Online Pet Shop



Rotastak Fairground Fun 21834: Reviews

Rotastak Fairground Fun 21/834

Rotastak Fairground Fun 21/834

This unit provides the complete living environment for your hamsters, gerbil or ... RRP: £57.37 Our Price: £34.99 Save 39%
.
< Back to the Rotastak Fairground Fun 21834 Please login to write a review
fantastic
posted on 22/04/2011 16:16:08 by mikey giles

brilliant i bought this along with 2 x adventure zone and 4 x spagetti junctions to make a seriously good home for my mice thank you pet planet

Overall
Quality
Value
Great for Gerbils
posted on 11/03/2011 13:39:05 by Mr Toad

I bought this for my sons new gerbils and they absolutely love it (the gerbils that is). Quite tricky to put together, felt like I should have been on Krypton Factor! Want to make it bigger with more add on tubes now.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great cage
posted on 11/03/2011 11:19:49 by s buskell

This is a great cage for hamsters. The only down side is the tubing it can disconnect very easily if knocked.Have taken the tubing off and they still love the cage. Took quite a while to put together, the instructions were pretty unhelpful it is best to follow the picture on the box.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value for money, if a little tricky to put together!
posted on 03/03/2011 09:47:14

I bought this cage for my 5yr old sons Syrian hamster Lily. He picked it himself and I have to say after reading the previous reviews I was very apprehensive on putting it together. However, I didnt find the cage itself that difficult, I didnt go by the instructions I went by the picture on the box an it didnt take long at all, the tricky part was getting the tubing assembled. Having said that, once it was done my son absolutely loved it. The cage itself is very sturdy although I am a little unsure on the connections for the tubes, there is plenty of room inside and the wheel is very quiet. The only thing I would say is the tubes are quite narrow, and having quite a porky Syrian, she does find it a little tricky and did get stuck a couple of times at first but now seems to have got used to squeezing herself through.

Overall
Quality
Value
The most difficult contraption in the world!
posted on 28/02/2011 19:53:22 by Hamster Cage Cleaner

Now it is together, I am sure the hamsters will love it and hopefully live happily ever after! I read the reviews warning of the perils in putting it together and thought; "I'm ok at this sort of thing it won't be that bad" - I was wrong. I am not sure what the total amount of time required equated too, but suffice to say there were four adults, including a scout leader, embroiled in it before we finished! Was it worth it? Nothing is ever worth the hastle this caused.....

Overall
Quality
Value
Hard to set up but mouse loved it!
posted on 04/02/2011 16:28:44

This is one of the cheapest places Ive seen Rotastak houses and was deleivered quickly well within the estimated time. Product is good quality and my mouse absolutly loves it. However, never underestimate the reviews saying how hard it is to set up! I consider myself to be very practical but it took me a good few hours to get it all assembled, and some of the peices are quite stiff so I was really worried about breaking them whilst forcing them together. All in all deffinatly worth the effort if your pets happiness is important to you!

Overall
Quality
Value
gerbils love it
posted on 10/01/2011 16:38:43 by robbo197

My two gerbils Trixie and Dixie absolutely love this item, i am forever changing it around (plus a little extra tubing) so it is new to them whenever they are cleaned out. It is also ideal as the sand and bedding (old inners from toilet rolls, they love to tear up) does not go everywhere when they are burying and digging. Absolutely great

Overall
Quality
Value
Great so far
posted on 17/10/2010 10:59:22 by Chris Ruth n Biff

We love the cage so far! It did take two of us 2 hours to assemble - very frustrating. But we got our new 10 week old Syrian hamster Biff yesterday and within 20 minutes of being in the cage he had figured out the wheel and explored all of the tubes! Brilliant! He seems to love it. The wheel is very quiet, the tubes are a bit slippery for him but its only his first day. He seems happy. Not looking forward to cleaning, but I guess this is the same with all Rotastaks.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Fun item
posted on 31/08/2010 20:07:35 by chell-marston

I think this is great cage - not easy getting tubes together or lined up so went together. However Misty loves it and is great watching her play on different levels

Overall
Quality
Value
Good product.
posted on 26/06/2010 20:43:57 by mgchippy

good cage but instructions not the best. Hamster seems to enjoy the three levels. tubes tricky to clean unless they are taken apart,too many holes in them let all the water out when cleaning. the tubes stick out quite far so to the side making the cage take up more space than originally thought. A very good product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great item
posted on 14/06/2010 10:07:34

Great item once I put it together! getting the tubes in the right position was tricky but other than that was fine. Twiddles loves it!

Overall
Quality
Value
great price
posted on 02/06/2010 20:21:28 by tinksmate

Fab cage, fiddly to build but once built plenty of room for your hamster to explore. Tubes are a pain for cleaning but if you clean the cage section by section it takes not much longer than a "normal" cage would recomend highly

Overall
Quality
Value
Good but big.
posted on 12/05/2010 21:44:51 by tinkerbell164

This was such a great buy and would recommend this to anyone who was buying 2 hamsters. It is really big so my hamster did get lost alot

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Cage
posted on 02/05/2010 19:32:42 by lathamclan

Very fiddly to put together. Hamster loves it though, as does my daughter. The only downside is that you have to disassemble most of it to clean it properly...

Overall
Quality
Value
so much fun !!
posted on 23/04/2010 17:09:35 by l-pollard1

We bought this cage for our 6yr old daughters' first pet hamster. It was a bit fiddly to put together, and we decided to leave the stickers off so that our daughter could see the hamster more easily. The hamster, altho only 5 weeks old, has negotitaed all the tubes very successfully (even sleeping in them !!) and our daughter loves watching the hamster run up & down them.... so much fun !

Overall
Quality
Value
Good fun cage
posted on 03/04/2010 12:24:04 by jdlfc007

The hamster loves this cage and the kids love watching him. The only negative i can think of is the wheel on mine seems a bit stiff unless you pull the cap that holds it on out a bit so that the wheel is away from the cage. This then leaves you worried that the wheel can come off and the hamster would get out. Still love the cage though.

Overall
Quality
Value
fairground fun is fun
posted on 28/03/2010 22:47:50 by emma

very pleased with the speedy delivery, came next day, unfortunatley one conpartment is crack, which were not happy about. but everything else was fine, not as complicated to put together as some people said, just takes paientice as its fragile. decided to keep it all one level as jim and bob couldn't climb the virtical tubes, but they are only 6 weeks old, other than the broken piece a great buy, and once the that is resolved a great home for our hamsters. xxx

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item that has been damaged during transit we would ask them to contact us immediately in order for us to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value
my hamster loves it
posted on 05/03/2010 15:27:34 by familystanton

I got this for my hamster it is good value and the hamster loves it although did have some problem with the spiral tubing but just decided to leave it off and it still looks great

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent but...
posted on 27/02/2010 13:02:22

Excellent unit. Gerbils love and kids love watching them zipping around the tubes. However, they have started chewing the lid of the lowe cage. I wanted something deeper so that they can dig as they like to but that only allows them to reach the lid and chew through it. Other than that, excellent cage and entertaining for them and us. Bit of a fiddle to put together and a pain to clean but that's kind of expected given the style of the cage. I would still recomend this unit.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fun For Hamsters
posted on 26/02/2010 09:45:18 by tpi-ltd

Took forever to put together but together but thats half the fun for the kids. Think the hamster likes it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Very reasonable prices
posted on 12/02/2010 18:15:44

this item was delivered very fast and was a fraction of the price on the high street hamster is having lots of fun exploring the various areas will be doing business with this site again

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic home for our hamster!
posted on 27/01/2010 21:09:30

Our new syrian hamster loves this fun filled house and our two children love watching her run all around it too. It has three levels and the hamster is living a life of luxury in this house and especially likes the treat compartment on the top. I was a little concerned about the tubes but she got up them straight away and they are plenty big enough, in fact i even caught her sleeping in one of them! It is actually very easy to clean too, I found the best way was to do a level at a time, put back together and wash the tubes down with the shower head last. Now for the bad bit, the instructions are virtually useless, it took us about three hours altogether, quite frustrating as it could have been done so much quicker if the instructions were better. We found it much more help by looking at the picture on the box and did it in no time after that. Would definitely recommend this product and i would use Pet Planet again, very speedy delivery too.

Overall
Quality
Value
Perfect hamster home
posted on 21/01/2010 12:54:36 by Hayles

My hamster prefers this to every other rotastak home she has access to so thats why it gets 5 stars on everything! Was great value and very easy to put together.

Overall
Quality
Value
Nice Item but read on if you have dwarf hamsters!
posted on 20/01/2010 14:32:12 by mullyashjenny

Concerns have been voiced in previous reviews about the difficulty in putting this product together. It took us about an hour, it is quite fiddly and a bit trial and error to get the tubes all aligned right. I think anyone with a practical mind would have no major issue with it. I have two dwarf hamsters robo's They are coping with the steep tubes but I have had to purchase 2 hamster ladders for the vertical tubes. Also they can not use the wheel, it is way too stiff. This meant they did not get enough exercise and have fallen out big style!!!! so beware. I have now bought a Super Pet Silent Spinner 4.5" Mini Wheel which is free standing inside the main area and replaced the original external wheel with another water bottle. Cleaning is a bit fiddly and takes about an hour to do.

Overall
Quality
Value
A real Bargain
posted on 16/01/2010 19:14:43 by SOUTHY-SPOOKYMAGOO

Product arrived very quickly, well packaged. An unbeleivable price compared with local pet shops. Very pleased with service and the hamster loves his new home. Thanks.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value and great customer service
posted on 13/01/2010 18:35:59 by kathleen-james

Received very fast and exactly as described. The hamster loves his new home.

Overall
Quality
Value
looks great
posted on 12/01/2010 11:30:02 by kyraleighowen

look brilliant and was easier to put together than what i thought it would be its huge aswell and my hamster loved it..she also died a week later but was nothing to do with the cage..great value for money costs much more else where

Overall
Quality
Value
Bloomin 'a'
posted on 09/01/2010 17:41:58 by a-gates

easy to erect took an hour the tubes with rims join the curves with red rings once thats sorted plain sailing great value for money sparrow the hammie loves it on a down side we ordered this and got the wrong one sent i phoned and told the lady what had happend and within 24 hours our replacement was here superb service no complaints and we aim to buy more rotastak from here actually doing that after writing this. 10 stars outa 5

Overall
Quality
Value
Hamster on the run!
posted on 28/12/2009 09:22:13 by dawn80

I was a bid doubtful about this product when I was putting it together. I felt there was a lot of stress on the blue conectors for the tubes. I kept the hamster at work during the week before Christmas, just in the base unit, which was fine. Once all together at home, I found myself constantly telling my little boy to be careful with the cage. It cannot be moved easily because the tubes keep coming away from the main unit. And then this morning, Fluffy The Destroyer, was gone. Although it looks fantastic I shall have to replace it with a more simple cage. I need the peace of mind that the hamster is safe. Petplanet, your service was brilliant.

Overall
Quality
Value
Sorry its a Christmas present havn't opened it yet
posted on 14/12/2009 09:43:41 by val-atk

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value for money
posted on 11/12/2009 16:50:49 by dream-possession

The cheapest this product could be brought for.

Overall
Quality
Value
a bit tricky to put together but once it was up our hammie loved it
posted on 12/11/2009 14:35:19 by shortyhives

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 05/11/2009 17:55:25 by westyucandoit

Overall
Quality
Value
Finished Product: Amazing!
posted on 27/10/2009 10:44:30 by james-smith1995

The main sections of the cage come in sections which quickly and easily get put together. It only took 10 minutes or so to get the cage sorted, though I then went onto the tubes. The tubes took a few hours to do-Though once I had done it, it was absolutely amazing! The cage is just stunning and it really makes you proud to see how good it is after all the effort you put into making it! Also, I have 2 roborovski dwarf hamsters in the cage and, to my suprise, they managed to do the tubes straight away-I expected it to take a few days! I would recommend this to anyone, the quality is Excellent and the value for money is amazing-I saved 20 by getting it online rather than buying it from Pets at Home.

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 22/10/2009 09:49:44 by amandaboo2

although its quite testing to put together and took us about 2 hrs it was well worth it . our hammie loves this !!! i have a dwarf hamster and it did take him about 3 days to figure out how to use the pipes so dont panic if your hamster cant get up straight away he will figure it out !! i find it very easy to clean takes about 15-20 mins just make sure you remember what way you had the pipes positioned! This was great value and would recommened it ! There is so much room and things for your hamster to do and not only that but it gives me and the kids hours of enjoyment .

Overall
Quality
Value
Goodd Value
posted on 14/10/2009 18:46:02 by Verity

I feel the product was a great buy, I haven't bought any Gerbils to vacate the cage yet, but so far looks great, and well worth the money cheaper then other websites and shops I have bought cages from the rotastak range before, and have been very pleased, not only are they secure, but look amazing too :

Overall
Quality
Value
its greatt!.. and at a really good price !
posted on 08/10/2009 18:17:10 by mikki2-k-8

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value product
posted on 06/10/2009 08:49:44 by teresa-lavender

The rotastak arrived promptly and my roborovski hamsters love it. Although the top part was cracked when it arrived customer services were brilliant and a replacement arrived by middle of following week straight from manufacturer. Brilliant service. The rainbow runner wheel was too stiff for the little chaps to use but I got a wonder wheel and they go round in it for hours. Tubes are excellent as they love going up and down but mouse ladders are needed for them to make it safely. Would definitely recommend this company to everyone.

Overall
Quality
Value
Hammies love it but not very practical
posted on 08/09/2009 13:08:17 by lottybetty

I have 2 Russian Dwarfs in the cage and it's perfect size for them. I would say it is not suitable for Syrian hamsters with all the tubes and twists in the tubes they could get stuck as they are quite narrow. The cage took literally hours to build and it was very frustrating but the hammies love it, loads of interesting things to do and space to run. There is also spece to put toys and loo rolls in for them to play with. On the ground floor there is space for a decent sized house their food bowl and a toilet with plenty of space to run around. It is an absolute nightmare to clean, I can't dismantle the tubes and the hammies drag food, bedding etc into them and wee there so it gets smelly very quickly. I have to fill the bath with hot water and soak the tubes, use the shower, disinfectant and a bottle brush to try get them clean which is very time consuming. I would buy this cage again as the hammies love it but if you don't have a good couple of hours at least once a week to clean the cage get a much simpler one. Good value if you get it on sale but it is not worth the full price.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fun but Frustrating!
posted on 13/08/2009 14:02:48 by angela-richards76

I bought this cage for my syrian hamster. As I bought it in the sale at 40% off I thought it was good value but I wouldn't want to pay full price for one of these. I found it incredibly frustrating to assemble, especially the tubes. Each section comes in two halves which have to be fitted together with a rubber ring. This was very difficult to do and took me hours! In fact I am still not using the largest tube because I cannot get it to align to the holes in the cage properly. For this reason I had to order some extra bungs to plug up the holes that were not being used. The cage is really only just big enough for my syrian hamster. The wheel was also quite stiff and she couldn't make it go round. I tried oiling it with vegetable oil but eventually just took it off and put her old wheel inside the cage instead. Having said all that, she does seem happy enough in her new cage. It's just a shame that I also now have a box of leftover bits that I couldn't get to fit properly. A bit disappointing but if you can put it together then its not a bad cage overall.

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value
posted on 12/08/2009 09:09:27 by helen-l-antonelli

Good quality product which arrived quickly as promised. A little difficult to put together but I managed!

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic - Great Value
posted on 08/08/2009 11:53:23 by andy-bacon

After my son wanted a new cage for his hampster, we trawled the sites when we found the above product. Did a bit of searching and found prices ranging from 35 this site to 58.99. Never used this site before but with these savings thought i'd go for it. Ordered on a Friday, paid for next working daya and got it first thing monday. Can agree with the other reviews that very fiddly to put together. Especially the tubing. However, once mastered found it helps to gently squeeze the red rings for the tubing, you carry on fairly quickly. It's great - his hamspter loves it. And if you're worried about cleaning it once it's together I know I was, I took it apart and had cleaned whole thing within 20-30 mins. - Will be using this company again!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 30/07/2009 20:08:13 by estelle-brown

my hamster loves it although it did take awhile to put it together,with the two of us. she has plenty of excersise and loves the wheel.Have had the rotastack for a few months and thinking of extending it to give Cybil more freedom.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great fun hamster cage!
posted on 24/06/2009 20:06:52 by Coin

We got this a couple of weeks ago and our hamster, Tribble, loves it! Fast delivery, easy to use, great value as well although a little tricky to set up due to the instuctions not being totally clear. However, follow them and the image not he box and some trial and error, it's pretty easy to figure out :

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 16/06/2009 21:18:44 by paul-jane-terri

great product at a really low price, and free postage, great value

Overall
Quality
Value
Good product
posted on 21/05/2009 08:47:05 by david-m-robertson

Great product but our young hamster found it a little hard to climb the tubes. The instructions for assembly are poor. However it is good value for money.

Overall
Quality
Value
We love it!
posted on 19/05/2009 21:20:31 by tina-emery

We looked on the net, and this was the cheapest we had seen. We had read the reviews and knew it may take time putting it together. It did take us about 2 hours all together, but the hamster, the kids and visitors say "wow!" It really is great, and its made in the UK!!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
Good but...
posted on 15/04/2009 14:51:13 by lkg-4579

took ages and ages plus many people to finally put it together. It eventually took a 12 year old to put it together properly. Quite wobbly and didn't fit snuggly enough together. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price for this. But the baby Syrian hamster loves it!

Overall
Quality
Value
great!
posted on 26/01/2009 17:40:09 by sporadicmovement

excellent value, arrived in exellent time and in perfect condition!! my syrian hammy loves it to bits

Overall
Quality
Value
My hamsters love it
posted on 25/01/2009 21:29:44 by tracey

I have two Roborovski dwalf hamsters and so was a little nervous buying this product after reading some other reviews. Contrary to others claims though they have yet to escape nor can I see how they would and they have not gnawed through any pipes they come with metal anti bite ends to go on the ends that they have access to so I'm not sure how they could. I do agree that it is a nightmare to errect and can well believe others claims that it took three hours I didn't time my attempt but it certainly wasn't quick. The tubes are much harder to put together than the ones that came with my previous savic model and the quality isn't amazing with some parts being damaged by the first construction. It took my two dwalf hamsters a while around 4 days to manage to work out how to get up the tubes, which are quite steep, but since they have they've been running round all over and seem to love their new home. Overall I'm very happy with this purchase and the value for money. It's just a shame that something that could be so easily resolved making the tubes easier to construct is the biggest cause of issues.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 07/11/2008 09:22:57 by janester81

This cage is good fun, it does require alot of space as the tubes are quite long. I would not recommend this cage for dwarf hamsters unfortunately, our hamsters managed to escape through the small bars in the second unit and have never been found! They are renowned for been ascape artists and it is surprising what they can fit through.

Overall
Quality
Value
my hamster made a hole in it in under a week!
posted on 30/09/2008 17:09:41

my hamster chewed through one of the tubes within a week! this isnot because it is board or does'nt get enough exercise, I let it out in its ball most nights! I was extremly disappointed with it and have had to return my lovely pet to its old cage. I think she is disappointed too!

PetPlanet Says:
We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and have contacted this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here.

Overall
Quality
Value
great
posted on 29/09/2008 21:46:47 by phil-clarke

this was a great hamster cage. can add more to it

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Fun
posted on 29/09/2008 10:56:48 by catherine-kinsella

Fantastic cage, my daughter and her hamster love it. It took a while to put the cage together because the instructions where not very clear, however its wonderful and fantastic value.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 27/09/2008 21:12:21 by chrisdennison

Great Value and great family entertainment when we were trying to errect it. It took us about three hours to sort out the pipes, it was like somthing from the Krypton Factor! The hamster loves it though.

Overall
Quality
Value
great value,
posted on 05/09/2008 19:19:29 by lindaaston

just what we wanted and lot cheaper than argos

Overall
Quality
Value
Awesome!!!
posted on 14/08/2008 01:11:52 by wormburr702

It's so cute, and my hamster just adores it!! I recommend it %100!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
Great fun
posted on 07/04/2008 11:37:37 by healthy

My Hamster loves this home its great watching it run through the tunnels and she loves the space it gives her. The wheel is very quiet which is great.

Overall
Quality
Value
yeah
posted on 04/04/2008 17:45:26 by moihahahaha

its pretty

Overall
Quality
Value
great value, great fun
posted on 30/01/2007 12:02:17

after a lot of head scratching putting it together our hampster loves it and plays all the time in and out of the tubes,and on the wheel which is quiet when in use- BONUS)

Overall
Quality
Value
Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

James Wellbeloved Dog Food 7.5kg
 
Hill's Pet Food
 
Iams Pet Food
 
Pro Plan Pet Food