Adaptil DAP PlugIn Diffuser with 48ml Vial: Reviews

Adaptil DAP Plug-In Diffuser with 48ml Vial

Adaptil DAP Plug-In Diffuser with 48ml Vial

Formerly known as DAP Diffuser, the Adaptil Dog Appeasing Pheromone ...
RRP: £33.99 Our Price: £20.39 Save 40%
.
< Back to the Adaptil DAP PlugIn Diffuser with 48ml Vial Please login to write a review
Great calming product
posted on 22/10/2014 10:07:12 by greyhoundkyra

I bought the DAP diffuser because some of my dogs are afraid of fireworks and as they are already being set off it has helped to keep them calm and relaxedit really does work for any times of stress and upset and covers a wide area room with no smelljust plugs in

Overall
Quality
Value
glad i bought it
posted on 20/12/2013 22:38:16 by Marianne

First time user so apprehensive thinking no chance will this have an effect But to my surprise within a couple of days she changed her behaviour fantastic Great value for the record I have a big softie 3yr old Rottiweiler who really doesnt like the long dark nights making us feeling guilty for leaving to go to work Really calmed her her down

Overall
Quality
Value
DAP Plugin
posted on 28/10/2013 15:07:38 by Geordietyke

Have to admit I was hoping for miracles with this product after reading some good reviews Unfortunately after 3 weeks of constant use it seems not to have had any effect on my new puppy He gets very stressed when I leave him alone and product has not helped in that respect so far

Overall
Quality
Value
It worked
posted on 16/11/2012 23:38:39 by davemac

It took away the stress my dog has with fireworks not completely but enough for it not to be a problem with new year festivities coming up I will keep it plugged in

Overall
Quality
Value
Seemed to work
posted on 08/11/2012 19:33:04 by dianedavies1

I bought this in preparation for Bonfire Night I have to say that none of my 3 dogs were disturbed by the fireworks This could of course have been because I kept a television on in the room but I do feel that they were a bit more relaxed than usual

Overall
Quality
Value
DAP Collar
posted on 23/10/2012 21:48:29 by kjpattenden

I know there are cynics but the response to fireworks is much less when I use the collar and diffiser which is better than doping the dog for these events Try it

Overall
Quality
Value
Good product
posted on 14/12/2011 19:10:08 by coupenic

Very good value for money much cheaper than if bought from vets

Overall
Quality
Value
Not sure it works
posted on 03/11/2011 09:04:52 by stperrys

Bought this product as I have a very nervous greyhound who has a bit of a breakdown when the firework season starts and another dog who spends the whole night barking at every bang But as we have a fairly large kitchen and use the backdoor to let the dogs in and out havent really seen much difference as yet Think it may be diluted due to opening door all the time for the ins and outs But worth a try in a smaller room Also bought the valerian which does seem to calm them down quite sleepy but not when the fireworks are banging

Overall
Quality
Value
Replacing Diffuser
posted on 02/11/2011 13:27:10 by FreyasMum

I had been using the same diffuser for years just replacing the refill I noticed this year that the recommendation is to replace the diffuser after 6 refills It could explain why it seemed less useful last year Were now making the utility room a really safe haven Nov 5th will be the real test

Overall
Quality
Value
my dog loves it
posted on 13/10/2011 08:33:10 by M Gale

I have a cocker spaniel who is terrified of fireworks this product really calms him down and makes the firework season more bearable for him

Overall
Quality
Value
friend requested it
posted on 23/08/2011 21:57:50 by keely donald

I bought this on advice of my friend and I wasn't sure that it would work however I needed something as my dog was really nervous about moving house. It worked like a charm and made my dog sooooo relaxed and stress free would recommend it for ALL dogs.

Overall
Quality
Value
The Jury is still out
posted on 10/08/2011 11:45:57 by polly26

At first it seemed to have calmed the dogs down making them more sleepy and less inclined to bark or play up The issue for us was that whenever we are at home we leave the french doors open to the garden and so there is plenty of fresh air circulating but inturn this seems to weaken adaptil and it becomes ineffective In essence if the dog is in one room all the time then it seems to have an effect In our case with the outside doors been open it does not seem to have an effect Consider carefully before you buy this product

Overall
Quality
Value
Good value
posted on 09/08/2011 22:37:33 by Minnie

I am using this in conjuction with an anti bark collar for my very excitable Jack Russell so far he does appear to be much calmer and is not constantly running around now

Overall
Quality
Value
Great product highly recommend
posted on 19/03/2011 13:22:06 by Lara T

Our 12 month old Bichon, Billy, doesnt cope too well at being left alone (only a max of 2-3 hours at a time) so we thought wed give this a try. After a couple of weeks hes much more relaxed when we go out & come home its great! We also have a couple of challenges coming up; moving house in April & expecting twins in May so well continue using DAP & hope Billy will continue to be a great little dog & friend!!

Overall
Quality
Value
It Works!!!
posted on 06/01/2011 19:07:52 by Mogra

I bought this product for my daughter-in-law's dog who was very highly strung.I had always bought the Fellway diffuser for my cats and it worked a treat.I saw this product for dogs and thought she should try it. She cannot believe the difference in her dog.She is so much calmer and more relaxed (the dog) and my daughter-in-law is delighted she would highly recommend this product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Overall very good
posted on 20/10/2010 18:29:14 by Brona1986

I have had this product on for 2 weeks now and it has calmed my dog down especially with the fireworks, we used to have to give him natural calming tablets to keep him calm but this works just as well. We have had to use the tablets when there is a lot of fireworks or it is very loud but the diffuser does exactly what it says it will. I am definately going to keep using this product!

Overall
Quality
Value
It certainly does help!
posted on 20/10/2010 11:40:02 by The Tome Raider

I have and ex-racing greyhound who suffers from separation anxiety, just like another reviewer. I bought my dog a DAP Diffuser and kept it going whilst I was out. When I came back, she was calmer, but was still whining and unhappy. Later, she hurt her paw and I turned the diffuser on. Again, she seemed calmer, but not completely quiet. The Diffuser, if used together with the Bach Flower Rescue Remedy, does, however, seem to work extremely well and I would recommend this combination.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Product
posted on 31/08/2010 09:13:50 by julie237

I bought this to help calm down my greyhound. She's an ex-racer and when I got her she developed seperation anxiety quickly. This product has really helped calm her and her barking/whining is now much less than it was.

Overall
Quality
Value
Works!
posted on 30/06/2010 16:45:35

It seems to have worked on my hyper cocker spaniel! Which means he can cope with being left for the odd couple of hours here and there.

Overall
Quality
Value
This appears to really work!
posted on 21/05/2010 11:14:44 by ellen

We got a puppy a few weeks ago and our 6 year old dog started to wee whenever we went out - even for half an hour. Since we got the DAP Diffuser The adult dog has gone back to being her usual clean self and she is quiet and calm when we come home. It also seems to have stopped the pup's barking when we leave her.

Overall
Quality
Value
Didn't work for me
posted on 27/04/2010 19:28:33 by cg

I got this to help when my puppy is left on his own but it appears not to have worked. I think it is because it is trying to cover a whole room. I have used the spray version to help with car travel and that seems to work really well.

Overall
Quality
Value
Getting there ...!
posted on 26/04/2010 09:27:09 by tracygibbon

I was advised by the Animal Behaviour Centre in Manchester to get a DAPS Diffuser as my dog is three, very nervy and with a marked reluctance to grooming . It seems to be working well, it's been plugged in constantly for two weeks and Alfie seems a lot less stressed and will even be brushed and combed now without too much complaint. Great advice and great product

Overall
Quality
Value
Hard to tell...
posted on 23/03/2010 08:57:36 by Chip Jenkins

I plugged this in 2 days before my pup arrived, yet this did not stop the normal 'new home' distress in the night-time. The only thing that had proved calming has been putting a ticking clock in with a hot water bottle on the 2nd night to calm the new pup. I had read much about how amazing this product is meant to be on the internet. However, I think that for the price this is expensive for me personally as a pet owner. Good old fashioned love and reassurance has worked better I am afraid :-

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments. We can confirm that the DAP diffuser can take time to work and that you may not see any effects straight away.

Overall
Quality
Value
brill
posted on 01/02/2010 16:27:15 by matthewson744

after neighbours complaining that my dogs started howling, i thought i would try the dap diffuser, what a difference. Calmed dogs down almost straight away, they seemed much more at rest and less stressed out. Would highly recommend.

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 28/01/2010 15:35:40 by jayne-stott1

In the vets the diffuser was double the price. We bought it to settle in new pup and it appears to be working as previously she wasn't settling at night, now she is.

Overall
Quality
Value
mixed feelings!
posted on 14/01/2010 18:22:07

Seemed to work on first day to calm a very hyper puppy but by second day only worked when he was right by the diffuser so not sure about the distance it claims! However has definitely has an effect in the room where it is plugged in!

Overall
Quality
Value
mmm!
posted on 11/01/2010 13:16:30 by piorkowska-bears

this was the last resort to calm one of my dogs down,sadly it didn't have much effect,but i suppose all dogs are different and i would recomend any one to try anything once.

Overall
Quality
Value
really helped
posted on 04/12/2009 21:47:37

my dog is a lot more relaxed and happy

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent service
posted on 30/11/2009 12:13:44 by jtwinkle

Can't fault pet planet, always fast service, and very pleased with the products ive had from them!

Overall
Quality
Value
great value
posted on 12/11/2009 18:03:50

great product great value thanks works well would recommend it as a stress relief

Overall
Quality
Value
no clear change in dog's behaviour yet
posted on 10/11/2009 11:09:02 by joywillberg

There doesn't seem to be a clear change in my dogs' hyper behaviour as yet. I am still waiting!!

Overall
Quality
Value
A great help
posted on 10/11/2009 09:07:16 by elaine-r-smith2006

Have a 20 month old Ridgeback who is full of energy. It seemed to calm him a little, difficult to tell somtimes though !

Overall
Quality
Value
Great Value
posted on 03/11/2009 03:16:33 by andrew-hill1

I Have a nervous collie found this product was a great help and better value than my local Vets

Overall
Quality
Value
excellent value - the best price I found for this product
posted on 27/10/2009 20:44:29 by chrisnmist

I ordered this product on the recommendation of Dogs Trust and my vet. Having adopted my 2 year old sprollie dog from Dogs Trust I found that she suffered from anxiety, particularly when left alone. I have used this product for 3 weeks now, in conjunction with a herbal remedy to treat the anxiety. By the 3 week stage, the dog is now much more settled and is calm when I return to the house after leaving her. She was drooling and licking herself excessively - to the point where she made her paws bleed. She has stopped this completely now.

Overall
Quality
Value
Useful I think
posted on 24/10/2009 08:42:50 by Margaret B

Not too sure about this as I have had it in use since before I collected Bonnie so I cannot tell if she would have been unsettled without it but she has settled fairly well.

Overall
Quality
Value
works wonders !
posted on 21/10/2009 21:53:08

my 11 year old dog started barking when being left at home, since using the diffuser she has been a lot quieter. touch wood !

Overall
Quality
Value
Just what I needed !!
posted on 05/09/2009 18:30:24 by burr1

it seems to have worked and my hyperactive staffie does seem slightly calmer.

Overall
Quality
Value
Seems to work wonders 'Brodie' my Old Dog is calm again
posted on 17/08/2009 17:51:13

The Dog appeasing Pheromone was recommended by my Vet when my old 15 years olddog started to become anxious. It was very expensive from him so I Goggled D.A.P and found PetPlanet, I ordered the diffuser without hesitation when I saw how much cheaper it was from petplanet compared to my Vet. My old dog has not had a panic attack in over a week and we are very happy. I and can honestly say that in my experience the expense of the D.A.P is worth every penny and has helped my dog and I immensely

Overall
Quality
Value
very happy puppy
posted on 12/08/2009 09:30:07 by Syd

At first I was sceptical about this, but used today for the first time, when leaving him in his cage alone I have a camera link, so I can monitor him from work, he's only had a few whimpers and went to sleep compared to the constant barking the day before

Overall
Quality
Value
Tried and tested
posted on 11/08/2009 08:24:46

I have used this before and it worked then and its working now! Its aproduct I would recommend for dogs with nervous problems or hyper.

Overall
Quality
Value
THIS WORKED
posted on 30/06/2009 15:49:21

My 10 year old collie suddenly started acting crazy, already cowardly he became scared of everything and spent the night running round the house terrified, I started with the diffuser and also a valerian tablet at bedtime and within a couple of nights he was back to normal although he still won't settle if it's windy.

Overall
Quality
Value
Not sure
posted on 12/06/2009 23:12:12 by PinkyPrincess

I'm really not sure about this product yet. After reading reviews I did have high hopes, but I guess I wanted a miracle that would turn my hyper active beagle puppy into a placid calm sleep monster. That hasn't happened and he does still have his moments of biting and barking behaviour but perhaps he does settle a little more easily. It's difficult to attribute this to the DAP rather than him growing up a bit though. All in all I would say it's quite difficult to assess but I'm glad we tried it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Goods received quickly and all as described
posted on 29/04/2009 19:38:51 by maggsandtedasher

Overall
Quality
Value
Really works
posted on 29/03/2009 21:14:31

We had 3 sleepless nights with our new puppy a friend recommended this, thought I'd try it, the first night it was used our puppy slept all night!

Overall
Quality
Value
Seemed to do the trick
posted on 24/02/2009 14:11:18 by abbietart

I bought this as i have just rehomed a 1yr old dog and he seemed a bit stressy on his own for the first day when i went back to work so i plugged this in for him for the next few days and when i got in he seemed a lot more chilled out and to be honest i havent used it since but it seemed to help in getting him settled in his new home and hes been no bother since so yes id say worth a go!

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 18/02/2009 09:28:42

Hard to know if it worked or not but I used this with my puppy when I was first crating her for the whole night and leaving her during the day at first. She seemed to take to both quite well - whether she's a very good dog or this helped maybe a bit of both!

Overall
Quality
Value
Works with Fireworks
posted on 14/02/2009 18:22:42 by DaisyMay

This stuff worked on our collie when fireworks went off for the New Year, instead of barking as each one went off he just sat and watched.

Overall
Quality
Value
helped to calm
posted on 14/11/2008 09:21:38

seemed to help keep our retriever calm during firework season but think it needs to be used 2/3 weeks before for best results

Overall
Quality
Value
Useful gadget
posted on 13/11/2008 11:07:35

We used this in conjunction with mild sedatives provided by the vet. The combination seemed to work for our two collie crosses, 3yrs old and 18 months old. We only needed this for the week before and after bonfire night, and it works. Do not recomend that these be left on for a long time, a couple of hours before hand is ok..BUT REMEMBER TO SWITCH OFF BEFORE BED TIME OR LEAVING THE HOUSE...the reason I say this is because they are similar in design to the plug in fragrance dispensers, and those have known to cause fires.

Overall
Quality
Value
DAP Diffuser
posted on 12/11/2008 12:22:50 by outandabout45

Well it's plugged in and has been for a week I think. Both dogs seem a bit calmer but difficult to tell at this stage. I'm going to stick with it for the 3 months that's recommended. Very easy to use.

Overall
Quality
Value
Worked far better than I expected
posted on 12/11/2008 08:52:08 by stephen-baulcomb

This worked very well my Labrador was terrified of fireworks but did not bother him unless they were very close and eceptional loud - I would recommend it

Overall
Quality
Value
Liked it
posted on 10/11/2008 19:07:23 by eleanor14

I was concerned that pup was arriving on Halloween and his first week with us would be around bonfire night - as if leaving his mum wasn't enough. I bought this after reading a number of reviews. I certainly think it helped him settle in to his new home

Overall
Quality
Value
Appears to be helping
posted on 10/11/2008 11:24:58 by julie-mulligan

Bought this for my parents' 4 year old Lhasapoo, who gets stressed everytime they leave the house or when there are loud winds etc. Although he was still spooked by the recent fireworks, he does appear to be calmer and more relaxed since using the plug-in.

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 22/10/2008 11:47:12

Overall
Quality
Value
very good value money well spent
posted on 21/10/2008 16:37:08 by rogerroger

excellent company to do business with thank you very much for your prompt service

Overall
Quality
Value
good buy
posted on 17/10/2008 19:49:51 by Beccy Foss

Was a bit unsure but definitely makes them more relaxed the odd firework going off still can stress him but a lot easier to calm down, quicker de stress time

Overall
Quality
Value
Great service!
posted on 25/09/2008 21:45:28

Ive bought the DAP diffuser in preparation for Bonfire Season coming up as my minature poodle Charlie gets very stressed and it was the vet who suggested giving it a try.Will let you know if it works!!

Overall
Quality
Value
it really works
posted on 04/08/2008 20:51:03 by lisa@newtland

this has really helped to settle my new puppy in to his new home very well.

Overall
Quality
Value
seems to work
posted on 25/07/2008 06:10:54 by oodiebird

Bought the dap diffuser together with a refill as it was a good special offer. I have a 5 month old Hungarian pumi,an unusual breed of dog. These can be notorious for barking and can also be quite excitable due to their nature as a herding dog. Since using the diffuser he seems to be much calmer and quieter. Gives me a lie in now instead of wanting to be up at 4 a.m! Also I use the diffuser in conjuction with a dap collar, so really only use the diffuser at intervals but don't leave it switched on all day. One thing I did notice, which did worry me a little bit is that the diffuser does tend to get quite warm when switched on for long periods but I know that this is the same for air freshener diffusers so i would advise anyone who buys one to check it regularly if they are using one for a long period of time

Overall
Quality
Value
This product does work - you just don't need to have it plugged in all the time!
posted on 01/07/2008 22:49:31 by Janette

My parent's own a sheltie collie 7yrs and she is particularly sensitive to noise so living in London from mid Oct to early Dec was a nightmare with all the fireworks. She was a complete nervous wreck and we honestly didn't think that we would be able to keep her. I read the reviews about this product and thought what the heck we will give it a try. The first time we plug it in she smelt the scent and didn't like it. What we have learn is that plugging it in for 5 mins or so is sufficient for an evenings fireworks. We now take it everywhere and she is a different dog - much more relaxed - chilled. We travelled back from Ireland after Christmas last year on the ferry - it was a particularly rough sailing. We put a little of the liquid on a tissue and left it inside the car but not close to her. When we docked, she was calm and relaxed. So try it - it is definitely worth it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Worth a try
posted on 24/02/2008 17:55:29 by Pepperpie

We used it for our crazy cocker spaniel pup. It didn't work as an instant miracle cure but seemed to take the edge off the anxious behaviour. I only really noticed the difference about three weeks later when I accidently switched it off because she became agitated and excessive again. I don't think it will solve emotional problems but it does help.

Overall
Quality
Value
Sadly did Not Work
posted on 03/02/2008 19:18:28

The first time I used this my pup kept me up all night banging on the kitchen door, never had a problem with her before it seemed to unsettle her so not used it since. I got it as she was going to stay with my parents whilst we went on holiday so I thought it would help her to settle at night, glad I tried it first!!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
Didn't work for my Dog
posted on 28/08/2007 19:23:48

I bought this as I had heard it was an effective product, but it failed to work on my 1 year old Rescue Dog. I have had it plugged in night & day for 2 weeks now & for me it has made no difference.

Overall
Quality
Value
Thank you for this product!!!!!!!!!!
posted on 09/02/2007 22:34:00 by Ambers mum

I first seen this product on Petplanet when I first got my Dalmatian and I was sceptical as to whether it would work but after a week of consistant barking and crying when left alone, toileting all over my house and shredding my shoes to bits when I was out doing the daily shop I thought it was time to give it a try. I plugged it in before I left for my daily shop and on returning all was quiet, at first thought I imagined my dog had maybe made a bungee escape out one of my windows but on returning I found her curled up aslep in her bed very relaxed, shoes still intacted and no accidents in the house. I was so amazed that I had to call my husband at work and tell him how good this product had worked, it's amazing. I make sure I always have it plugged in any time I leave the house. I encourage anyone with similar problems to try it, you will be amazed. A miracle product.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent Product
posted on 03/02/2007 18:38:45 by Mrs Simons

I plugged it in wondering if I'd wasted my money. That evening I knew it was money well spent. After a normal walk and evening feed it was as if I'd given my dogs a 10 mile hike and a 2pint bowl of pasta each. Content and relaxed even with visitors!

Overall
Quality
Value
I loved it
posted on 29/01/2007 18:27:14 by Steven

First bought this product just before bonfire night, to help our dog cope with the noise from fire works. So impressed that we use it all the time, this has helped with visitors to the house etc. Our dog is now far more relaxed and happy.

Overall
Quality
Value
Already a member?
Sign in here

It's Good to Share...

Hill's Ideal Balance Pet Food
 
Royal Canin Urban Life