Turtle Mat Dirt Trapper for Smooth Floors Large: Reviews

Turtle Mat Dirt Trapper for Smooth Floors - Large

Turtle Mats have been Britain’s best-selling washable cotton dirt-trapping mats for over 15 years. They are manufactured by one of the world’s largest and most environmentally conscious textile groups. The group has achieved carbon negative status and is at the forefront of initiatives to reduce waste and cut water usage. Turtle Mats provide ideal protection for hard floors saving the householder time and money as they reduce the need for cleaning.

Turtle Mats have millions of tiny cotton tufts that instantly remove dirt, dust and wet from shoes, boots and paws. The Classic Latex Turtle Mat is made from a cotton rich pile (70% cotton, 30% Microfibre). It is light weight with rounded corners. It has Antislip and is suitable for hard floors. Size L75 x W100 x D0.2cm. All sizes are approximate and a small level of shrinkage may occur.

Care instructions :

  • Wash before use to maximise performance
  • Machine of hand wash at 40°
  • Do not use fabric conditioner as this reduce the dirt trapping performance
  • Tumble dry at low heat setting or allow to dry naturally
  • Never place a Turtle Mat on a damp floor

Guaranteed for 5 years

  • ORDER TODAY TO SAVE 13% OFF RRP £45.99
    FREE Standard UK Delivery!
    BUY NOW: £39.99
    < Back to the Turtle Mat Dirt Trapper for Smooth Floors Large Please login to write a review
    Brilliant Product
    posted on 14/01/2015 21:10:14 by Sheila

    I bought a Turtle Mat many years ago which has been excellent value it has been washed in the washing machine many times and always came up like new I needed a runner from the utility door to the kitchen door so I bought two 1m length mats for the 2m run and they look brilliant The price from Petplanet was much cheaper than other firms We no longer have dog but they are excellent for muddy human feet and will dry in the drier on a low heat

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Amazing mat
    posted on 04/11/2014 00:04:15 by Jackie

    I had read excellent reviews for this mat but was still a bit dubious about its claims However I bit the bullet and spent more than I normally would for a mat and it has been well worth every penny I have 2 cats and in wet weather I place an old white towel by the kitchen door into the hallway as the old mat by the catflap was not enough to prevent muddy paw marks reaching the living room The towel was always covered in paw marks With the turtle mat the towel stays white It is incredible that it manages to clean their feet so well It also stays put on the floor no slipping and I love that it can be popped into the washing machine I am so pleased with this mat that I have purchased a second one

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great product
    posted on 01/03/2014 11:34:54 by chris

    Very pleased with recent purchase. Good size and colour and collects all wet paw prints from our dog AND her owner.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    no pets here but size 11 feet
    posted on 25/02/2014 16:11:48 by sues

    Husband aged 70 yrs never been properly house trained. It really works. Got the large size to accommodate his foot size. Much nicer quality than I thought it would be. very pleased.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Cheapest price on the internet in January 2014
    posted on 30/01/2014 23:50:58 by A satisfied customer

    I have purchased this brand before and thier mats do not disappoint and in my opinion are worth the price I paid. I do not have any pets however they prevent mucky and wet human footprints being trailed into my home. Excellant delivery service from this company and I would purchase from them again.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    great product
    posted on 29/11/2013 10:39:28 by thedysonsmaple

    the product is excellent and does exactly what it says it does however the colour description was not what we expected we ordered seal brown and the picture indicated the colour would more than match our dcor this is not so as the colour is grey and not brown

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Just what we needed
    posted on 23/11/2013 18:40:48 by Rupert Pandora

    For many years we have used these mats with all of our cocker spaniels and now for our Cavalier King Charles They have been essential for active dogs living in the countryside This is the best value source we have yet found

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    cant do without it
    posted on 23/10/2013 20:17:17 by lucky dogs

    2 x scotties short legs copious water mud It simply works muddy footprints till they get on the mat and then no footprints when they get off

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    NOT MAGIC BUT EFFECTIVE
    posted on 26/09/2013 17:09:02 by bowman01

    Nothing can absorb the mud and wet when my dog dives in from the gardenbut it helps disappointed with colourmore black and grey than brown

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Amazing
    posted on 30/11/2012 22:39:50 by joannageer

    Fantastic mat especially for dog paws And dirty welly boots

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    does a great job
    posted on 24/08/2012 18:47:36 by chrisnmist

    Bought this to avoid having to keep putting old towels on the floor to stop dirty paw prints I am really pleased with the product OK it doesnt capture everything but does get most of the wet and dirt off Non slip back makes it ideal on my kitchen floor pleased I bought dark grey as I can imagine the lighter colours show all the dirty marks Well worth the money

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Does the job
    posted on 13/08/2012 15:20:40 by karenoula

    Great dirt trapping mat and doesnt slide about on solid floors which has alwasy been a problem with mats before My only problem was our 9 month old labrador got hold of it when I want looking and you can guess the rest still usable bit with raggy edges I dont supopse they make labproof ones I will definitely be buying more when he has passed the chewing stage about another 3 years I think

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great mat
    posted on 14/06/2012 06:54:39 by Gracie pig

    Have a German shepherd puppy and two westies with this recent constant rain keeping the kitchen floor clean has been a nightmare We have just had a new tiled floor laid so I thought I would try these They are brilliant have tried other mats but none have worked as well as these would recommend to any dog owner

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Not all they are made out to be
    posted on 13/06/2012 23:05:51 by tigh1

    Got three of these mats one of each size for specific areas I find that they do work to an extent but not nearly as well as described When my German Shepherd comes in with wetdirty paws I reckon about 50 of the dirt and water she has on her paws is absorbed by the large mat inside the door the other 50 is trailed across the floor OK 50 is not too bad and better than leaving her to walk 100 all over the vinyl floor but I am simply saying THEY DO NOT WORK AS WELL AS SUGGESTED So if you are going to spend over 100 as we did prepare to be disappointed when you dont get the miracle performance you expectand still have to mop the foor daily

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Best mats EVER
    posted on 13/06/2012 08:22:49 by Teresa

    I have been buying these mats for many years Have them at home for the dogs and on a boat for all the water and mess They wash and dry brilliantly Worth the extra money and good value if you can get the on special offer

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    good value
    posted on 14/05/2012 20:19:38 by jean m

    I dont have a dog but in this weather dirty feet what a difference the turtle mat has made thanks

    Overall
    Quality
    Value

    posted on 06/08/2011 09:37:55 by georginaznewson

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Brilliant !!
    posted on 16/03/2011 19:08:01 by Katie

    These mats are brilliant - I now have them at all 3 of my doors. They wash up lovely, and are in fact better once they have been washed. I have a dog and a Husband who are not great at wiping feet, so these do the job for them !!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Fantastic !!
    posted on 10/03/2011 07:40:37 by sedge19

    Does just what it says it should. Great service from PP as always very fast delivery.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Very Pleased
    posted on 13/07/2010 15:17:53 by karen

    Service as always excellent,Mat looks smart, doesnt slip, although still have muddy footprints on the kitchen tiles, to be expected with 3 cocker spaniels so until they learn to wipe their feet when they walk in turtle mat is a help !!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    really pleased
    posted on 16/02/2010 21:58:24 by tinastairs

    I thought i wouldnt need to clean again.....seriously I am really pleased with my mat,it has kept my hallway cleaner, even with a dog & football muddy mad son

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Good buy
    posted on 16/02/2010 10:50:59 by Rosemary

    Seems to be effective at cleaning and drying shoes and and paws and our dog likes to sit on it.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    So far so good.
    posted on 27/01/2010 11:35:53 by Frances

    Our dog lay on it as soon as we opened it out! The larger size is needed or else people/animals step over or around it to keep it clean. Feels much nicer than standard door mats. Has not been used much yet but is definately better than our previous mat.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Does what it says on the website
    posted on 26/01/2010 08:12:02

    Copes well with 2 Dirty terriers and the cat

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Excellent - does the job
    posted on 18/01/2010 11:43:51 by janemh

    I have been thinking of buying a Turtle Mat for ages but was always put off by the price. I was given a small one for Christmas and was very impressed, then I found them on your site at such a reasonable price. I am very pleased with my purchase and have just ordered another.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    I Loved it
    posted on 25/11/2009 10:49:14 by ladyfox89

    Solved the problem of muddy paw prints from spreading from the front door to the lounge. I am really please with the result.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Best I've tried
    posted on 15/08/2009 09:07:52 by karen159

    A good size mat that gets most of the dampness off paws. It can't cope with really wet, muddy feet, but it's better than anything else I've tried. A bit pricey, but we're saving up for a few more around the house.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Perfect for the job
    posted on 14/08/2009 10:06:31

    I was told to go only for the Turtle brand because they really work and I can assure people that so far, the mat has proved to be just right for the job. I have two lab/retrievers and all previous attempts to stop them bringing in wet/mud have failed. Since using the mat, I have not had any paw prints inside. Marvellous, and at a great price too.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    perfect
    posted on 14/08/2009 09:46:28 by sue

    perfect mat for my laminated floor and the dogs do not slide on it and it keeps the floor clean

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    It works !!!!
    posted on 04/08/2009 10:09:45

    with three large dogs and a wet garden it does stop me washing the kitchen floor every time they come in

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Amazing
    posted on 31/07/2009 08:22:45 by sarah Howarth

    seemed expensive but it's worth every penny- amazingly effective product.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    great product
    posted on 02/07/2009 06:48:59

    I got the smaller version of this mat first and was so impressed with it I ordered the larger one as well. It stops all those wet, muddy paw marks as the mat is so absorbent and it really does stay in one place-grips floor well. So easy to keep clean too if you have dogs this is the mat for you!It's also great for wet shoes too!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great product
    posted on 11/02/2009 15:14:01 by reddragon2

    Delivery was swift. The mat is excellent - and a necessity on these muddy days!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    a problem solved
    posted on 10/02/2009 18:10:34

    I bought two of these mats as gifts for my son and daughter, they both own two dogs each. A nightmare with 8 wet feet!they are both very pleased with the success of the mats.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    fantastic
    posted on 13/08/2008 11:06:50

    These mats are fantastic, they really do the job. I was so pleased with the first one, that i bought another to use whilst one is in the wash. Also the service i received at pet planet was super efficient i would highly recommend them.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value

    posted on 26/07/2008 08:17:13 by kauk

    I didn't try it on a really heavy rainy day, but it does the job. No more paw on my pavement! It stay there without moving or impede the door. Recommended.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    What is says on the tin.
    posted on 21/07/2008 19:29:48 by dpenn

    You need to wash and dry it first. It absorbs loads of water from the dogs feet and our boots so we spend less time moping and more time giving her tripe sticks. Everyones happy. Brilliant considering the how wet the weather has been lately. Had it down about a week now and it has done the job, fawn colour matches our kitchen really well.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    First class.
    posted on 01/07/2008 14:53:31 by Mary T

    This is the first really satisfactory mat I've had out of many others,stays put,absorbent,definitely recommend it,especially to anyone with gun dogs,who can't resist getting wet & filthy.Plus can safely use on Karndean floor. P.S.Pet Planet are excellent,anyone who is thinking of buying for the first time.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    It does exactly what it says it does
    posted on 30/05/2008 17:03:17 by Caine

    Given the bad weather we've had recently, the mat has had a real test, and I am pleased to say it works. It traps 90 - 95 percent of the dirt from my dogs paws.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Excellent
    posted on 23/05/2008 14:21:34

    This mat is the 1st mat i've had that actually stays put...doesn't move or slip when I open the door...its great. It does what it says it will do. I bought 1 for the back door and then came back for 1 for the frontdoor.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    i love this
    posted on 13/05/2008 10:48:59 by m-i-k-e-0-6

    i luv cat fun

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great item & really doen't slip on my kitchen floor
    posted on 09/05/2008 10:10:12

    Great mat that really does stay put even on my shiny kitchen floor. It takes the wet muddy feet that my 4 dogs come in with & saves the floor.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Fantastic product
    posted on 30/04/2008 13:18:38 by lindsay8

    This mat really does trap the dirt and mud and wet that my young Airedale Terrier brings in on her big hairy paws. Works wonderfully well with our very muddy gardening clogs too. Lilly has adopted the mat as her own and takes all of her chews and biscuits onto it. It vacuums really well and I have already washed it twice - it has been line dried once and tumbled once and there is no difference in it's ability to catch the dirt and it it completely non-slip on our tiled floor. A really fab product for anyone with muddy feet of any sort! I will soon be purchasing another two for my front door and patio door. Brilliant!

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    efficient for absorbing moisture and dirt.,
    posted on 25/04/2008 10:12:42

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Does what it says!
    posted on 21/04/2008 10:19:15

    Very pleased with the Turtle Mat Dirt Trapper. Pet Planet service was excellent, delivery good & products arrived safe & sound. Would use again.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Waste of money
    posted on 09/01/2008 20:56:42 by Shaz

    I am sorry to say that i am very disappointed with this mat. I found that it doesn't stop any of the dirt or mud from the Dogs, if i am not quick enough when they come through the door, ready with a towel to wipe their feet, i have to mop the floor.

    PetPlanet Says:
    We never like to hear one of our customers has been disappointed with a purchase from petplanet.co.uk. We are investigating the issues raised in the review above and will be contacting this customer directly to decide an appropriate course of action. When resolved, we will post a more informative response here. However please note this product should be washed in a non-biological detergent (and please do not use fabric conditioner in any rinses) before first time usage.

    Overall
    Quality
    Value
    Great mats
    posted on 14/10/2007 16:57:04 by Kate&Wilf

    This mat is great and has saved me the daily sweeping and mopping that goes with a puppy/dog thats in and out of the garden. Only have to do it every few days now ! They are quite expensive but I'm glad I invested and they have a nice feel to them, can go in the wash at 40. My dog also likes to lay on it as opposed to his basket or the tiled floor

    Overall
    Quality
    Value