Habitrail Ovo Suite Hamster Cage: Reviews

Habitrail Ovo Suite Hamster Cage

Habitrail Ovo Suite Hamster Cage

The Habitrail Ovo Suite is the hamster burrow of the future, allowing you to create ...
RRP: £39.99 Our Price: £29.99 Save 25%
Extra Product Images
.
< Back to the Habitrail Ovo Suite Hamster Cage Please login to write a review
Love it
posted on 30/12/2012 01:46:25 by jsmith

Our baby Syrian loves her new home Lots of fun for us and for her Damaged by Parcel Force but Pet Planet were very helpful and quickly sorted it all out Cant recommend it enough only one drawback an endless extendthehamstermaze project Was not overly impressed by the water bottle very odd design and hamster seemed to find it very hard to use so weve replaced it with a better one Thats the only thing Id change about this cage

Overall
Quality
Value
Looks and is impressive
posted on 28/12/2012 19:49:48 by Nina

Bought as a surprise for my 7 year old daughter and easy to put together once we got the hang and plenty of nooks and crannies for hamster until confident but enough space to get at hamster when we wanted Would highly recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
brilliant cage
posted on 13/12/2012 19:20:34 by emmaseale

Our hamster loves this cage Easy to clean and looks good Lots of add ons to make home interesting for our hamster Keeps all mess such as sawdust inside the cage Fab product would definitely recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
both my son and his new hamester LOVE it
posted on 05/07/2012 13:41:41 by mechelleandeden

my son is 10 years old he found the habitrail ovo suite on line he watched all the videos about it and decided that was the one he wanted we waited quite a while for it to arrive that is literally its only drawback but once it got here he was delighted it was easy to assemble he did so himself and looks great i was worried about the ventilation at first but i neednt have the hamster is the best judge and he seems really happy and content not to mention busy well worth the wait and the price thanx very much

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Product and Great Customer
posted on 27/04/2012 20:16:45 by Sarah

We had fun putting the cage together A small piece was missing and customer services did not hesitate to send a replacement My son has really enjoyed being able to watch his hamster scampering around in the tubes The product looks very modern and is so much quieter than traditional wire cages The wheel is silent so the night time antics dont keep my son awake The hamster doesnt seem to understand the water bottle system yet so we have a little bowl Also the product looks smaller in the pictures than it is in real life

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic Hammy Home
posted on 13/04/2012 14:31:44 by Sue

Easy to put together Easy to take apart and clean Can constantly create new routes for your hamster making an enriched environment

Overall
Quality
Value
Brillant Hamster Fun
posted on 14/11/2011 19:25:30 by evansp25

Really brillant hamster cage the clear tubes make for brillant observing fun Our new hamter seems very happy in her new home Its easy to put together and easy to clean I would therefore highly recomend this Petplanet were also brillant at delivering this product with it being very well packaged

Overall
Quality
Value
Great item Amazing customer service
posted on 28/10/2011 11:48:53 by philip

Waffles the hamster loves her new cage Easy to assemble and looks great I cannot recommend petplanet high enough there was a very minor problem and they solved it far beyond my expectations Thankyou for the great products and thanks for the brilliant service

Overall
Quality
Value
I LOVE THIS PRODUCT lt3
posted on 16/10/2011 22:23:32 by gemmay666

I was 10 when i had this hamster cage in 09 and i had 1 little dwarf hamster living in it called ruby she loved this as there was so much to do i had no help from parents for cleaning it out and i would clean the whole cage by myself in a bout 20 minutes not hard to clean at all We traveled moved around alot moving houses ect and the blue pod was blocked off with ruby sat inside it was a perfect design and anyone that is thinking about buying this product or having an eye on this and another one GO FOR THIS ONE your hamster will love it easy to put together and makes the best padapartment for You hamster D hopes this helps for people thinking of buying this product

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant hamster house!
posted on 12/12/2010 11:40:16 by Izzie

I bought this for my Syrian Hamster Eric, as his other cage was pet store bought, boring and small. I was worried he a) Wouldn't be clever enough to figure out the tunnels/water bottle (he's not very bright!) and b) Would be to podgy for the tubes, being a Syrian he's very cuddly and rounded. However, I was pleasantly surprised- it only took him ten minutes to figure out how to use the tubes, and he figured out the water bottle in an hour. It's bigger than it looks, with the main compartment being almost as big as a normal cage. He decided to sleep in the top compartment. The only thing I think is troublesome about this is the assembly. It took me about 45 minutes. I tried using the instructions but they were so odd I just gave up in the end and guessed. This is a definite must buy for a bored hamster. Normal square type hamster cages are not enough!

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant
posted on 15/06/2010 09:52:28 by nancynoodles

I got the Ovo suite for my hammy Destroyer as I really hated seeing him hanging from the bars in his original cage, and he loved it straight away. I also bought the large maze dome and a few other pods to make it more exciting for him, as just the suite by itself isn't much of a challenge for a fully grown hammy- but for the price it's well worth it. He made full use of all the pods and really enjoys finding hidden treats and chewing at the the different cardboard mazes. I also find it very easy to clean- you don't even have to take your hammy out of it if you don't want to as you can isolate the various chambers while you clean out the other bits. I also thought it smelt a lot less than the conventional cage I had previously. It's also very easy to assemble and change the layout to keep your hammy exploring. AND the wheel doesn't make any noise! Couldn't recommend more highly for a happy hammy!

Overall
Quality
Value
good price geniune item
posted on 22/02/2010 18:47:09

The real deal!

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value, great product
posted on 30/12/2009 19:56:50 by rgreen3

Firstly, I was extremely happy with the speed the Ovo arrived in, very fast. Secondly, the product was unblemished and much easier to put together than I thought, the lock connecters are very clever. The suite is more than big enough for a dwarf hamster, although I do have the maze arriving soon for extra room for toys and running space and will definitely be buying some more tubes. Our hamster, Ella, is a Russian Dwarf so we have put the tubes horizontally for now but with some more elbows and curvy tubes hope to put it vertical. The water bottle is bizarre but I have found that putting the bottle at a slight angle has stopped all leaks. Overall I recommend the Ovo suite very highly and am very pleased with the service by PetPlanet.

Overall
Quality
Value
Cool house
posted on 12/12/2009 08:41:17 by bamford-vin

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value, much cheaper than our local pet shops.
posted on 26/11/2009 19:57:42 by billwood

We decided to buy the Habitrail Ovo Suite Hamster Home as it was recommended to us by a family member. We originally had a metal cage which we were never really happy with. It seemed restrictive and difficult to access. The Habitrail Ovo Suite has many easy access points, whcih makes it easier to encourrage the hamster to be handled. Our hamster loves it, and is a lot happier in her new environment. We were very impressed with the speed of delivery from PetPlanet and would recommend them without hesitation.

Overall
Quality
Value
couldn't have been better
posted on 25/11/2009 14:38:40 by nightjester1

arrived very quickly, very pleased with both quality of product,quality of service and most of all with the price!

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 20/11/2009 18:43:48 by llrockon

This product is well worth the money.

Overall
Quality
Value
Love it
posted on 06/11/2009 21:11:48 by annathompson536

I was very impressed with the price of this product, and my hamster loves it! I love how you can add extra parts to this for more fun for the hamster. The only down side is it is quite fidely to clean having to take everything apart but you cant have everything. Overall i was very impressed and would recommend.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fun and Exciting
posted on 04/11/2009 10:07:59 by Angel-kitty86

My hamster loves this cage, once I learnt how to put it together then its very easy to clean, adjust and essemble how I want. The water bottle leaks but that is down to poor design, petplanet sent out a replacement quickly. I took my Hamster to the vet in the carry case he was using for his bedroom and after that he moved all his bedding out as i think he thought it wasnt safe anymore!

Overall
Quality
Value
fantastic
posted on 16/10/2009 10:10:37 by sugarlumps19

bigger than i expected and fabulous. new hamster will love its new home. many thanks

Overall
Quality
Value
easy to clean
posted on 30/09/2009 16:15:18 by Paul-Tombleson

I have three of these houses now, they are easy to clean, easy to add to and I change the layout every week to keep it interesting for the hamsters. They also keep in any hammy smells which is a bonus. I would recommend this item, once you get used to how it clips together its brilliant.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 29/09/2009 10:00:56 by srhmilner

I bought this hamster home and it is great and a real bargain. It was delivered promptly and I am very impressed with the service I received

Overall
Quality
Value
Hamsters love it!
posted on 25/09/2009 17:14:44

I've not owned hamsters before, so did a lot of research into cages before opting for this one, along with the Ovo Loft. We've got them both joined together, but all on a level, as we got two dwarf hamsters, so they can't climb the tubes vertically. Do think this alone would be much too small. We've tried it a couple of different combinations and they soon find their favourite areas to eat, sleep and play in! Same feedback as a couple of other people in that our dwarf hamsters can't climb the steps to the built in food bowl as it's too big and slippery for them, but we just put another bowl on the floor, so that's easily solved. We did have to buy a different water bottle, however, as we just couldn't get the Habitrail one to stop leaking, and they couldn't really get the angle right to use it. We just bought a normal water bottle and fixed it into the same hole though and it's fine. They're the only problems though, and they really do seem to love whizzing through the tunnels and using their wheel! Would recommend.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value
posted on 29/08/2009 09:52:58 by cmlitchfield

This was a great product at a great price. Fairly easy to fit together although a little patience is required, love that you can keep adding on to it. Recommended.

Overall
Quality
Value
Good product
posted on 25/08/2009 21:14:07 by TheHouseOfPets

I bought two habitrail ovo hamster cage one for my Son and one for my Daughter when we got the the hamsters the hamsters loved it emmiditly. My Daughters hamster was up in the tubes as quick as lightning and down as fast my Sons however was up quickly but was scared to go down but he did it. The products came very quick. The service was brillant. However the people how are saying there's got cracked probaly only orded one but we ordred 2 so thay came in the boxs and in anoher cardboard box. Our hamsters where syrains and the cage suited them very well thay where quite small so this cage would probaly suit smaller hamsters hamsters eg ruissain or dwarfs and the hamsters where only 6 weeks old.

Overall
Quality
Value
as described
posted on 25/08/2009 12:13:40

recieved item, well packed, as described.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 24/08/2009 09:53:27 by AngieTrenam

My son is very pleased with the Ovo Suite , and so is his hamster,it was aquick delivery to say that when we ordered it you were waiting for stocks to arrive it still came within a week. it is a really good and sturdy cage with plenty for the hamster to explore,and great value for money .

Overall
Quality
Value
Very good cage!!
posted on 16/08/2009 17:07:40 by Tracey

This cage was a great buy for my mouse and would buy more for future pets.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fab .....
posted on 12/08/2009 11:14:38

I loved it it is GREAT value and a Fantastic product my Hamster loves it and can't decide where to sleep so she has about 4 beds :although i had a little problems putting it together but once you get the hang of it it is very easy to clean and is truly is a fab product ...:

Overall
Quality
Value
very pleased,children and hamster love it!
posted on 05/08/2009 15:44:16 by Ericbee

Our young syrian male hamster loves his new home. It is easy to keep clean and enables us to see the hamster more easily. The bright colours are attractive and fun.There is more to do and more space for the hamster.

Overall
Quality
Value
fantastic
posted on 04/08/2009 11:48:57 by inz5665

perfect home for our hamster thankyou.

Overall
Quality
Value
A superb cage
posted on 04/08/2009 08:17:11 by clareandken

We debated buying this cage for a long time, due to very varied feedback online. As an experienced hamster owner, I am only too well aware of the importance of size Of cage. Our hamster is a female Syrian, of above average size so we bought the Suite, tower, a second large maze and a small maze. The product is very simple to build, if you take a minute to figure out how the lock adapters work. It took me two hours, and most of that time was spent figuring out how to connect all the tubes in a unique configuration. It is very easy to clean-a dream in fact, as all parts come to pieces and there is no nasty corners. All parts of the cage are accessible, so it is easy to access your pet in an emergency. I would NOT recommend just buying the 'pad'- this is not big enough for a hamster, invest in as many modules as possible, as the floor area of the pad alone is tiny! This product is expandible and you should take full advantage of this. I had to contact Habitrail for some advice on parts to connect to an old playground I had and they could not have been more helpful! If you are careful ensuring all parts are properly locked then I would say escape from this cage is virtually impossible! Our Ellie loves it and wouldn't want to escape anyway! Pet Planet were also brilliant and product was shipped next day. I would not hesitate to buy from them again! Overall, 10/10

Overall
Quality
Value
Very good value
posted on 01/08/2009 12:05:22 by helen00744

After finding this product in my local pet store, I decided to search online for a better price or more value for money. I found this website and got far more for my money therefore brought online. I am very pleased with my purchases and would definitely look at this website again prior to any other when purchasing pet products :-

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 30/07/2009 13:17:05

Fantastic service, very happy hamster.

Overall
Quality
Value
great cage
posted on 29/07/2009 15:06:46

Excellent cage, best connection system there is. Do not break when taking apart like other systems I have had in the past. The only slight complaint is I think it is slightly to small as a stand alone unit. I bought a loft to complement it and that is excellent size and the hampster loves it. Also if you connect it to a loft there is a secound wheel and houst in there so the wheel and house can be removed and replaced with the chewable maze which is excellent also.

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 22/07/2009 07:24:25

must have been sent by rocket,very quick in dispatching item, and good value. thanks

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value
posted on 15/07/2009 16:14:40

Excellent hamster cage - robust and lots of space and interest for the hamster. also easy to clean and no wire parts for noisy chewing at night!

Overall
Quality
Value
great value for money
posted on 12/07/2009 23:41:28

I have a fully grown syrian hamster living in this and it is perfect for him. He's an energetic little fellow so I am thankful for the very quiet wheel that comes with this home. I think the steps that lead up to the food bowl are a good idea because they save space and provide an extra climb. There is also a hidey-hole under these steps where my hamster tends to store his food or sleep in. I have found the whole unit very easy to clean as the steps, wheel & den floor can be taken off & cleaned seperately. Altogether a lovely product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant!
posted on 06/07/2009 19:11:22 by loobsydoobsy

Bought for 2 Dwarf winter whites,had to lay the tubing at a lower angle but is fab all the same. Would and have recommended,easy to clean and easy to put together.

Overall
Quality
Value
Superb!
posted on 29/06/2009 10:08:27 by sharona24

Great value product and was delivered much quicker than I thought, considering it was out of stock! It arrived within the week! Hamster loves his new cage and it is so easy to construct and dismantle for cleaning. Will definately be buying some add-ons. It is bigger than it looks on the website so read measurements. Well impressed!

Overall
Quality
Value
Funky hammy cage
posted on 26/06/2009 21:41:41 by gp70

Great product - ordered on Sunday and arrived on Thursday. Little boy and of course hamster both love this product and Mummy loved the price :-

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic home for the little ones!
posted on 22/06/2009 09:42:48 by greg-martin19

Overall
Quality
Value
great for dwarf hamsters
posted on 15/06/2009 22:16:16 by GemJam

I had trouble looking for cages that were suitable for dwarf hamsters, this one is great. As long as the tubes are set up horizontally, they also have difficulty reaching the water bottle, but I put it at angle and they can access it fine now. It is a large cage especially if you add the maze, like I did, and it is great value for money. It is sometimes difficult to access the hamsters, but they love all the hidey holes. Great design and cleans easily and simple to put together. Fantastic service from PetPlanet and quick delivery.

Overall
Quality
Value
excellent value
posted on 13/06/2009 21:07:28 by nikkipi

This was a replacement because my hamster nibbled hole in previous one. Fantastic value especially because we got half price maze to go with it - hopefully he won't chew that this time!

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 06/06/2009 19:31:33 by nickynockynoo

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Item but packaging BAD
posted on 05/06/2009 15:34:29 by sophiegabrielle

This item is great for your hamsters only problem I had was that there was not much packaging included in the postage & packaging part of the deal as the lid of this was cracked really badly

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear customers are disappointed with a purchase from PetPlanet.co.uk. Please do remember that if you receive any item that appears to be damaged or faulty during transit if you contact us immediately we will resolve the matter for you. We have contacted the customer direct with regards to the issues raised in this review.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value for money.
posted on 27/05/2009 12:58:01 by saunders108

Very pleased with the Habitrail Ovo Suite. Arrived very quickly. Would buy from Pet Planet again. Very friendly and professional company. Many Thanks.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value for money
posted on 27/05/2009 12:45:32

Prompt service and well wrapped. Compared with pet shop prices..a bargain. Will shop at Pet Planet again

Overall
Quality
Value
Not as pleased as hoped
posted on 26/05/2009 22:01:02

Like the home but have received 2 cracked suite lids and assume have been damaged in transit. Would like a replacement but packed well on delivery

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We have contacted the customer, investigated the issues raised and are pleased to advise the matter has now been resolved satisfactorily.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value for Money
posted on 24/05/2009 10:29:00

this was an excellent product, my hamster loves it. Its fairly complicated to put together but easy once you've done it once.

Overall
Quality
Value
great
posted on 21/05/2009 12:51:54 by pizza-guy500

its all great, looks really neat. its a solid plastic so you dont get the annoying clanging sounds you do with metal, barred cages.the whole system couldn't fit on my shelf but thats the great thing, you can pick and choose what tunnels and tubes you want. the water bottle though it a bit awkward, it is not a screw top and is just a cap, therefore prone to air leakages and the water bottled leaked onto my shelf but a little blu tack sorted my problem. otherwise a fantastic, modernistic, ergonomic, value for money hampster abode.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic, my chinese dwarf hamster loves it.
posted on 18/05/2009 17:47:39 by leolady

This cage is much bigger than it looks. I bought the maze at the same time as it was half price,that in it's self is plenty big enough as a cage. So if you are debating, don't hesitate it is well worth the money,especially at the reduced price. It arrived very quickly too.

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 03/05/2009 19:56:10

when i first got this i thought it was fantastic an brilliant value for money but now i dont think so at all, it is very easy to open even by very young children, hense the fact i now have 2 hamsters instead of 3 and also due to to fact that 1 of my hamster's managed to gnaw holes all over the house and i am having to buy a new home for 1 of my hamsters.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear customers are disappointed with a purchase from PetPlanet.co.uk. With regards to the issues raised in this review we can confirm that this product does not have child proof locks and we would like to apologise to the customer in this review for any inconvenience caused. We have also contacted the customer direct.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic product with a fantastic price!
posted on 29/04/2009 19:46:23 by karenkesterton

This is the third cage for my syrian hamster and by far the best of them all. It looks extremely stylish and my hamster has never been happier. Straight away she settled into the cage and has a lovely routine now and eats and sleeps in all the right places unlike in her other cages. At last no gnawing of bars when your trying to listen to the tv on an evening. Even the wheel is spot on, you can barely hear it and it's a good size. I'd highly recommend this cage for hamsters, a doddle to keep clean and extremely good value for money.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value and great habitat
posted on 27/04/2009 13:47:26

Our 2 chinese dwarf hamsters love this cage. We have arranged it horizontally though so the tunnels aren't too steep. We have also added the maze unit to it to make it larger. Our hamsters have no trouble at all reaching the raised feeding dish. Also excellent service from pet planet - prompt delivery 4 days incl the weekend!. Thanks.

Overall
Quality
Value
Leon's New Home
posted on 23/04/2009 19:33:24 by ajhodgson

Leon our hamster loves his new Habitrail Home. He is having great fun exploring the suite and climbing up and down and even turning mid way! in the verticle tubes. It is a fantastic home for Leon and my 5 year old son loves watching him everywhere he explores. Excellent bargain too, well worth the money. Thank you.

Overall
Quality
Value
excellent buy
posted on 22/04/2009 08:21:17 by alison-moonie

we have a gerbil, name of roary, he is our sons pet, and gets very spoiled, we find the habitrail ideal for roary, we leave his pods open and he comes and has a good nosy at us all, we have found the habitrail to be an excellent purchase and would recommend it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Hammietastic
posted on 15/04/2009 19:19:15 by Gobgas

I bought this cage for my Roborovski and i put all the tubes horozontaly so she can climb in them easily. She loves it loads and I'm saving up for loads more parts.

Overall
Quality
Value
Top cage
posted on 14/04/2009 17:40:24 by lloydmatthews

Very pleased - only down side is the wheel falling off a few times - once trapping poor Ralph in the process but he still loves it

Overall
Quality
Value
Great product.
posted on 11/04/2009 11:08:45 by beverleyproudlock

I bought the ovo hamster home at a reduced price, so it was good value and was delivered quickly. It looks interesting and the hamster appears to be comfortable. The wheel is fairly silent unlike others I've had, so it can now go back in my daughters bedroom. Bit of a pain to clean though, due to the different sections. Other than that I can't really fault it at the moment.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 09/04/2009 14:32:05

A brilliant house for hammy - many add ons etc that make it fun for hammy and my son to reconfigure every clean out time.

Overall
Quality
Value
Super value, excellent service
posted on 09/04/2009 10:53:03 by ollosito

First, the price was unbelieable! Even with shipping the two hamster cages Ovo Suite were WAY cheaper than in Denmark, IF I could even get it. Second, the shipping was very fast and everything arrived in perfect condition. Third, the service was awsome. I emailed with a few questions and got a nice, very friendly and fast reply. I'll definitely recommend Petplanet to my friends. Lone Jensen

Overall
Quality
Value
VERY GOOD BUT HAMSTER WOULD DIE OF THIRST
posted on 09/04/2009 09:11:46 by JPN

HELLO. I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE PRICE AND BUILD OF THE PRODUCT. HAMSTER LIKES THE WHEEL. INSTRUCTIONS ARE USELESS SO JUST USE THE PICTURE ON THE BOX. UNFORTUNANTELY THE WATER BOTTLE IS USELESS. I CAN'T SEE HOW THE HAMSTER CAN DRINK FROM IT, ALSO IT LEAKS DAILY AND CONSTANTLY NEEDS WIPING UP. A COMMON PROBLEM APPARENTLY.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments. We have contacted the manufacturer direct with regards to the issues raised in this review and we are pleased to confirm the issues have now been resolved.

Overall
Quality
Value
i love it
posted on 06/04/2009 17:18:11 by leentan23

fast delivery, very cheap, everything all round was great! thanx

Overall
Quality
Value
This was fantastic value and delivered really quickly
posted on 03/04/2009 17:18:28 by philburkecummins

I would definitely petplanet to anyone wishing good quality items at fantastic prices. The delivery was realy quick too.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic hamster home
posted on 30/03/2009 22:57:44 by karen-savannah

Having had the Rotostak pink palace for a number of years the Habitrail Ovo hamster home is a completely different design for our hamster but it is fantastic. You can clearly see your hamster at all times and it is such a clever design that you can take off a pod for easy cleaning and wiping out without having to take the whole thing apart. The wheel is silent which is such a Godsend when they spend so much time running in the mit is smooth running and the curved wall makes it a safer environment for them to run. We did buy the maze to give Teddy more run around room and he loves the cardboard inner, chewed it no end and another little pod so we have food in one pod and he pees in the other easy to clean, lift the little clear lid and pull out the complete bowl to wash - so easy!. I would recommend these for ease of use, to feel more involved with your hamster as they are so easy to view, they are great. The rotastak seems out of the ark now, wouldn't go back to those. The Ovo looks great, its modular and fun! We love it!

Overall
Quality
Value
Great service
posted on 27/03/2009 18:24:37 by amywhelan1

A really great item for the cheapest price I've seen. Very quick delivery. An overall great service and would recommend to all. Thank you PetPlanet!

Overall
Quality
Value
Great......... mostly!
posted on 24/03/2009 19:24:21

I have two dwarf hamsters in it so I have made it more horizontal so they can get everywhere, they love burrowing in the blue carry bit when its full of sawdust and they love looking for treats in the two mazes you can buy as an extra, the suite is great value for money, but I would say you need to spend a little bit more to make things a bit more interesting for your furry friends! The wheel inside is the only bad point really, its quite loud and I had to take it out at 3am on the first night! And don't worry it was all connected properly, so I had to buy the outside trainer wheel which isn't quite 'silent' either like they say but it is much better! Plus the plastic bit underneath collects 90% of mr hamsters no 2's for the day so it makes cleaning the cage/run so much easier! I would recommend sanding/using a knife to cut off any weird plastic bits on the wheel and that greatly reduces any noise, plus a tiny bit of virgin olive oil inside alot more safe than anything else makes it almost silent! Both wheels could be wisper quiet for some people though, I think its just my two hamsters who start and stop every 2 seconds which makes the noise, when its in motion it doesn't relaly make a sound.

Overall
Quality
Value
really good buy
posted on 22/03/2009 23:00:20 by reggiezhao

fast delivery and perfect condition. My hamster really love it and have a lot of space to play. only problem with this is the drinking bottle. it's leaking all the time so i bought a another one and fit very well.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 17/03/2009 16:58:59 by Richardpenny&imogen

super

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value, delivered quickly, well packaged.
posted on 17/03/2009 10:55:57 by emmafollett

This is certainly the most attractive hamster home on the market at the moment, it looks fantastic in my flat! I love the way it comes with everything you need and everything fits into its own place, like the food bowl, hideaway, water bottle and wheel. My hamster was at home right away. Sheís a Syrian and had no trouble climbing up the tubes which I was worried about initially because the water bottle is at the top of the tubes. Iím not sure how smaller breeds would manage though, so this is probably best for Syrian hamsters. I recommend assembling it before you bring your hamster home because when you first take all the bits out of the box it does take a while to sort out. But if you follow the instructions and persevere the first time, it is pretty quick and easy to disassmble, wash and reassemble from then on. Be careful not to force pieces in place though or they may snap. The water bottle only drips occasionally I think it's when it's over full, so maybe try filling it less than halfway, but when it does drip it gathers in the tube below and this needs wiping up whenever you see it or otherwise it mixes with hamster mess and drips down the vertical tube, which isn't pleasant! I just reach in and wipe it in the evenings when I'm playing with my hamster anyway so it's not a problem. All in all itís a bit of a bargain on here itís much more expensive in Pets at Home!, looks amazing and Syrian hamsters love it. Just make sure itís cleaned properly in all the joints etc. and keep an eye on the water bottle.

Overall
Quality
Value
Uber Cool
posted on 16/03/2009 15:28:58 by e-taverner

It looks cool and it's easy to clean, and there's plenty of room for my dwarf hamster to play. However, the long tubes that lead up the sides of the habitat to the top ball are too steep for my Chinese hamster to get up and down safely, so I had to replace them with 4 curved pieces.

Overall
Quality
Value
*SUPERB* We all love it!
posted on 12/03/2009 10:15:43 by adele11

Excellent value for money, combined with other products I also was entitled to free postage, brilliant! The hamster and ourselves love it, we can see her so clearly. The wheel is excellent too, is virtually silent so my daughter can now have it in her bedroom. It's a little fiddly to clean though but I can live with that. I would highly recommend this product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value
posted on 11/03/2009 15:58:33 by suttonsweb

Very pleased with price and speed of delivery, and also very very pleased with this home. It is our first hamster, so bear that in mind that I'm no expert, but Tilly the new hamster loves it and seems very happy. Not sure that parts of it are that easy to clean, but that is a small price to pay for the overall appearance and fun element. Would recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Service. Great product
posted on 08/03/2009 08:37:34 by TD

We ordered the Ovo Suite and the matching maze for our daughter's birthday present. On arrival, the lid of the main unit was cracked. Thanks to superb service from PetPlanet, a replacement was sent out by next day carrier, in time for my daughter's birthday. Thanks Anne. The cage is excellent and bigger than it looks in the photos. The addition of the maze gives hammy even more room to move around and explore.

Overall
Quality
Value
Out of this world!
posted on 05/03/2009 14:09:06 by samandscott

Excellent hamster cage - bigger than we expected! Had to bring all down to "ground" level as hamser too small to reach his water up in the air! and also then use the carry pod as food store as he was unable to climb to his food! Easy to put together. Can add on other bits to make more exciting! Recommended to anyone looking for a cage.

Overall
Quality
Value
Corky the hamster loves it.
posted on 03/03/2009 09:45:31

This home was very easy to make, it is easy to clean, not to mension at least £15 cheaper at Pet Planet,and Most important the hamster loves it, great fun to watch him through the colored pipes. I have had lots of great comments from friends and family regarding the modern and colouful appearance of the hamster home. Very Satisfied customer.

Overall
Quality
Value
GREAT VALUE!!!
posted on 03/03/2009 09:40:05

Very happy to be saving money on a product i have been purchasing for years, from tesco they stopped stocking it so i have shopped around. I used to buy 1kg bags every 4-5 days for £3.85 i will now be saving £31.75 by purchasing a 15kg bag from petplanet VERY HAPPY!

Overall
Quality
Value
amazing value and the hamster loves it!
posted on 17/02/2009 16:52:56 by peterandtaniaholloway

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic value!
posted on 14/02/2009 14:16:17 by pumkinpiglet

Having spent much time trying to decide on the best home for my soon-to-be new addition I finally settled on this one. It's fantastic value for money and I'm sure my new syrian hamster will love it. The assembly instructions were easy to follow and now fully constructed it feels really sturdy. Having lockable access hatches in all the rooms will certainly come in very handy. I would strongly recommend this product and use petplanet again - very swift delivery.

Overall
Quality
Value
its great
posted on 13/02/2009 21:26:50 by beth

purchased this hamster home to add on to habitrail mini our little hamster cant climb up the tunnels yet, but no problem cos you can fit them sideways too! she has umpteen little hidey holes now, the price from petplanet was masses lower than elsewhere and although we were unfortunate enough to get a cracked roof they had a new one to us within days, can't fault the service or the product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Definitely the best hamster home
posted on 28/01/2009 14:59:03

This hamster home, apart from being excellent value for money, is really the best one on the market. It is simple to put togeather, the unique locking rings are an excellent idea, and is easy to dis-assemble to clean. Access to all areas is easy yet secure. The hamster was at home and exploring as soon as she arrived, and seems very happy. I can't rate this highly enough, and have recommended it to others already. Visitors are always impressed by the hamsters space age home. Am looking to extend it already.

Overall
Quality
Value
God value, fast delivery but broken when arrived.
posted on 26/01/2009 12:41:50 by mdp06rht

I have a syrian hamster and he absolutely loves his new home. Unfortunately when it arrived the catch on the back of the main house was broken and we had to tape it up so it now cannot be used. I'm sure that if I had had the time to send it back it would have been replaced but my hamster needed a home so there was little I could do. Overall a good product and brilliant home for a hamster but I was a little dissappointed with the condition in which it arrived.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear customers are disappointed with a purchase from PetPlanet.co.uk. Please do remember that if any customer receive an item that has been damaged during transit if they contact us immediately we will resolve the matter. We have contacted the customer direct to advise that a replacement clip will be despatched to them as soon as possible and we are pleased to advise the matter is now resolved.

Overall
Quality
Value
Absolutley fantastic
posted on 23/01/2009 11:58:12 by LLOYD-D

We purchased it for our daughter's 5th birthday. She absolutely loved and so did her new hamster!!! Nearly half the price of the local petshop!

Overall
Quality
Value
My two cents
posted on 23/11/2008 12:10:18 by 2cents

I bought it coz it looked nice,easy to assemble, looked fun for the hamster. I also thought it would solve my hamster's gnawing problem. She gnaws everything but the gnaw toys. It didn't solve the gnawing problem though. And teeth on plastic sounds much more grating to the ears. I bought the maze thinking it might solve the problem too. It didn't. I hardly smell the stuff from her cage now because it's all covered up.But when I open it, pooh. And now I can't find her 'toilet'. I'm reluctant to disassemble to clean it because I don't want to put it all together again. Some parts cracked when I assembled them, which Pet Planet have kindly assured me they will replace although it has not arrived yet. The water bottle is very, very difficult to open. This morning when she gnawed and gnawed the whole thing just fell to the floor and woodshavings were everywhere. The hamster was confused but she always gets into situations like that anyhow. I'm not going to judge this product, I just want to give my two cents on it and my personal experience. She does look cute sleeping in her little cubicle though and I'm sure she loves the tunnels.

Overall
Quality
Value
great value, good postage, extra idea
posted on 15/11/2008 12:26:19 by ylimelemon

great value, hamster very happy, I also bought the maze which he especially likes because it's got compartments for him to hide in and feel more secure. Although I was told it wasn't in stock and would have to wait, i only actually waited about 4 days so

Overall
Quality
Value
good buy
posted on 13/11/2008 21:01:50 by g

It's a great looking cage, my son commented that it was like a space station. It was a lot easier to assemble that I first imagined and for 19.99 it's great value. My only issue is that the wheel has fallen off a few times already and trapped our hamster so I've had to remove it in case it happens when we aren't around and there isn't any room for a free standing wheel or anywhere to attach the old one. As for pet planet the price is excellent and the delivery was super fast!

Overall
Quality
Value
I LOVED IT
posted on 12/11/2008 10:26:15 by alan50chris50

This Habitrail is fab, so much room, so many add ons and great vale for money. Much better than the plastic wire cages, and so much easier to keep clean.

Overall
Quality
Value
i loved it but
posted on 30/10/2008 15:08:50 by andyxx

great hamster cage not suitable for dwarf hamsters please note that if you have a dwarf hamster then it maybe cannot climb up tubes mine cant climb theyrefore cannot drink water i have resolved this problem and moved it 2 bottom overall great item everywere else i looked was 39.99 but here 19.99 great value looks the works

Overall
Quality
Value
loved it
posted on 30/10/2008 14:57:46 by andyxx

hamster loves this home just cant climb up the pipes because its too small

Overall
Quality
Value
Very good value for money
posted on 29/10/2008 23:39:45 by James

Well what can I say?? It is brilliant my two dwarf hamsters Bovril and Marmite are loving it. I turned the tubes horizontally which works fine and they can go everywhere. A few negatives are that as it is NOT designed for dwarfs they could not get to the food bowl in the cage up behind the wheel so i had to get a normal one on the floor but its ok and expected. But i would NOT advise anyone put a syrian normal sized hamster in this as it is way too small in my opinion. Anyway if u are getting dwarfs get this is great and good value for money.

Overall
Quality
Value
I was just what I wanted
posted on 27/10/2008 09:29:20 by maria37

Overall
Quality
Value
Really great price, fantastic hamster house
posted on 24/10/2008 08:09:28 by carolmonaghanuk

Overall
Quality
Value
Looks good, Its inexpensive, and it does the job
posted on 16/09/2008 20:14:15

I got my ovo suite, even after looking at previous comments made by other customers about the leaking water bottle. When i filled the water bottle up it did leak a bit but only as i was tipping it to put it in its holster, after that it stopped. Over-all a really good product and excellent value!

Overall
Quality
Value
hamster paradise
posted on 13/09/2008 22:05:33 by catherine

bit difficult to put together but once you get the hang of it it's fine. Our hamster loves it and sleeps in the top pod which is great cause we can see him while he's asleep!

Overall
Quality
Value
Looked small in the online picture but much bigger than expected - Overall we are very, very impressed with this!
posted on 10/09/2008 08:08:48

We initially thought this suite was going to be too small on it's own for our syrian regular hamster, but it is much bigger than expected and a perfect size. We actually returned the Blue Maze as it would have made the whole ensemble too big! The suite is a fantastic price, it looks good - all our children's friends have 'ooohed and aaahed' at it, it is easy to clean and we can see our hammy lots more than we used to. Our hammy doesn't chew away at this housing, maybe because the suite is designed to mimick hamsters natural environment? We still give her things to knaw on though, just in case! We are waiting for some new extras to become available this autumn just to give our hammy a bit more play - ie mini maze and external wheel. Overall we are very, very impressed with this!

Overall
Quality
Value
problem
posted on 02/09/2008 23:50:02 by cfarrage

the product arrived promptly but with one of the key sides to its building missing which resulted in calls to the staff who were excellent to get the other part delivered but was over a weeks delayed in setting in the product up

Overall
Quality
Value
great product and great value
posted on 09/07/2008 13:42:00

Was very pleased with product delivery was fast and efficient will definitely use pet planet again

Overall
Quality
Value
Nice home.
posted on 20/06/2008 12:03:23

Nice looking and a great accessible home. The stairs in the back part of support for wheel aren't suitable for dwarf hamsters though - well, not ours anyway - the stairs are too rounded and too high. But these pieces can be removed. Word of caution, other add-ons for habitrail are expensive and if you are set on creating linking tunnels then you will need to spend a small fortune.

Overall
Quality
Value
Hamster Mansion!
posted on 14/06/2008 23:55:46 by a11041989

This product was great! My hamster really enjoyed the new cage. She's now got more things to do, and I'm always seeing her running up the tubes, and into the different pods. However, be careful if you open the doors. Because there are quite a few, I left one open without realising, and found the hamster in the bin near the cage! Much easier to clean than a standard cage, and it keeps the sawdust in my hamster used to kick sawdust out of the bar cage, which used to get everywhere!, and looks much fancier as well. The blue travel pod in particular is pretty useful, as it's a good mode of transport for the hamster eg to the vets, with it's handle. Because there are no bars, you might want to add something for the hamster to chew on, though. The only problem I have with it is that there isn't a lot of room to put other toys. There's always room to expand though. I added the maze cage to my hamster's cage, and took the maze section out of it, which gave her plenty of room for toys etc, separated from her cage by a tube. All in all, a very good product. PS My hamster is a young, inquisitive, average sized syrian

Overall
Quality
Value
My hamster love it ! But.....
posted on 12/06/2008 00:40:08

The design is trendy, my hamsters and my kids love it! But when it come to clean it ... take me a long time, as you need to take it all apart to clean and rebuild it each time! So at least once a week I had to repeat the whole thing. Also the water bottle keep dripping all the time, I had to wipe it dry a few time each day as my hamsters keep drinking the water on the floor instead of the water bottle. One good thing is that you can set up different home for the hamsters to explore! Fresh design each time I rebuild it after cleaning! Also the food tray place at the top is useful too! So that the hay would not get into the food tray, food stay clean all the time! Hope this infor helpful to you!

Overall
Quality
Value
this is great value for money
posted on 05/06/2008 10:01:38 by kittykat-66

this hamster cage is great as i have just got a dwarf hamster, we have had to move it round a little lowering the higher bits of the cage so cherry the hamster can run about on one level which is great for her, and very easy to put togther and to clean . me and cherry love it .

Overall
Quality
Value
Fab
posted on 01/06/2008 14:47:18

Great place for a new hamster to play!

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 31/05/2008 22:01:45

Good product at a great price. I shopped around and petplanet was the best price for this product. Only issue was the time it took for the cage to be dispatched, which was longer than expected.

Overall
Quality
Value
Its great
posted on 29/05/2008 19:20:19 by Rachel

This product is great. I've got three of them, 2 for my Syrian hamsters and 1 for my dwarf hamsters. I have it laid on the floor for my dwarf hamsters and stood up for my Syrian hamsters. Its good for dwarf hamsters as its plastic so they can't escape. This product came well packaged and super fast delivery, I ordered the product on a Tuesday night and it came on the Thursday. Excellent!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent, our new chinese hamsters love it !
posted on 29/05/2008 18:37:14

It's ideal for dwarf hamsters as you can have the runs set up horizontal aswell as vertical. I saved money too, Excellent serice - a very happy customer.

Overall
Quality
Value
wanting to know
posted on 22/05/2008 13:19:20 by ellethegerbil

i know this isn't really a review but i am looking to buy a new cage for my hamster and i would love to know the size of this product so i know if it will fit into the old cage's space. Please help

PetPlanet Says:
The main habitat measures approx 13.5" high x 13.5" wide x 7" deep. We have now updated the website to show measurements, thank you for highlighting this to us.

Overall
Quality
Value
Problem with wheel
posted on 20/05/2008 12:55:34

I had a problem with the habitrail ovo wheel. There is a clip to attach it, but when my hamster ran in wheel for first time the pin that holds wheel to clip came loose and trapped the hamster under wheel, as she is a roboroski she was not strong enough to get out so was trapped. I have had to super glue the pin into the wheel which has solved the problem, she loves her wheel now and is super quiet, just a slight design flaw I think.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here. Unfortunately, as our customer has not responded to our email, we have been unable to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value
superb price and carriage cost
posted on 15/05/2008 14:29:49

superb price and value with little or no carriage cost

Overall
Quality
Value
Looks great but not practical
posted on 14/05/2008 11:38:37 by amar.c

The Habitrail is one of the best looking cages i have seen, which is the only reason i gave it 2 stars. There are big problems though, the wheel detaches after my hamster has been on it for around a minute so i have had to glue it on. The food bowl is too high for any hamster to reach so i have had to put a separate bowl on the floor. The water keeps dripping out the container which i have to clean everyday. I would not recommend this cage to anyone, just stick with a standard hamster cage it might not look as good but it will work.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here. Unfortunately, as our customer has not responded to our email, we have been unable to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value
good but...
posted on 24/04/2008 11:29:13 by nicholapowell

beautiful cage but the hamster wheel keeps coming off, therefore when he runs in it and it comes off in the middle of the night he goes without exercise cos i'm not awake to put it back on - disappointed.

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We have arranged to send out a replacement wheel free of charge.

Overall
Quality
Value
i loved it
posted on 02/04/2008 19:51:40 by saffron wills

this is my little dwarf hamsters 3rd home. the 1st he got out of, the 2nd he couldnt reach the tubes. this is a luxury palace compared to the other 2. but instead of pointing the tubes upwards i have set them to go back and round, the hamster loves it its all on 1 level , easy to assemble and easy to clean. highly recommended...

Overall
Quality
Value
it looks great
posted on 13/12/2007 20:21:05 by claire from cheshire

it is cool and real value for money.the kids think it is ace and the quality is very good too.the hamster is loving it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

James Wellbeloved Dog Food
 
Eukanuba Puppy and Junior 7.5kg+