being dragged along and feeling as though I have no control of him. I would recommend this to anyone having similar problems, I am only sorry we didn't discover it sooner!

Overall
Quality
Value

Great product
posted on 26/02/2009 16:43:06 by kayleigh09876

I already had a black one of these for my dalmation but after 2 yrs the clip looked a little worn. Bought the medium one again perfect size, stops her pulling and I love the bright red colour. Makes walks more enjoyable!!!

Overall
Quality
Value

Excellent product, and service, would definitely buy from this store again
posted on 25/02/2009 15:14:46 by lucyoakenfull

Excellent product, which arrived very quickly. Would definitely recommend this store

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Product
posted on 23/02/2009 13:50:40 by karli77

We have an Akita who weighs over 8 stone. He is very good at walking to heal but our problem is his aggression towards other dogs. It takes a lot of strength to hold him when he is on his normal lead and collar, however, the Gentle Leader now means it takes no effort at all. As soon as he sees another dog we can easily get his attention by gently pulling on his head collar. As soon as he looks away from the dog and back at us we reward with a treat so it really helps with his training too. We are going to purchase another one just so we have a spare.

Overall
Quality
Value

Brilliant product
posted on 13/02/2009 14:18:05 by Shelly

I think this Gentle Leader is wonderful as i've just rescued my beautiful Sophie shes a year old Lab & did pull so much but know i can walk her with my little finger great product i got a Medium.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 05/02/2009 22:34:17 by nn015h7508

Works well but still struggling to put on right.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great product, but too large!
posted on 06/12/2008 20:53:35 by Lee

I have just came back from holiday and couldn't wait to try it on my dog as walking him is not fun, because he pulls. I ordered a large size, but it was too large, despite how tight I had made it and my dog kept slipping out of it. I think if I had ordered the medium it would have been perfect.

Overall
Quality
Value

getting another two
posted on 08/11/2008 13:53:52 by kim

I have two border collies and a doberman. All dogs strain on the leads, prompting neighbours amusement and comments that the dogs take me for walks. The smaller collie pulls and changes direction constantly, more than the other two, and sometimes nips the other dogs if they go ahead of her. i therefore bought one collar to see whether it could restrain the worst offender before outlaying the cost of three collars. After initial tantrums which last until the bottom of the street,and are getting less frequent, the walk then turns into a significantly easier outing. I'm now buying another two for the other dogs and am very confident that for the first time in six years I won't be the street comedian.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 24/10/2008 09:04:49

Took a bit for dog to accept this as expected, but it works

Overall
Quality
Value

Good service
posted on 29/09/2008 23:43:57

Overall
Quality
Value

Great Service
posted on 19/09/2008 21:59:23

This item is difficult to locate and I prefer it to the Halti. I have two more which will need replacing soon and will buy straight from Petplanet. Very quick service.

Overall
Quality
Value

I couldn't walk the dog's without this
posted on 18/09/2008 11:54:37 by Stacey

I have two large dog's and I'm quite small so I really couldn't manage to walk the dog's without using this. My arms don't hurt anymore!

Overall
Quality
Value

great value
posted on 30/08/2008 21:23:48

Overall
Quality
Value

Reasonable value
posted on 14/08/2008 15:38:47 by sarah-kinniburgh

Much better than the Halti but it still rub's my dogs nose just below the eyes. He is a real puller so has two little bald patches either side of his nose. That said, he is much easier to keep uner control while wearing the gentle leader.

Overall
Quality
Value

Great product
posted on 26/06/2008 22:44:46

I have tried all different collars, harnesses etc. This is the only one that works - my dog is a small scottish terrier and although she didn't like it much at first, she is getting used to it

Overall
Quality
Value

Slightly Better than the Halti
posted on 24/06/2008 22:52:47 by Kat

"I bought this as a replacement to a Halti, which tended to rub into my dog's eye. It is better designed & much more comfortable for him to wear". I have since had to stop using this, as it also caused irritation to my dogs eyes.

Overall
Quality
Value

Our dog dislikes it.
posted on 16/06/2008 17:07:20

On trying the "Gentle Leader Headcollar" from the reviews we had read, we expected our dog to get used to wearing it and settle into some gentle walks. But, in fact, our dog dislikes wearing the headcollar and spends the entire walk trying to remove it. We would be very grateful if we could exchange it and try a different type of harness instead.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here. Unfortunately, as our customer has not responded to our email, we have been unable to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value

Liked it but purchased size to small
posted on 11/06/2008 18:28:48

Very good product but unfortunately had to return it as it was to small for our 5 month old puppy. Didnt reorder a medium as it was out of stock.MPR

PetPlanet Says:
We are please to confirm this should be in stock later in the week, thank you for your comments.

Overall
Quality
Value

Very useful
posted on 22/05/2008 19:15:40

This is better than the ancol one that cost the same. My German shepherd managed to chew the ancol one everytime I put it on. It only lasted 2 weeks.

Overall
Quality
Value

To small I've got to send it back, really disappointed that I have to buy another one and get refunded!
posted on 16/05/2008 11:42:22

To small for my dog, Ive been told I have to reorder on the internet another one and then get a refund on the one I'm sending back. haven't got the spare cash at moment to do that!

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We have contacted the customer, investigated the issues raised and are pleased to advise the matter has now been resolved satisfactorily.

Overall
Quality
Value


posted on 01/05/2008 12:16:31 by voltamp-midnorth

Overall
Quality
Value

Amaazing!
posted on 28/04/2008 11:13:34 by Daisy

My Springer Spaniel used to come close to dislocating my shoulder when I walked her. This completely stopped her pulling and has made walks a pleasure not a chore. Great product.

Overall
Quality
Value

It's worked like a charm!
posted on 27/04/2008 22:15:56

The gentle leader has transformed walking the dogs from an arm wrestling match to an actual pleasant experience

Overall
Quality
Value

Fantastic
posted on 13/04/2008 23:10:47 by Ella

After spending countless mornings being dragged around the park by an over excited Border Collie crossbreed it's such a relief to feel I'm doing the walking rather than being walked.

Overall
Quality
Value

didnt work for me
posted on 01/03/2008 12:47:48 by vicky

i have an alaskan malumute who pulls as much as u would think cos of her breed,thought the product would work brill but found it difficult to fit because of her thick fur and kept slippin off her nose even with tightening as much as u could allow, she was very distressed and disorientated when we of course persisted with this product but to no avail,in my opinion a waste of money!!

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here.

Overall
Quality
Value

great for control!
posted on 21/08/2007 17:16:38 by Pasha

having a St Bernard dog needs great control. we were recommended the Easy Leader, and haven't looked back. it clips into position so doesn't slip off the nose (like some other makes do) which defeats the object when you need them to not pull! especially a dog the size of a small horse, if they want to go it will go! however, with Easy leader you can control the head, so it HAS to follow you.

Overall
Quality
Value

This lead was great
posted on 02/04/2007 08:51:22

my dog pulls constantly on a normal lead and Gentle Leader gives me complete control of a strong dog. The product is not pushed enough in pet stores, as I have had difficulty tracking a replacement down.

Overall
Quality
Value

Amazing
posted on 30/01/2007 18:37:49 by Denise

Have just returned from walking my two terriers using their new Gentle Leader collars and its like I was walking two different dogs! Before it was a constant battle against them pulling but this evening they were an absolute pleasure to take out! Would recommend Gentle Leader without hesitation - the best 20 I've spent!

Overall
Quality
Value

Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

Eukanuba Puppy and Junior 7.5kg+
 
James Wellbeloved Dog Food