FURminator Large Yellow 4: Reviews

FURminator Large Yellow 4"

We all love our pets, but the mess caused by their shedding can be frustrating to say ...
ORDER TODAY TO SAVE 27% OFF RRP £40.84
BUY NOW: £29.99
< Back to the FURminator Large Yellow 4 Please login to write a review
Amazing!
posted on 03/06/2010 17:24:26 by RedStone

I have a husky and a Malamute and the shedding is normally horrendous, but being able to control the fur loss is fantastic and cuts down on the hoovering, keeps them looking their best and also helps keeps them cooler in the heat. Cannot believe how much fur this rake brings out, the advert photo is not a lie, believe me! 5 Star *****

Overall
Quality
Value
A Must-have!
posted on 23/09/2009 16:30:58 by irisblue

What a wonderful implement! Masses of hair came out and our diamond dog loved it - he is happy, shiny and sleek-coated. Every dog should have one in it's grooming kit!

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 08/04/2009 18:47:09 by ady2

i was very dubious about the cost of this brush but after being recommended by so many husky owners on the site thought i'd give it a go, have to say I'm sold, it works a treat, the only thing i'd say is the comb is very fragile, i've used it twice very gently and two prongs have snapped off, for the price i'd expect it to last longer than a week in perfect condition.

PetPlanet Says:
We would like to thank the customer in this review for their comments. We have contacted the manufacturer with regards to the comb being fragile and as soon as we receive a response we will post a more informative response. We have contacted the customer direct to advise.

Overall
Quality
Value
well worth it
posted on 25/03/2009 10:32:53 by sz-grace

I have two Labs and they both shed like crazy. I have tried a lot of different brushes and they don't work as well as the Furminator. The Furminator gets loads of hair off so be prepared to brush your dog outside.

Overall
Quality
Value
My dog and I loved it.
posted on 19/03/2009 10:27:06 by kathleenswire

I could not believe the amount of hair that I combed out of my German Shepherd. It really does remove loads of fur, and now I don't need to comb her daily.

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant
posted on 13/03/2009 15:26:07 by natashahanratty

Has made grooming my Husky pleasureable

Overall
Quality
Value
The Dog and Cat Love it
posted on 11/03/2009 18:09:24 by lemonphotographic

You might think that this is a bit expensive, but it is worth every penny. The dog loves it and hair clouds around the house have been reduced to zero. I tried it on the cat, and not only does it do as it says on the tin but she loves it. It is hard to get her to move once you start. We like it so much that we have just bought another one for the cat as the dog's is a bit too big for her. wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Overall
Quality
Value
Wow!!!
posted on 09/02/2009 13:26:28 by paul-greenwood1

Our Huskies have never looked so good or the house so clean!

Overall
Quality
Value
very impressive tool
posted on 04/02/2009 11:04:20 by Helvetia792

It is an excellent tool, it is painless for the dog and gets the undercoat out. very impressed.

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant
posted on 10/12/2008 13:28:22

best rake ever for shedding dogs.

Overall
Quality
Value
every malamute owner should have:
posted on 19/11/2008 12:16:14 by monikoona

helps during moulting times better than any brush!!!

Overall
Quality
Value
This does what it says 'on the tin'
posted on 18/11/2008 13:12:22 by harkinjoyce

I bought this for my Airedale terrier who doesn't like being groomed. But she doesn't seem to mind this - it obvously doesn't tug her fur and I get lots of loose, dead fur coming out. Her coat looks much glossier and has a better texture she's getting her wiry outer coat back. If my dog loves the Furminator, I love the Furminator!

Overall
Quality
Value
Great item.
posted on 16/11/2008 11:32:52 by yvonne34

Works like a dream on my Golden retriever- he loves the comb and so do we !!!. It is amazing how much old and loose fur this comb removes with very little effort.

Overall
Quality
Value
Brilliant
posted on 30/10/2008 16:10:46 by ad-fogg

This is a great product, recommeded by my sister-in-law who has three Chocolate Labs I decided to get one for mine. It brings his coat up beautifully and no more loose dog hair all over the carpet. The price might put you off but don't let it, it's great value for money.

Overall
Quality
Value
Most excellent!
posted on 29/10/2008 16:19:21

Do not be put off by the price, worth every penny. The answer to your dreams, gone are the tumbleweed balls of hair on hardwood flooring. I was amazed at just how much hair it brings out, especially on my 3 Shepherds who shed all year round. Also used on my Lab and works just as well. Have lent it to friends with dogs and cats they all think its excellent too.

Overall
Quality
Value
Amazing
posted on 29/10/2008 07:39:42 by frenchy

The best product I have used. We have a long haired Border Collie and the results are amazing. It is so easy to use and very effective. At the end of the grooming it is like having another dog with the hair that comes off, it also reduces the amount of hair lost. I would recommend this to anyone.

Overall
Quality
Value
Worth every penny!
posted on 28/10/2008 08:16:41 by rachel93

Like some other reviewers, I was sceptical about how good this product would be as it's fairly expensive for a dog brush! However, it's worth every penny. I have two golden retrievers age 11 and 5, and until we bought the furminator I don't think they had ever been brushed properly before. It really does get out all that undercoat effectively, and the house is much cleaner as they are shedding less. They also smell much nicer! I was amazed at how it thinned out the fur around their necks and front in particular, as with a normal brush you don't normally get much off there. I had to have a few goes at them to start with, as so much fur comes off the first time. Fab product!

Overall
Quality
Value
Does what it says
posted on 22/10/2008 10:34:13

Used it on my border collie - works a treat.

Overall
Quality
Value
very good
posted on 20/10/2008 09:36:11

Does what it says on the tin.

Overall
Quality
Value
does what it says on the box!!!! :
posted on 16/10/2008 19:36:53 by wayoffpoint

I have a 6 month old Labrador puppy who likes to shed fur all over the flat and was looking for a kind but effect brush or comb. I have spent so much money on all kinds of products but with the FURminator i need look no more! It really is as effective as it shows on the videos. It also works great and quickly on my cats as well so no more angry cats spiting at me :

Overall
Quality
Value
Amazed at amount of fur it removes, and seen a difference of shed hair on floor.
posted on 14/10/2008 22:50:57 by themalletts

In the short space of time we have been using it, the amount of shed hair normally on the floor has been far less. We are glad this was recommended to us. Well worth the money.

Overall
Quality
Value
A life Saver... literally
posted on 14/10/2008 12:51:10 by piccapony

I was a little apprehensive at first as i wasn't sure a 'rake' was worth 30 quid. A lot of money to 'throw away' if the product doesn't work, but this FURminator is the best tool in the world for brushing out my leonberger, for those of you are familiar with this breed, you'll know what i mean about the tumble weeds across the laminate flooring... well they are there no more!!! My mum is very allergic to him when he sheds his coat, but we've had no wheezing or swelling this season change... and i now only have to hoover up the mess they make with the mud... there's hardly any hair there at all. This tool is a must for anyone with heavy shedders. I used the FURminator for 10 mins with no pressure at all and got 3 carrier bags of dead hair out his coat. Look at the demos on their website and you'll see what i mean... a fantastic piece of necessary equipment.

Overall
Quality
Value
amazing gadget
posted on 10/10/2008 11:12:23 by Helen, Co Down.

Although I thought the furminator was a bit expensive for a dog brush, I now think it was worth every penny. Petplanet's price is also way below their competitors so it is good value. I have 2 labrador cross-bred dogs so they have quite a thick coat. I do not groom them regularly as I can't seem to get time, and they quickly get bored and want to wander off, so when I tried the furminator for the first time, I was amazed at how much of the undercoat came out, with so little effort, so in a short time, I had removed a lot of fur, and the dogs did not get tired of me brushing them. I am delighted at how effective it is. It will not suit every breed as dogs with a sensitive skin, or ones that don't moult may find it painful on their skin. It is important to read the very clear simple instructions, and just comb firmly but gently in the direction of the fur, avoiding sensitive ares like tummies. I was careful, but found it very easy and rewarding to use, and will be using it regularly to reduce the amount of fur floating about on my floors! I would recommend the furminator to anyone with a dog that moults its' undercoat, and I would say ' Buy from Petplanet for price and delivery are excellent."

Overall
Quality
Value
an efficient tool
posted on 03/10/2008 10:22:44 by GGoodwin

I was pleased with the ease with which this tool removed a large quantity of dead fur..with no discomfort for the animal.

Overall
Quality
Value
Its amazing
posted on 01/10/2008 16:07:19

At last no more hairy carpets, the furminator is really good, my German shepherd was always losing his undercoat, but now I use the furminator once a week and then a quick brush everyday with a dog mit and I am amazed at how little hair is shed daily.

Overall
Quality
Value
It's fab
posted on 30/09/2008 20:49:56 by sharon-dayman

Combed enough hair out for a whole extra dog on first use, and that's on a short-haired black lab. Buy one.

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent
posted on 24/09/2008 18:52:22

This brush really is worth every penny that it asks, my huskey was like a shedding machine and i was at my wits end as to how to cope with the hair that she was shedding constantly. One bath and two twenty minute brushings later and she is virtually shedding free, i have been amazed at the product and highly recommend it. Worth every penny!

Overall
Quality
Value
Excellent product
posted on 22/09/2008 20:12:31

An excellent product, rather expensive but well made so should last for years, a pleasure to use, the big handle fits well in the hand ensuring a good grip, particularly good for people who have problems with their hands.

Overall
Quality
Value
Couldn't believe it
posted on 16/09/2008 20:19:57

I would recommend the FURminator Large Yellow 4" to anyone who has a husky. I could not believe how much dead undercoat came out. On giving a 15 min comb through I filled a carrier bag. I have also noticed that I don't hoover the carpet as much. I then set about our border collie who has really long hair with the same results.

Overall
Quality
Value
service
posted on 01/09/2008 18:56:07 by david-youngson

the service was excellant, and the defurring brush is perfect, does all that it claims,

Overall
Quality
Value
It does what it says on the tin...
posted on 29/08/2008 18:19:18

VERY pleased with the furminator...had doubts because of the cost, but I must say, it is worth it. A bit disgruntled at the price of postage to Ireland 4" brush rattling around in very big box!, but that does not detract from the brush itself. I have a BIG dog - half lab, half huskie, and the difference in his coat and my carpets is remarkable. Well done, furminator!

Overall
Quality
Value
very effective
posted on 29/08/2008 09:15:00 by margaret4devlin

very good for my old labrador.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic product
posted on 26/08/2008 21:28:30 by carolward30

I have 2 Labradors and have always used a shredding blade on them, which I thought did a very good job, until I was recommended to buy a furminator, I could not believe the amount of dead hair the was removed from my dogs. An amazing product that I would recommend to any dog owner. I have also seen this product on other web sites but Petplanet was by far the cheapest and delivery was excellent.

Overall
Quality
Value
great product,really makes a difference
posted on 15/08/2008 09:01:34 by spaghetti

I have a long haired german shepherd and the furminator is brilliant, would reccommend it to other dog owners, my dog looks better and she actually enjoys me using it so i think she must feel better for having all that loose fur removed.

Overall
Quality
Value
Does a good job
posted on 13/08/2008 12:08:38 by N. Garvey

It does what is says it does! I was hesitant to spend so much money, but have a rotty mix who does shed a lot and we are constantly having balls of hair blowing across our wooden flooring! The furminator does a very good job. It does get a lot of the undercoat out and she looks sleeker and shinier. Only small niggles are: As the teeth on the comb are so small you have to keep stopping to take the hair off itquite frequently. It doesn't seem to stop her hair coming off when she get's on the sofa, but there is considerably less blowing around on the floor. Overall, happy that I got it.

Overall
Quality
Value
very impressed
posted on 13/08/2008 11:45:41 by mandie

what a great product this is, i would recommend it to anyone, having a golden retriever and three jack russells brushing would be very time consuming but using the furminator it was a breeze and i didnt realize they had so much loose hair. EXCELLENT

Overall
Quality
Value
worth the money and minimal effort
posted on 07/08/2008 21:40:34 by 1269698

Excellent way to comb out all that loose undercoat on a long haired dog, my black collie cross is now coping with the heat a lot better after I combed out a carrier bag full of undercoat and he's no longer leaving hair everywhere. Make sure to use it outside or in an easily cleaned area as hair will be everywhere when you are finished. I even used it on my two cats and they were quite happy to let me remove a load of loose undercoat so it obviously doesn't pull, time will tell if it'll help reduce their hairball problem.

Overall
Quality
Value
Very impressed
posted on 02/08/2008 14:49:42 by sapphm

I have an Akita and the furminator really helped with his moulting. It really stripped his undercoat and made him feel more comfortable in the summer heat.

Overall
Quality
Value
Just what we needed
posted on 30/07/2008 19:41:12

It is summer now and yet a few mins combing with this amazing tool and I had bundles of hair in my hands. This will really cut down on the 'tumble weed' of dog hair that can accumulate when the dogs are shedding. Great tool and just what I have been looking for, no other grooming device has come close - excellent.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic -buy one now
posted on 30/07/2008 14:27:54

I have a golden retriever whose favourite hobby is to shed hair - forget twice yearly moulting, this is continuous. I must admit the furminator is fantastic - he actaully comes running to me when I pick it up as he enjoys being groomed by it so much. I can honestly say that it has reduced the amount of hair around the house by 80-90%, and more importantly has made it much more comfortable for him has he dosent have dead hair trapped underneath his top coat anymore. I have tried various different brushes/combes in the past, but nothing comes near to the furminator. His coat looks so shiny and healthy now that people have stopped me when I am walking him and commented on his soft and shiny coat. The furminator should come free with every Golden Retriever!

Overall
Quality
Value

posted on 29/07/2008 21:44:22 by Rebecca Shields

I tried the Furminator on my German Shepherd Dog. He's got quite a coarse coat - not exactly short hair, but not long either. In just a few minutes I had large ball of hair, and my dog seems happier, and seems to be grooming himself less. Once you do it for a few days running it's really easy to stay on top of things with a once a week brush.

Overall
Quality
Value
Loved it
posted on 27/07/2008 23:50:13

We have a German Shepherd / Husky crossbreed and the Furminator works wonders getting rid of his excess hair!

Overall
Quality
Value
Ace
posted on 25/07/2008 07:55:12 by Barrie Davies

Do not let the price put you off, this thing is amazing. I have a Dogue de Bordeaux and the amount of undercoat it removed was frankly astounding! Her coat is so shiny and smooth now, you can see the difference. It is also very comfortable to hold and will last for years. Awesome.

Overall
Quality
Value
Wonderful
posted on 17/07/2008 09:37:17

An amazing tool, worth every penny and great service from Pet Planet - as usual

Overall
Quality
Value
This product is brilliant.
posted on 15/07/2008 17:19:56 by Cathryn McGahey

I thought - and still think - that 40 is a huge amount of money to pay for a dog brush. However, I own two German Shepherds who shed enormous amounts of hair and so I decided to try the Furminator. It is just great, a million times better than I thought it would be. It removes an unbelievable amount of undercoat within a very short time. Five days ago I used the Furminator for 10-15 minutes on each dog. There has been almost no loose hair visible in their beds or elsewhere in the house since that time. I would recommend this product without hesitation to anyone. My only criticism is that the plastic cover supplied to protect the teeth of the comb when the Furminator is not in use is completely hopeless. It falls off at the slightest touch. However, that is a minor complaint compared with the excellence of the Furminator overall.

Overall
Quality
Value
good value
posted on 15/07/2008 12:28:39

Overall
Quality
Value
This product is amazing!
posted on 09/07/2008 18:45:16

As a black Labrador owner of six years, I have constantly lived with dog hair which seems to get into every corner of my house, however often I vacuum! My pooch has also always enjoyed a good scratch even though he has all the regular flea treatments and this doggy habit has obviously helped to disperse even more of the hair which he sheds. Somebody had already told me about the Furminator and though I was some what shocked by the price, once I received it I could see that it was extremly well made and after first use I was totally impressed. The amount of loose hair, particularly from the undercoat, which it removed was frankly staggering and after a really thorough combe through of about 20 minutes, it was very interesting to see that my Lab definately scratched a lot less and over the next few days the level of hair around the house had also greatly reduced. Though expensive it is clearly made to last for a very long time and I therefore do not hesitate to endorse it as well worth the money to the owner of a breed which sheds hair profusely like mine!

Overall
Quality
Value
Works really well. Brushed loads of shed hair out of coat.
posted on 03/07/2008 10:25:09

I have a 6 year old Giant Schnauzer who is not supposed to moult but we still get little mounds of hair around the place - the Furminator has certainly lessened that. Good for using in between professional grooming.

Overall
Quality
Value
great
posted on 30/06/2008 19:46:19 by metal

Overall
Quality
Value
It really works!
posted on 27/06/2008 19:38:10

Easy to use and very effective. Makes cleaning the carpets a lot easier. I've only used the device 3 times now, and the only question I have is: will my Spinone have any fur left in a couple of weeks time? Because quite a lot of hair is coming off after every use!

Overall
Quality
Value
It does what it says on the package
posted on 25/06/2008 11:39:08

I can't believe just how much hair was removed on the first brushing

Overall
Quality
Value
outstanding very easy says what it does and does it
posted on 25/06/2008 06:59:25 by davemaddoggy

found the furminator to do exactly what it was advertised to do excellent invention.

Overall
Quality
Value
Its brilliant
posted on 24/06/2008 17:13:10 by Alison Thompson

I know the furminator is quite expensive but believe me its still far cheaper than all the brushes you will buy that don't work..... it really does do what the picture shows. I thought I had groomed my two GSDs thoroughly and then used the furminator and you should have seen the volume of undercoat that came out. Simply amazing and no tumbleweed in the house now or on my clothes.

Overall
Quality
Value
Fantastic. Can't stop using it!
posted on 24/06/2008 13:26:04

Overall
Quality
Value
FANTASTIC!!
posted on 23/06/2008 19:09:12

Was wary about spending so much on this but so so worth it! Have recommended it to everyone. Even my groomers are looking to buy some. I have 2 long haired GSDs and this is so very much better than anything I have ever tried before. I am getting bags of hair off them both.Very highly recommended. You won't regret buying one.

Overall
Quality
Value
a fantastic product
posted on 23/06/2008 17:31:01

I was unsure about ordering the furminator as it was so much more expensive than other dog brushes. I can only say that it is well worth the money. I had previously groomed my Labrador using a wire brush but he was still shedding hair around the house. I was amazed at the amount of fur that came out on just the first session using the Furminator, it is the dull undercoat which is removed leaving Sam's coat smooth and very shiny. One caution when using this brush, groom outside! The birds benefitted from all the fur, I benefitted by not having to vacum as often.

Overall
Quality
Value
Great
posted on 21/06/2008 09:15:26

This may be a bit expensive but it works. I have three Irish Wolfhound cross Labrador and i have not seen so much coat come out.

Overall
Quality
Value
Amazing product
posted on 19/06/2008 21:06:26

This product entirely lives up to its claims - it is amazing to see how much hair it removes in one stroke. My Golden Retriever's coat is softer and silkier and the reduction in shedding is dramatic. I absolutely love this product - it was worth every penny.

Overall
Quality
Value
Already a member?
Sign in here
Eukanuba Dog Food
 
Royal Canin Cat Food
 
Hill's Science Plan Perfect Weight
 
Gift Vouchers