Dog Kennel Small Wooden Apex with Opening Roof by PetPlanet: Reviews

Dog Kennel: Small Wooden Apex with Opening Roof by PetPlanet

This tastefully designed Standard Apex Opening Roof ...
ON SALE! RRP: £79.99 Now: £39.99 Save 50%
** Free Delivery **
Extra Product Images
Customers' photos
.
< Back to the Dog Kennel Small Wooden Apex with Opening Roof by PetPlanet Please login to write a review
My cats love it
posted on 23/05/2014 18:23:40 by Rosie and Winnie

We bought this at Christmas for our 2 cats and they love it They can easily fit in it together and it makes a great shelter from bad weather They often prefer to sit it it in the rain rather than inside the house We have had no trouble with other cats squatting Would highly recommend for cat lovers

Overall
Quality
Value
Lovely kennel
posted on 14/04/2014 20:18:53 by Kerryfoto

I received the kennel and a section was broken I contacted customer services and they offered a solutio. It was fixable, I managed to repair it and received the discount. Really glad I attempted this as the kennel is lovely great value for money and my dog loves it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Good quality low cost
posted on 03/04/2014 20:14:57 by rachelchalkley86

Brilliant for cat dog good size and very good quality So easy to fix together

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent product
posted on 31/03/2014 23:40:25 by timbraund

Very pleased with this Great value easy to assemble and the dog loved it

Overall
Quality
Value
We love it
posted on 25/03/2014 22:49:15 by sarah

Arrived very quickly I was really impressed by the quality of the finish especially for this price My drill gave up the ghost but this was so easy to build without power tools This is a playsnooze house for my 2 kitties Coco Lulu One chunky one slim They love it The finish is fab as it is but I am going to paint it to match our summer house Tres chic We love it many thanks

Overall
Quality
Value
impressed
posted on 05/03/2014 16:51:43 by paulinecarless

Initial purchase obviously had not been quality checked as it was very poorly put together. Even when assembled it wobbled and the tongue and groove in places not matched up or had split. HOWEVER one email and it was effectively dealt with and replacement sent. Assembled with no problems whatsoever. I will have no concerns recommending this company to friends and family and will continue to use it myself THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Overall
Quality
Value
Just what i wanted
posted on 27/12/2013 17:25:42 by Rachelekemp

Its a lovely kennel yet to get my puppy to use it but i am sure she will in time and it will provide her with a lovely sanctuary in the summer

Overall
Quality
Value
Really good value for money
posted on 11/12/2013 17:01:19 by Blandy

After looking at reviews decided this was just what we needed for our two Burmese cats Have recently moved to Orkney and not many places for them to shelter in our or surrounding gardens Did think my husband who used to be a joiner would be a bit disparaging about qualitycost etc Not a bit of it he was really impressed with quality and price He said couldnt have bought wood to make it as cheaply He had job of putting together no problems instructions easy to follow and fitted together easily We would thoroughly recommend this kennel

Overall
Quality
Value
Great home for large outdoor cat
posted on 22/11/2013 07:42:24 by Cb1969

Great value and good size for a large cat he loves it We had a all issue with a broken part when it arrived however an excellent customer service team resolved the issue quickly and efficiently

Overall
Quality
Value
Splendid
posted on 29/10/2013 19:49:32 by Nik

Perfect home for a stray outdoor cat we are caring for Arrived well packaged and by speedy delivery Easy to assemble and great quality and value for money The lift top roof makes it easy to get snugglewear in without having to fight with entrance Recommended

Overall
Quality
Value
Bargain
posted on 29/10/2013 12:14:44 by Splinx

I bought this as the cats like to sit outside the cat flap surveying their kingdom but I dont like the thought of them getting cold and wet It was easy to put together and is the perfect size for two cats Looks great too The hinged roof makes it much easier to clean than the posh Katkabin I have at the end of the garden

Overall
Quality
Value
excellent looks soft material nice pray
posted on 23/10/2013 17:55:46 by george

I bought it for Roxy our beagle The size is ok and it fitted perfectly in our back yard dispatch was right on time in fact it should arrive on Monday and it was at my house in Kefalonia Greece on Friday assembling is quite easy but I have to point that the wood it is made of is really soft so when I was getting the roof panel out of the box one of the pieces of the frame broke and I had to use glue to stick it back in place Roxy loved it from the moment she saw it the problem is she started chewing on it right away so I dont know how long it will last

Overall
Quality
Value
Purrfect
posted on 22/10/2013 20:20:22 by Susan

I absolutely loved it and so does one of my cats she will not even come in on a heavy rainy night she loves being in it that much The opening is a little bit too larger for a cat but I put it towards the wall to give her more shelter The roof opening is ideal to put in bedding and checking if she is cosy Would highly recommend great price great quality and looks fantastic A

Overall
Quality
Value
Cat kennel
posted on 02/10/2013 21:52:47 by Louise

Bought in the hope of providing shelter to my 2 adult cats during the night or for when theyre waiting in the rain for me to come home After a couple of days of completely ignoring it they have both started using it all the time Had lots of compliments on the design and I particularly like the opening roof Great buy

Overall
Quality
Value
Perfect
posted on 24/04/2013 06:58:29 by kendiane

This is Excellent very easy to assemble good quality and looks good Now we have the good weather my dog uses his kennel all the time so he can keep an eye on things in the garden we will be putting his pictures on his facebook page

Overall
Quality
Value
My cat loves it
posted on 07/02/2013 13:28:01 by Rod the Hobbit

Excellent value and good quality at a bargain price as on special offer when purchased Had been looking for a small shelter for a cat who spends most of his time in the garden even if its raining and this fitted the bill It looks good when it is finally assembled even though it is hard to get the roof fitting perfectly and is pretty sturdy Would have been better if the holes had all been predrilled but with care it can be assembled without splitting the wood as some have mentioned However it is NOT easy and you could use four hands at times read the instructions very carefully and take your time A large print of the photographs is also a great help

Overall
Quality
Value
Mixed review
posted on 07/12/2012 20:24:57 by mbunning

Nice solid kennel but when put together it rocks a little so have had to put a small piece of wood under one leg It looks lovely and the cat is pleased with it but the wood started to split when screwing on the roof hinges on all four corners Still holds together but may have to repair at some stage

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 05/11/2012 23:05:29 by dbradbury38

Was surprised at the quality of the item replaced the supplied screws with A2 stainless steel screws that I have Got it as a new home for our 2 ducks and Bantam Have fitted a door for night time security Ducks love it

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value and service
posted on 12/10/2012 11:26:33 by barryandannecallagher18

Researched internet for similar products this was the best value we appreciated the good fast service and the four cats love their new home

Overall
Quality
Value
Lovely kennel
posted on 10/08/2012 13:26:59 by markjohn1

Arrived promptly Easily put together and very weather proof Perfect for what we want it for decent size for either a cat or small dog Would definitely recommend Pet Planet and this product

Overall
Quality
Value
Very good kennel
posted on 04/08/2012 07:06:18 by DAVID SHIMMINGS

Good design, good price, easy to assemble and fast delivery.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Kennel
posted on 02/08/2012 13:25:30 by CPR

A little difficult to put together as the 2 roof pieces did not match each other but a bit of DIY from my side made the two pieces match. Easy to clean. Looks good in our garden. Our miniature schnauzer puppy loves it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Bargin
posted on 02/07/2012 09:34:39 by lucyrapley

Perfect for my Beagle puppy, easy to put together

Overall
Quality
Value
does what it says
posted on 01/07/2012 15:59:25 by james348

easy to put together and well used buy our cats

Overall
Quality
Value
perfect size for my small dog
posted on 28/06/2012 17:45:27 by dianne

bought for my Tibetan spaniel because she loves being outside even when its too hot but she's terrified of the opening roof so our cat decided to claim it instead

Overall
Quality
Value
Overall pleased
posted on 20/06/2012 22:03:18 by marylockyer

A bit tricky to put togethersome splits appeared in wood when screwing bits togetherI bought it for a cat semi feral stray but she hasnt used it yet even with the comfy vet pad I purchased as well but feel that she will in timeWould I buy it againyes its a nice size and good enough for its purpose

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent product
posted on 29/05/2012 21:45:39 by S Griffiths

Very happy with the kennel my cat loves it Quite easy to assemble and represents very good value for money

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellence all Round
posted on 25/05/2012 08:33:17 by alanmartinball

I bought this product for a cat hoping it would suffice In fact it is unbelievable value for money and only a little bit tricky to put together A must to recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
good product great price
posted on 24/05/2012 15:04:23 by beachy7312

Good product great price put together very easy to be honest not that there was anything wrong with them i ditched provided screws and used my own. Only used as a hide for daytime but My jack russel 10kg loves it open top roof is a blessing for cleaning etc

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic value
posted on 21/05/2012 20:15:23 by ghc

Having searched the internet and being surprised at the prices some companies are charging decided to take the plunge and buy this. Excellent value for money I love how you can open up the roof so its easy to clean/empty of toys etc Customer service second to none I got a phone call to see if I would accept as it was damaged even offered me a discount so very pleased indeed

Overall
Quality
Value
Disappointed
posted on 20/05/2012 01:52:41 by chy

I have to say Im not over the moon with this item The wood had splits and chipped bits all over and I have several cuts and scrapes from putting it together There were no pilot holes which made things very tricky especially when trying to attach the roof parts and it was extremely frustrating trying to figure out where to attach the folding hinge brackets Then there is the problem of the green stuff on the roof coming off A LOT I was also surprised to see that the base of the kennel had such big gaps between the slats for an outside kennel I had to put in a lot of bedding into it to make it a warm place for my cats It was also A LOT smaller than it seems in the photos and I think too small for the price Im not 100 sure but I think the measurements of the width and depth are taken from the roof which is larger than the actual floor space of the kennel To be honest if I didnt desperately need it for my cats then I would have returned it

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0728 in order for us to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value
Brambles loves it
posted on 27/04/2012 22:03:37 by bailey

I bought this for my cat brambles i had the kennel erected inside my summerhouse elevated on a bench with a spare cat bed inside the kennel Wow both my cats fight over who gets through the cat flap the quickest to get inside the cosy kennel the fact that i have it elevated makes all the difference as which ever cat is in the kennel can see the outside world to make sure no other cat is invading their territory The construction of the kennel is very well made definitely excellent value for money i like the fact that i can open the apex to place the cat bed inside rather than struggling through the opening it is also a very good size inside for turning around i showed a work colleague the kennel and she too bought one for her cat 100% recommended to anyone thinking of buying this kennel

Overall
Quality
Value
jack the cat loves
posted on 25/04/2012 20:52:44 by brihewitt1

Jack loves his new home as we are at work he happily stay out all night and day whilst we are at work tucked up warm and cosy It was easy to build and has his name over the entrance

Overall
Quality
Value
Good VFM but let down by quality
posted on 16/04/2012 21:48:24 by shopping210

Quite pleased in the end but it was a bit tricky to assemble for two reasons Firstly there are no guide holes marked for assembling the side walls to the end walls so you have to guess what the best position might be Secondly where the roof hinges attach to the side walls the wood had not been glued properly so it fell apart I managed to fix it with a few screws and some glue of my own but I would have preferred not to have to do this

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If any customer receives an item they are not totally satisfied with we would ask them to contact a member of our customer service team on 0845 345 0723 in order for us to resolve the matter.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great kennel
posted on 14/04/2012 11:21:04 by Toria

Got this for my sons westies who love being out in the garden It was easy to put together with help from daughter When made up it fitted easy into back of car love the idea of the roof as it makes it easy to clean out

Overall
Quality
Value
Value for Money
posted on 27/03/2012 14:12:52 by tommycosh

Bought this for our 2 cats who constantly sleep outside at night it keeps them out of the winds and rain Good quality kennel solid construction Easy to put together Only bad point when attaching roof the strips of edging came away where the hinges are fixed

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value for money
posted on 21/03/2012 19:56:42 by loopy1965

Easy to build could have had pre drilled pilot holes for fixing front and back panels but apart from that very satisfied with kennel

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value
posted on 14/02/2012 19:08:13

Good value for money and easy to assemble Just take care to line up the sides accurately with the front and back panels in order to get a snug fit There was no written instruction as to this point but close inspection of the pictures contained in the instructions helps with this

Overall
Quality
Value
Purrfect
posted on 08/01/2012 15:40:34 by Di

Bought for our rescue cat who insists on being outside in all weathers she can now view the world whilst keeping warm and dry at the same time More cats should have one

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value
posted on 28/12/2011 22:01:55 by briancampbell691

Fantastic quality product

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Quality for a Great Price
posted on 13/12/2011 09:30:41 by vampyra

Good quality kennel solid construction Easy to put together Only bad point when attaching roof the strips of edging came away where the hinges are fixed Easily recified by screwing them back on near to hinges Overall Great Product I would certainly recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
excellent value
posted on 02/12/2011 10:06:44 by Glen

the small Kennel arrived within 3 days of ordering It was of good quality and good value for the money and was on special offer The only problem was that the roof took some time to fit as the cut out places for the lift up roof was in the wrong place for the hinges and needed some adjustment

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 29/11/2011 19:50:31 by Suz03

I bought this kennel for my Pug and he loves it A great size for him to snuggle in and keep warm I would recommend especially for the smaller breeds

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value
posted on 24/11/2011 19:10:16 by Ruby

This product is excellent value for money As a not exactly experienced DIY gal it took me quite a while longer to put it together thsn suggested by other reveiwers especially as I had to redrill several of the holes I and my miniature schnauzer are however delighted with the finished product

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant
posted on 22/11/2011 19:58:53 by Cat lovers

Bought this for our two cats the build quality is excellent and the opening roof is a godsend for changing their bedding Made the opening a little smaller to cut down on draughts All round an excellent product and would definitely recommend

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 10/11/2011 09:46:50 by MadMaxPep

My Cat loves it i just need 2 more now as i have 3 cats

Overall
Quality
Value
does exactly what it says
posted on 04/11/2011 17:37:23 by cadgrips20

We are using it to house our catgenie loo for our bengals on our roof terrace It was easy to install and because we can open the roof of the kennel it is perfect for maintaining the catgenie

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent quality service
posted on 07/10/2011 19:42:50 by Tonythetaff

This arrived quickly was easily assembled and is very good quality.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Product
posted on 05/10/2011 18:30:08 by marion

Bought this as an outdoor shelter for my cats This was immediatly taken over by my outdoor cat who also has her own bed in our shedI think shes the BOSS

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent Value
posted on 26/09/2011 19:51:50 by Breretons

Bought this for a cat easy to build and an ideal size Excellent product at an excellent price

Overall
Quality
Value
Not the easiest to put together
posted on 25/09/2011 10:26:06 by Martin

On putting the dog kennel together I believe pilot holes in the side panels would have helped. The other problem I came across was when fitting the roof; the hinges were not on the roof in the correct place and they did not line up to the side panels. I had to remove from the roof and reposition.

Overall
Quality
Value
Happy cat
posted on 20/09/2011 18:02:27 by Kevin

We needed outdoor cover for a recently arrived stray cat which our own cat Bobby has taken an instant dislike to The kennel was easily put together and is safe cosy and in constant use

Overall
Quality
Value
Great value
posted on 10/09/2011 15:45:03 by bredagriffiths

I bought this for my two cats to live in outside It was simple to put together and is exactly what I wanted as they are 17 years old and it keeps them snug warm and dry

Overall
Quality
Value
Perfect
posted on 07/09/2011 13:09:10 by Calcondan

We bought this for our cat We live near woods and he is a born hunter and he likes to bring home his friends he catches for us to meet so now he has his own home to entertain in and save my wife from a sore throat from all the screaming

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent
posted on 31/08/2011 19:54:41 by Sue

Thank you so much the cats love their new home It took very little time to put it together and the wood smelt beautiful Many thanks again Sue

Overall
Quality
Value
Good Value
posted on 29/08/2011 10:09:32 by paulnixon001

Ideal for my cairn terrier and she appears to love it. A little fiddly to put together, could have done with two people but otherwise no complaints.

Overall
Quality
Value
Just what I was looking for
posted on 20/08/2011 11:40:13 by Bea

I purchased this kennel for my three cats and it is a perfect size for them. I found it took two pairs of hands to assemble but actually took little time to do once I had some help. It is so easy to clean and it does not take up too much space in my garden. I bought it at a reduced price and found it good value for money. The only thing I was disappointed with is the finish on the roof but that is purely cosmetic. I would recommend this kennel for a very small dog or cats.

Overall
Quality
Value
quality kennel
posted on 09/04/2011 09:46:43 by Jay

Very well made sturdy kennel, bit smaller than i expected, but just about big enough for my westie. Also super fast A.M delivery as i requested.

Overall
Quality
Value
Lovely sturdy kennel
posted on 04/04/2011 20:40:21 by daydream23

I have no expertise at diy, but I put it together without much trouble - could have done with an extra hand for the screws in the roof - but other than that it was remarkably easy and the finished product looks very professional, solid and attractive.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent value for money
posted on 11/03/2011 12:06:53 by iwalley

Well made, easy to assemble - good value for money. Excellent product and service.

Overall
Quality
Value
great little kennel
posted on 04/03/2011 19:17:50 by suey

Took me longer than 15 minutes to assemble as some of the holes for the screws were not aligned properly, but it was not too big a problem. very pleased with the finished product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Tortoise House
posted on 02/03/2011 20:53:14 by Jackie. Kent.

I'm sure when our tortoise awakes from his hibernation he will love his new home. Will send a picture in due course.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value!
posted on 21/02/2011 16:06:28 by davecandaprilm742

Very easy to assemble about 15 mins, lovely kennel great value very sturdy too, All thats left is the name tag (Jacks Pad).

Overall
Quality
Value
Good Value!
posted on 31/07/2010 23:43:59 by Oriental Cat Lover.

It is a lovely little kennel and very sturdy too. It was easy to assemble. Both my cats love it. I bought it for them, so they have somewhere dry to go when it rains if we are out.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic!!
posted on 24/06/2010 15:09:11 by clairedgb

Superb little kennel, just what we needed for our outside tortoise house!! Just need to explain that to our cat...or will need to get another for her! Very easy to put together even my husband could manage it!

Overall
Quality
Value
Small kennel ideal for my Scottie.
posted on 21/06/2010 09:50:40 by Pam

Ideal size for what I wanted. Easy to assemble. I like the opening roof so you can clean it out when needed. My liitle dog was fast asleep in it the other day when it rained.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 05/06/2010 16:53:57

It is a perfect size for our dog. He loves it . It was easy to assemble. Would recommend this

Overall
Quality
Value
Just what we wanted
posted on 05/06/2010 12:08:20 by Megan

Took a little longer than expected to come. When arrived though just what we wanted and easy to make up. Just need to get Megan (our dog) to use it now.

Overall
Quality
Value
its fantastic
posted on 04/06/2010 19:58:17 by robertsjohn67

it is for the cat we had him 2 years he is sleeping in it now and it was good value for money ok thank you

Overall
Quality
Value
My cat loves it !!!
posted on 09/02/2010 20:35:13 by hilarylacey

We bought the kennel for our spoilt cat, and he loves it, and we suspect a couple of other cats in the area. We are delighted with our purchase, and my husband found it easy to build. We would fuy reccomend.

Overall
Quality
Value
good value
posted on 20/01/2010 10:15:25

I have a lhasa apso and this kennel is the perfect size. Nice structure, i like the fact the floor is raised. Quite easy to put together, and looks nice in the garden. Definitely good for the money x

Overall
Quality
Value
looks nice but construction was difficult
posted on 13/01/2010 08:34:09

Looks nice but was difficult to put together, quality was not great and am not sure how long it will last. But it was cheaper than most of the others and you get what you pay for

Overall
Quality
Value
This was great value for money
posted on 08/01/2010 13:31:45 by degaz5

I was very impressed with this product from delivery to the assembly of the kennel well worth the money.

Overall
Quality
Value
Very Happy
posted on 28/12/2009 17:37:45 by xrebeccalil

The kennel was easy to assemble,with not too many pieces to put together. Done in about 20 minutes It's good quality, and should last for ages.

Overall
Quality
Value
Perfect for our needs
posted on 15/12/2009 23:43:14

We have a very fussy pussycat who will not use the garden in wet weather and had started leaving a mess in the house. Rather than continually punish the cat, I looked for a litter tray which we could keep outside. I wanted something which would keep the litter dry, accommodate a normal litter tray, and allow for easy changing/cleaning. This small dog kennel looks great and blends in with the garden. However, the opening roof is the feature which made me buy it. I can open the roof up and replace the litter tray so easily. I can't imagine a better solution.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fabulous quality unbelievable value
posted on 13/12/2009 08:57:30

This item was delivered to us the very next day, it is of exceptional quality and very easy to assemble It took just 10 minutes! I am very pleased, so is my little dog who now has a lovely cosy hideaway when he goes outside.

Overall
Quality
Value
Lovely little kennel!
posted on 11/12/2009 08:47:16 by lcpousada

The kennel is actually for my little cat! It's very well put together and nice to look at - and my cat uses it every day!

Overall
Quality
Value
Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

 
Hill's Science Plan Perfect Weight